• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
inthehole

Patting down grass behind ball when in the rough ...

Recommended Posts

... I've always wondered when in the rough if it is allowed to give the grass behind the ball a little pat down with your club to give better access to the back of the ball (obviously, as long as you don't touch the ball) ?       I'd be surprised if the answer wasn't no, but have always been curious ... thx.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I've heard of people taking a 3 wood and addressing the ball, only to back off and use another club with the improved lie. It's cheating even if that loophole does exist, which it might not. It's impossible to ground your club without shifting grass a bit, but don't press your luck. If anything, it's best to make a habit of hovering the club on bad lies, bunkers, and some do it on any shot. Also, Protip: avoid the rough.

I'm 99% sure it falls under improving one's lie. I've seen people do it, but it's pretty much the same deal as the foot wedge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It is definitely against the rules.  I don't have a copy with me, but it is not allowed.

When trying to determine if something in golf is against the rules, always ask if it violates, "Play it as it lies".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's a breach of rule 13-2 which forbids improving ball position or lie by moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable obstructions and objects defining out of bounds)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Tiikeli

It's a breach of rule 13-2 which forbids improving ball position or lie by moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable obstructions and objects defining out of bounds)



Indeed, and here is more:

13-2. Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
• the position or lie of his ball,
• the area of his intended stance or swing,
• his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or
• the area in which he is to drop or place a ball,
by any of the following actions:
pressing a club on the ground,

I guess this answers the OP's question beyond any doubt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've always wondered about this.  I've known that you can't just go and pat down the grass behind the ball for the purpose of improving your lie.  But as was mentioned above, addressing the ball at all in a deep rough lie means pressing some grass in some direction unless you never get your club head anywhere near the ball prior to actual impact.

When in deep rough, is it against the rules to place your club directly down behind the ball just prior to taking your swing?  I feel like I've seen that kind of move from the pros on TV, so is there sort of a gray area there?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You may rest your club lightly on the ground but not press it down. Resting means supporting its own weight only.

13-2 extract

A player must not improve or allow to be improved:

• the position or lie of his ball, by :

• pressing a club on the ground,

However, the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs:

• in grounding the club lightly when addressing the ball ,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by mdl

I've always wondered about this.  I've known that you can't just go and pat down the grass behind the ball for the purpose of improving your lie.  But as was mentioned above, addressing the ball at all in a deep rough lie means pressing some grass in some direction unless you never get your club head anywhere near the ball prior to actual impact.

When in deep rough, is it against the rules to place your club directly down behind the ball just prior to taking your swing?  I feel like I've seen that kind of move from the pros on TV, so is there sort of a gray area there?


There is no grey area, just an an area of interpretations.

Once you press your club down you are in breach. If you only let your club rest on the grass you are off the hook.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Stretch

"There's a huge clump behind his ball."

Not anymore.


That's the day I began rooting against Kenny Perry. I normally look to give the benefit of the doubt but in my opinion he cheated beyond a reasonable doubt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for that Stretch.  And I wear the same Transition lenses as him.  Time for new glasses!!

I always try to find a clump nearby and test how that feels with a practice swing, which I see most pros do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As long as you aren't in a hazard you are allowed to ground your club behind the ball.  Here in Georgia I find with thick bermuda rough the act of grounding your club does affect the rough where you ground your club, but as long as you simply ground your club what you've done is within the spirit of the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This discussion causes me to think of a golfing partner I have played with several times.  Seems his pre-shot routine includes pressing down the club (with the driver you can see it flex slightly) just before he takes the club back.  I always thought this was an unusual part of any pre-shot and not sure why he does it (I'll ask him next time we are paired up).  He does it all the time and it isn't to improve his lie, just a part of the routine (doesn't do it in bunkers).  So if he does this in the rough is he in violation of the rule?  How about in the fairway as he does this every stroke, but I'm sure it isn't his intent to improve his lie, albeit I would think it does in some instances.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by ghalfaire

This discussion causes me to think of a golfing partner I have played with several times.  Seems his pre-shot routine includes pressing down the club (with the driver you can see it flex slightly) just before he takes the club back.  I always thought this was an unusual part of any pre-shot and not sure why he does it (I'll ask him next time we are paired up).  He does it all the time and it isn't to improve his lie, just a part of the routine (doesn't do it in bunkers).  So if he does this in the rough is he in violation of the rule?  How about in the fairway as he does this every stroke, but I'm sure it isn't his intent to improve his lie, albeit I would think it does in some instances.


