Jump to content
IGNORED

Which Holes in One "Count"?


iacas
 Share

Holes in One  

48 members have voted

  1. 1. Which of these holes in one "count"? Choose all that do.

    • First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three
      48
    • Mulligan on the above
      0
    • Hole in one on a regular course where you don't play all 18 holes (or even nine holes)
      31
    • Playing temporary par-three tees on a par-four or -five hole due to construction/maintenance
      25
    • Par three course, > 100 yards
      32
    • Par three course, < 100 yards
      24
    • Par three, regular course, < 100 yards
      35
    • Par three, regular course, < 75 yards
      30
    • Simulator par three
      0


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

See the poll above and choose ALL of the choices you'd count as having made a hole in one.

This is what you would personally count for your own ball.

Then, discuss! 😄

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Which Holes in One "Count"?
  • iacas changed the title to Which Holes in One 'count'

I'm only "counting" the first one and the temporary par-3 tee box. 
Definitely not "counting" the Mulligan. First of all, I'm anti-mulligan to begin with. 

Definitely not "counting" the simulator par-3 hole in one. 

I'm open to counting the short par-3's on a regular course. But I've actually not seen any that short as far as I can remember. So I'm not sure how often that comes up. Unless you are playing the forward tees, in that case I say count it. 

Par-3 course holes-in-one are great and exciting, but don't really "count" in my estimation. Although I prefer counting these to either the Mulligan or the simulator holes-in-one. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For me it would have to be on a hole “designed and built” as a par 3, even on par three courses with holes less than 100yds.  Don’t see where a Mulligan really qualifies as a legit hole-in-one, likewise Simulators offer perfect conditions, so real weather is not in play.  Personally I have come close a couple of times of late - the ball finishing within a couple feet of the hole.  

Ping G400 SFT 10deg  R flex
Ping G410 3w R flex
Ping G400 3h and 4h R flex
Taylormade SLDR 5i thru PW graphite shaft R flex
Cleveland CBX wedges - 50, 54, 58 or 52, 58 (depending on my mood)
Odyssey Versa or White Steel #5
Srixon Q Star

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I selected the following:

  • First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three Seems obvious
  • Hole in one on a regular course where you don't play all 18 holes (or even nine holes) Unless you're just playing a hole over and over to try and make one
  • Par three course, > 100 yards This IMO is no different than a Par 3 on a regular course. NOTE: I didn't vote for the "under 100" option-anything TOO short is too tricked up to me and can almost be like holing out on an approach shot. That's also why I didn't vote for Regulation course with a hole under 75 yards, not that I've ever seen one that short.
  • Par three, regular course, < 100 yards  The reason why I voted differently on this as opposed to the Par 3 course is that I haven't seen any regulation courses with anything under maybe 90 anyway.

Mulligans, Simulators and temporary greens should be self explanatory IMO.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Local rules are allowed and are real rules, so in my opinion, any temporary conditions, be they tees or greens, are no different than the "original" course from a legitimacy standpoint.

On the very short shots, I have trouble. I said no to the < 75 yard holes, but that reflects my personal opinion. I wouldn't consider it a real hole in one, for myself. I just wouldn't. I'd see it like holing a short wedge on a par 4 or 5 (or even 3 sometimes yikes) hole, which I've done several times. But technically if it's from the tee it's a hole in one. I wouldn't be bragging about it or buying drinks though. 🙂

I think the simulator option is interesting. I voted no on that option, but had to think about it for a while before answering no. Some simulators do have factors like wind, gusts, adjustments for temperature or humidity, etc. And of all the simulator shots there are, tee shots are obviously the most like a real golf round. Simulators are remarkably good, in my experience, at rendering/modeling the bounce and roll of shots, too. So in these ways, I think it's just as hard to make a hole in one on a simulator as it is on a real golf course. 

But, duh, it isn't real golf. It's not a real round of golf. What if the launch monitor read the spin incorrectly, even a little? You can play an entire sim round in an hour typically, so you can get into a groove with swinging that you can't when you're outside and have more time between swings. You can't post the round, in any fashion, ever, so it's not a legal round, even if it's a perfect simulation. 

JP Bouffard

"I cut a little driver in there." -- Jim Murray

Driver: Titleist 915 D3, ACCRA Shaft 9.5*.
3W: Callaway XR,
3,4 Hybrid: Taylor Made RBZ Rescue Tour, Oban shaft.
Irons: 5-GW: Mizuno JPX800, Aerotech Steelfiber 95 shafts, S flex.
Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM5 56 degree, M grind
Putter: Edel Custom Pixel Insert 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The only two I'm saying no to are the Mulligan and the simulator. Everything else would count IMO. 

