Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Aguilar slammed with four-shot penalty in Turkey


Note: This thread is 4036 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Moderator
Posted

From golfchannel.com

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/golf-central-blog/aguilar-slammed-four-shot-penalty-turkey/

So no going to the car at the turn!

Quote:

Aguilar slammed with four-shot penalty in Turkey

November 15, 2014, 6:51 pm
Facebook
Email

Paging Ian Woosnam .

Chile's Felipe Aguilar was assessed a four-shot penalty Saturday at the Turkish Airlines Open thanks to an overnight club switch. Round 2 was suspended Friday in Turkey thanks to inclement weather, and when play resumed Saturday morning, Aguilar was found in violation of Rule 4-4 for having replaced a club in his bag mid-round.

"The player must not start a stipulated round with more than 14 clubs," read a statement from the European Tour . "He is limited to the clubs thus selected for that round except that if he started with fewer than 14 clubs, he may add any number provided his total number does not exceed 14.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I wonder how he got caught, did he unknowingly mention he swapped clubs or was someone hawking his bag and reported him.

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I wonder how he got caught, did he unknowingly mention he swapped clubs or was someone hawking his bag and reported him.


Hopefully, he brought it up himself, as is expected by the Rules.  However, I believe his fellow-competitor noticed it and questioned it, as he should do.

It's really just another example of a player not knowing the Rules governing his profession.


Posted

It's really just another example of a player not knowing the Rules governing his profession.

I would highly doubt that he doesn't know the rule, but it's more like it slipped his mind due to the unusual circumstances of starting and finishing a round on different days.

They get to warm up in the morning after coming back the next day, right?  So that is quite out of the norm as well, "practicing" during a round.

More than likely, it was just a silly mistake.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I would highly doubt that he doesn't know the rule, but it's more like it slipped his mind due to the unusual circumstances of starting and finishing a round on different days.

They get to warm up in the morning after coming back the next day, right?  So that is quite out of the norm as well, "practicing" during a round.

More than likely, it was just a silly mistake.


Rule 47 - During the stipulated round, a player's mind is never as clear as it was before, or will be after, the stipulated round. (and the same applies to Rules officials)

  • Upvote 1

Posted

I would highly doubt that he doesn't know the rule, but it's more like it slipped his mind due to the unusual circumstances of starting and finishing a round on different days.

They get to warm up in the morning after coming back the next day, right?  So that is quite out of the norm as well, "practicing" during a round.

More than likely, it was just a silly mistake.

On the warm-up they are not practicing during the stipulated round because the stipulated round is suspended.

In some ways this situation is a little reminiscent of the Jeff Overton DQ (for using alignment sticks while doing allowable practice during his round) in that they were both taken out of the routine and that was enough to cause the brain-fart.  So I agree with your first comment.

FWIW, I remember a story about Jack Nicklaus finding one of his kids' clubs in his bag a few holes into a tournament and getting a "too many clubs" penalty.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

On the warm-up they are not practicing during the stipulated round because the stipulated round is suspended.

In some ways this situation is a little reminiscent of the Jeff Overton DQ (for using alignment sticks while doing allowable practice during his round) in that they were both taken out of the routine and that was enough to cause the brain-fart.  So I agree with your first comment.

Right.  The bold is basically all I was getting at.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
FWIW, I remember a story about Jack Nicklaus finding one of his kids' clubs in his bag a few holes into a tournament and getting a "too many clubs" penalty.

I've heard it as Johnny Miller finding his son's club, back when said son was like 2-3 years old. But yes, it has a clubhead, it has a shaft, it has a grip, it's a club, and he took the penalty. Nicklaus had an extra club in [i]his son's[/i] bag once, when caddying (possibly other times, including his own bag, existed). He had brought an iron he could use for some reason (demonstrate something in warm-up, etc) and counted clubs by checking for everything, so he missed that two 4-irons were in the bag. Anyway, I'm always surprised when players don't know [i]established[/i] rules. If a rule has changed recently (happens frequently in other sports), I get that they might think it was something different, and break it unintentionally.

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I've heard it as Johnny Miller finding his son's club, back when said son was like 2-3 years old. But yes, it has a clubhead, it has a shaft, it has a grip, it's a club, and he took the penalty.

Nicklaus had an extra club in his son's bag once, when caddying (possibly other times, including his own bag, existed). He had brought an iron he could use for some reason (demonstrate something in warm-up, etc) and counted clubs by checking for everything, so he missed that two 4-irons were in the bag.

Anyway, I'm always surprised when players don't know established rules. If a rule has changed recently (happens frequently in other sports), I get that they might think it was something different, and break it unintentionally.

Yeah, I think you are right - on further reflection, it was Miller.  I probably had also heard the Nicklaus one and just conflated them.  But now I think I read the story in Johnny Miller's book.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4036 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.