In tee box that's perfectly allowed. On fairway I personally wouldn't mind either as long backswing starts immediately after pressing ie. this press would be part of the backswing. In my head this is kind of similar to forward press that you see lots of guys doing to initiate swing. I think you can't do forward press without pressing also downwards, at least a bit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by ghalfaire

He does it all the time and it isn't to improve his lie, just a part of the routine (doesn't do it in bunkers).  So if he does this in the rough is he in violation of the rule?  How about in the fairway as he does this every stroke, but I'm sure it isn't his intent to improve his lie, albeit I would think it does in some instances.


Pretty sure it doesn't matter why he does it, if it improves his lie (or, really, changes it in any way beyond simply resting his club at address), it is a violation. A pre-shot routine is great and all, but you're still subject to all the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by zeg

Pretty sure it doesn't matter why he does it, if it improves his lie (or, really, changes it in any way beyond simply resting his club at address), it is a violation.

But be aware of this new decision on what 'improve' means


http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-13/#13-2/0.5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • https://www.strackaline.com/#/course?courseId=696 It says that the Moon Valley book is event locked. I can't seem to find exactly what that means, but my guess is that it sounds like the course does not want the slope of their greens handed out to anyone and everyone unless they're playing in an event at the course. The website gives a number, however, to the phone of a man named Ben Malamitsas on that page to contact for pricing information and I'm sure he could give you a better idea of what the "event locked" designation means.
    • They have an online store. Don't know about your particular course. -Best, Marv
    • No, the hips do not move more than a few millimeters, maybe a centimeter at most, during a normal fundamentally sound putting stroke. The small amount of movements is just a small side to side sway caused by swinging a ~340 gram weight on a pendulum-esque arc while it's attached to your body. It's not a large enough movement to require the hips to turn. It's primarily a back and forth rocking motion, at least for me, of the shoulders. The hips have no place in the putting swing for me, and I haven't seen a proficient putter yet who does deliberately turn or sway with their hips, only very small motions that are side effects of swinging a weight around.
    • Those clubs you KNOW when you hit the sweet spot. Had a perfectly pure 4-iron on Friday afternoon that prompted Erik to ask me whether I needed a change of pants afterwords, but then again I probably was just getting a bit excited in the middle of the competition. If you hit a fair number of shots with them you can see if the penalty for mishits is acceptable to you based on how often and how badly you usually miss. The sweet spot is definitely a bit different than hitting it solid. Solid is going to feel really nice, and it's going to fly well, but the sweet spot is that ball that usually goes further than you expected. It's the drive you got 15 extra yards on, or the iron shot that flew the pin to land at the back of the green.   
    • And the final round leaderboard is finally ready. I was scrambling to get into semi-formal clothing as you guys were finishing up 17 & 18 (the reason I had to depart yesterday). The Snell Get Sum Optic Yellow Challenge results were coming in via twitter and text messages. I was leaving the house, just as Erik and Mike had figured it all out. So I'm finally relaxing and sipping some coffee, and there's time to make sure I've got it right.  Congrats BLUE and RED players for duking it out in style. As Erik said, the matches were actually a tie. It actually took a late surge in the final 3 holes to put BLUE barely over the top, but I'm definitely learning how quickly these competitions can shift by a couple points. Great stuff. I'm sure the players will all soon echo the same thoughts as they get settled, but I can't thank Mike and Erik enough for putting on such a cool competition. Crashing in their room for a couple nights, I can see all the preps that went into it- just on the pile of boxes alone that I slept under was enough to give me that impression. All the work with the sponsors, all the logistics, and hell, just the crazy idea itself that you can pull off something like this. Very ambitious, and they pulled it off while making it look easy.  Until 2019, a toast of Man of Law IPA to the coaches, and then one of course to the players who definitely took to the spirit of the competition. A lot of fun, some great play, and RED and BLUE still driving each other to the airport afterward 
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 17hoffmanc
      17hoffmanc
      (19 years old)
    2. jamo
      jamo
      (25 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon