IGNORED

Winning money

champ
Note: This thread is 3935 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm brand new to golf, and have really fallen in love with it. I think its only natural to daydream about becoming good enough to be a professional and winning at least enough money at it to quit my dayjob. Out of pure curiosity, about how good does a golfer need to be to turn pro, and make say 100,000 a year? 50,000? 25,000? I'm not talking superstar, major winner, huge endorsements, multi-millionaire  type good. Good enough to tour around, get a few checks, and make a decent living type good.

Its such a great game, and there is a lot of money in it, I'm just curious and daydreaming.

To make $100,000 you would most probably have lost money after expenses.

Do some research on money lists over the years and you will see that some very famous players didn't make that much in some years.

If you turned pro and made $100,000 in winnings 3 years in a row, you'd have to look for another job or have some very patient backers.

Unless in a previous season you had some good pay cheques.

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

Originally Posted by champ

I'm brand new to golf, and have really fallen in love with it. I think its only natural to daydream about becoming good enough to be a professional and winning at least enough money at it to quit my dayjob. Out of pure curiosity, about how good does a golfer need to be to turn pro, and make say 100,000 a year? 50,000? 25,000? I'm not talking superstar, major winner, huge endorsements, multi-millionaire  type good. Good enough to tour around, get a few checks, and make a decent living type good.

Its such a great game, and there is a lot of money in it, I'm just curious and daydreaming.