IGNORED

Steel or Graphite?

Just started thinking about switching to graphite. 77 years old. 20 handicap. Play at least 45 holes a week. Currently using Callaway Steelhead x-16 irons. Hitting them fine most of the time. Golf partner held my 7 iron and commented how heavy it felt compared to his graphite 7 iron.  Wondering now if a lighter weight shaft would improve my game. Opinions?

It's a funny thing: I've swung some steel-shafted clubs that felt uncommonly heavy and others that did not.  One thing graphite shafts do accomplish is to transmit less shock to the wrists than steel.

Except for my 54° and 58° CBX wedges: My clubs all have graphite shafts.  For the two wedges: It was primarily a cost consideration, and they felt fine swinging the steel shafts, so that's the way I went.

• 2 weeks later...

I switched to graphite about 10 years ago. Currently 65 years old. I would never think of playing steel shafts. Except for my wedges.  I started playing golf seriously when I was 42. Before that I played fairly competitive tennis. When the graphite tennis racquets came on the scene the wood vanished. There are some teaching pros who tell you real players only play steel. I think that is becoming more myth than reality.

• Like 1

On 8/20/2022 at 11:01 AM, brian222 said:

Just started thinking about switching to graphite. 77 years old. 20 handicap. Play at least 45 holes a week. Currently using Callaway Steelhead x-16 irons. Hitting them fine most of the time. Golf partner held my 7 iron and commented how heavy it felt compared to his graphite 7 iron.  Wondering now if a lighter weight shaft would improve my game. Opinions?

I use graphite shafts and I'm only 51 years young. I like the feel and I think they look cool. Today's graphite shafts come in a lot of different weights. ... Actually now that I think about it steel shafts also come in a lot of different weights. 

If you are considering new clubs you owe it to yourself to try some different options.