  • Thumbs Up 1

"If you watch a game, it's fun. If you play it, it's recreation. If you work at it, it's golf."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For me, I would only count the first option: First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three.

 

Matt          My Swing

 

 :ping: G425 Max Driver

Sub 70 3 wood, 3 hybrid and 5-p 639CB

Edison wedges 51, 55, 59

Sub 70 004 Mallet

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd say all of them except mulligan and simulator.

  • Thumbs Up 2

-Peter

  • :cobra: King RADSPEED
  • :pxg: GEN4 0341XF, Fairway
  • :pxg: GEN4 0317X, Hybrid
  • :srixon: ZX 3-iron, ZX5 4-AW
  • :cleveland:  RTX Zipcore 54 & 58
  • L.A.B. Golf Directed Force 2.1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm curious as to why the poll shows only 25.45% of us would count "First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three"???

As for me, I'll count your 50 yard hole-in-one on an Executive course if you're buying the drinks.  Otherwise I'll accept nothing less than the first poll question.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
12 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

I'm curious as to why the poll shows only 25.45% of us would count "First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three"???

Because it's not saying "25.45% of us." It's saying 25.45% of the votes.

Which is kinda dumb, yeah.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Maybe most of us (75%ish) taking the poll (not the other "us") didn't read "Choose all that Do".

No.

It's just 14/55. 14 of the 55 votes cast.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Darkfrog said:

I'd say all of them except mulligan and simulator.

I've heard of guys saying they'd count a hole-in-one on a simulator. Personally, I don't.

I also had a neighbor years ago that would talk about his "only hole-in-one" which he made when playing a hole over and over again, because he lived on the golf course and would hit 2 dozen shots at the par 3 he lived on each night. 

But I can't imagine anyone would "count" a hole-in-one with a Mulligan. 

I may be a stickler here, but I'd also add that no Hole-in-one counts without having a witness. So even in the first scenario above, if you don't have a witness you can't "count" it. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Mulligans and Simulator are the only ones that I would NOT count.

It's not black and white though, as I'd have a few "levels" on the remaining ones.  For example, a hole-in-one in a tournament round on a 160 yard hole on a championship course is going to mean more than a hole-in-one while practicing on my local par 3 course from 80 yards. 

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
5 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I'm open to counting the short par-3's on a regular course. But I've actually not seen any that short as far as I can remember.

9EAC7475-DC11-4895-84CF-1426EA705F7C.png

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

No.

It's just 14/55. 14 of the 55 votes cast.

With the "Choose All that Do" notation it seems the total could/would be far more than a total of 100%.  Isn't there a way to set up polls like that?

1 hour ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I've heard of guys saying they'd count a hole-in-one on a simulator. Personally, I don't.

I also had a neighbor years ago that would talk about his "only hole-in-one" which he made when playing a hole over and over again, because he lived on the golf course and would hit 2 dozen shots at the par 3 he lived on each night. 

But I can't imagine anyone would "count" a hole-in-one with a Mulligan. 

I may be a stickler here, but I'd also add that no Hole-in-one counts without having a witness. So even in the first scenario above, if you don't have a witness you can't "count" it. 

The USGA says a hole-in-one needs to happen in an 18 or 9 hole round.

14 minutes ago, boogielicious said:

9EAC7475-DC11-4895-84CF-1426EA705F7C.png

I would count a hole-in-one on Pebble Beach #7... especially into the ocean winds, where some tournament pros have hit 3 or 2 irons.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


40 minutes ago, boogielicious said:

9EAC7475-DC11-4895-84CF-1426EA705F7C.png

Where's this?  Never heard of it.


Btw, one option that popped in my head that was not given, perhaps because it's not a thing anymore, is temporary greens.  Do courses ever still do that?

I remember as a kid sometimes playing a course undergoing maintenance and they used temp greens, usually just in the fairway in front of the greens and often with a hole that was twice the size of a normal hole.  If those were still a thing, they'd go on my "do not count" list. 🙂

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

... perhaps because it's not a thing anymore, is temporary greens.  Do courses ever still do that?

Oh, they still do that.  My course had 2 temporary greens last week due to sub-freezing temperatures. And I hate them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...