Jump to content
IGNORED

Rule 4.2.b Clubs - Foreign substance


TJBam
 Share

Recommended Posts

... Pam will work.... barely noticeable and lasts almost all round. But anyway- I recently went to my local range and the balls were still wet from the machine. I would hit 10 while still wet, then 10 after drying them off. It DID make a slight difference on ball spin. The wet ones tended to fly a bit less distance but not a lot of side spin. The dry ones flew in a more normal (for me) ball flight.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I wonder if OP greases his driver in scrambles to impress business colleagues and the only reason he made this thread was to familiarize himself with the rules against it and garner a valid excuse to "grease" if caught.

What a scumbag.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by RayG

The wet ones tended to fly a bit less distance but not a lot of side spin. The dry ones flew in a more normal (for me) ball flight.

Perhaps you had loosened up by the time you got to the dry ones.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Perhaps you had loosened up by the time you got to the dry ones.

I alternated between the wet ones and the dry ones. 10 wet, 10 dry, 10 wet, 10 dry, etc...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I'm sure someone will jump in and tell me I'm wrong. But it is no secret that a wet ball or club face has a little less friction upon impact, meaning less spin on the ball during flight. This results in a straighter shot.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


http://www.andrewricegolf.com/2013/02/wedges-and-water/ This guy suggests that a wet ball w a dry club loses a lot of spin with a wedge. His study looks legit. Think it applies to a driver?
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by TJBam

I wonder if OP greases his driver in scrambles to impress business colleagues and the only reason he made this thread was to familiarize himself with the rules against it and garner a valid excuse to "grease" if caught.

What a scumbag.

The scumbag is the one insulting others for asking a question about care and maintenance of his clubs, to be sure he was not breaking any rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by TJBam

http://www.andrewricegolf.com/2013/02/wedges-and-water/

This guy suggests that a wet ball w a dry club loses a lot of spin with a wedge. His study looks legit. Think it applies to a driver?

Probably but probably less of a drop in RPM. Remember a dry wedge, dry ball is 6600 RPM. A driver is 3000 RPM or less. So there is probably going to be substantially less drop in spin, because there is less spin to begin with. I doubt the drop is proportional. They lost about 1200 RPM. Still, that's probably the same RPM as a middle to long iron spin. So you'd probably be able to hold the green, but probably not enough to check up. I would say, if you want an application purpose, take a little off the club and plan for a tad more roll out than your use to.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by ApocG10

The scumbag is the one insulting others for asking a question about care and maintenance of his clubs, to be sure he was not breaking any rules.

The OP is me. I was making a self-deprecating joke. My attempt at humor.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by saevel25

Probably but probably less of a drop in RPM. Remember a dry wedge, dry ball is 6600 RPM. A driver is 3000 RPM or less. So there is probably going to be substantially less drop in spin, because there is less spin to begin with. I doubt the drop is proportional. They lost about 1200 RPM. Still, that's probably the same RPM as a middle to long iron spin. So you'd probably be able to hold the green, but probably not enough to check up. I would say, if you want an application purpose, take a little off the club and plan for a tad more roll out than your use to.

I see what you're saying about the driver.

Also to take into consideration is that the link I posted is in a controlled environment.  He is hitting wet balls in a dry environment with a dry club.  If your ball is wet on the course, chances are your club will also be wet by the time you make contact.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • 8 years later...
  • Administrator
12 minutes ago, jselliott2014 said:

I had a opponent wet his club in the grass dip it along the edge of the bunker to put sand on it, then chip on.  Since it takes the spin off the ball That’s a no no rule 4.1 (3)

correct?

FWIW you asked a question about a rule that no longer exists, as the topic pre-dates by a number of years the 2019 rules revision.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, jselliott2014 said:

I had a opponent wet his club in the grass dip it along the edge of the bunker to put sand on it, then chip on.  Since it takes the spin off the ball That’s a no no rule 4.1 (3)

correct?

Perhaps you are looking at 4.1a(3), which talks about applying a substance to the clubface to affect how it performs in making a stroke.  Do you KNOW he did this deliberately to change the club's performance?  Perhaps he was dragging it through wet grass to clean it.  I don't see a violation of the rule there, not without knowing the intent of the player.  Neither do is see a violation of old Rule 4-3b.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

Perhaps you are looking at 4.1a(3), which talks about applying a substance to the clubface to affect how it performs in making a stroke.  Do you KNOW he did this deliberately to change the club's performance?  Perhaps he was dragging it through wet grass to clean it.  I don't see a violation of the rule there, not without knowing the intent of the player.  Neither do is see a violation of old Rule 4-3b.

 

Did you read the part about dragging it through the sand too? I am assuming this guy was looking to get the ball to check, and some extra friction is what he desired. Sounds like a breach to me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 11/20/2021 at 6:20 PM, jselliott2014 said:

I had a opponent wet his club in the grass dip it along the edge of the bunker to put sand on it, then chip on.  Since it takes the spin off the ball That’s a no no rule 4.1 (3)

correct?

2 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

Did you read the part about dragging it through the sand too? I am assuming this guy was looking to get the ball to check, and some extra friction is what he desired. Sounds like a breach to me.

Interesting that you're concerned that the action would make the ball spin more, when @jselliott2014 is concerned that the ball would spin less.  No matter, the Rule is concerned with DELIBERATELY applying any substance to affect the way the club performs.  That's why I asked the question, do we know the player's intent?  If he did it to add spin, or to decrease spin, its a breach.  If not, its not a breach.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

Interesting that you're concerned that the action would make the ball spin more, when @jselliott2014 is concerned that the ball would spin less.  No matter, the Rule is concerned with DELIBERATELY applying any substance to affect the way the club performs.  That's why I asked the question, do we know the player's intent?  If he did it to add spin, or to decrease spin, its a breach.  If not, its not a breach.

I completely skipped over his "take spin off" part. I assumed that he was trying to add grit to the clubface to make it stop more quickly, since it was a chip (no mention of short side but i would guess so). Almost like a rusty face, but only applied for 1 shot. I don't know if this actually works but the logic follows for me.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...