Jump to content
IGNORED

2016 U.S. Open at Oakmont Discussion Thread


Note: This thread is 1796 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Okay, question:  suppose you're in DJ's shoes and win by 2+ before the penalty is decided.  Do you take the penalty and the win anyway, or do you dispute it still?

DJ with a pretty darn good tee shot on #16.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 1.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Just some of my take: I was there Wednesday and yesterday, stood right next to Colin Montgomery for a little while by 9 green and he is A LOT less heavy in person than he appears on tv. It was od

My dad picked up me up at 9am this morning.  We wanted to wait until rush hour had died down.  Today, no parking pass.  So we parked at the Pittsburgh Mills mall and took the shuttle to Oakmont. I mea

Ok.  Credit where it's due.  I've gotta commend Fox on their camera work following Paulina walking with DJ to the scorer's tent...

Posted Images

1 minute ago, Golfingdad said:

After the latest viewing of the close up video I think he shouldn't be penalized.

Therefore, in tandem with that, I'm of the opinion that the USGA is (or already has) screwing this up.

Hopwfully DJ wins by a couple to make it a moot point.

I think I'm leaning towards this. I just don't see anything on that replay that shows him moving the golf ball, and if he doesn't think he caused it to move, I don't see any reason to penalize him. 

  • Upvote 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Chilli Dipper said:

Branden Grace drops to even par.

I'm not winning that pushcart.

This made me laugh.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Just now, Shindig said:

Okay, question:  suppose you're in DJ's shoes and win by 2+ before the penalty is decided.  Do you take the penalty and the win anyway, or do you dispute it still?

Force the USGA to decide, they started this, they have to find a way out.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Is DJ in danger of double dipping on the penalties?

1 for "moving" the ball

and then again because he was told it wasn't a pen not replacing the ball in its original position? If he is judged to move the ball he has to replace it doesn't he?

Link to post
Share on other sites

It's been mentioned, but I wonder how aware the crowd is of the situation.  If he appears to win by a stroke, and the crowd goes wild, then....

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

They should put an * next to his score....

Guaranteed FOX has this in their broadcast arsenal next tournament lol. Whether they'rell ever get to use it, or not.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You all need to hurry up so I can watch my Warriors.

Shane Lowry is eating so he's about to make a birdie or two.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Just now, Wansteadimp said:

Is DJ in danger of double dipping on the penalties?

1 for "moving" the ball

and then again because he was told it wasn't a pen not replacing the ball in its original position? If he is judged to move the ball he has to replace it doesn't he?

He asked a rules official, who told him to play from there, so they won't assess a penalty.  If he had unilaterally decided to play from there, it's a problem.  The question of it might have been why he called someone over. 

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Wansteadimp said:

Is DJ in danger of double dipping on the penalties?

1 for "moving" the ball

and then again because he was told it wasn't a pen not replacing the ball in its original position? If he is judged to move the ball he has to replace it doesn't he?

No, because he consulted the rules official.  He can't be penalized for doing what he was told to do.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, David in FL said:

It's been mentioned, but I wonder how aware the crowd is of the situation.  If he appears to win by a stroke, and the crowd goes wild, then....

I saw some tweets saying that a lot of people on-site are buried in their phones. A lot probably know. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, RJH999 said:

You all need to hurry up so I can watch my Warriors.

Shane Lowry is eating so he's about to make a birdie or two.

How much troll would the NBA be if Steph hit a "3" to win it by 1 and then they call him and Kerr over after they hoist the trophy and the fans leave and tell them it was a 2 pointer?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 1796 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...