IGNORED

going irons only... helping to save my game.

jeramydavid
Note: This thread is 4219 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have desperately been trying to get my golf game back. In high school, I could keep in the mid to low 40s. As an adult, I would only golf 3 or 4 times a year and had accepted the fact that I was a high 50s golfer, and with my little playing I thought it was good enough. This year, I started playing more than ever. I upgraded all my equipment, and practiced my butt off. I took a lesson, (that did more damage than good) and I have been hell bent on getting my game back. Mid season, my game went south bad. It definately got worse. The harder I tried, the worse it got,i lost complete control of my driver, and my fairway woods aren't much better. With a lot of effort, I was consistantly hitting low 50s, well my last 4 rounds were finally in the 40s, 49, 49, 49, and today a season best 46. Here is what I did to make the leap... I started tracking every stroke, identified a weekness... My putting wasn't as strong as I thought it was. So, I spent some time on the practice greens, changed to a more repeatable grip and posture. I also decided, no more hero shots, smart play always. When in trouble, play to safety, worry about getting to the green on the next shot. The most helpfull thing I did though was leave my woods and driver in the bag. My irons are the strongest part of my game, so I'm embracing what works until my confidence is back with my woods. I know this is long winded, and some may not care, but I just thought I would share. I am excited for what will happen as I get better with my putter, and I learn to hit my driver well. My goal for next season is to break 40 at least once.by the end of the season.