IGNORED

Golf Beginner Club Question

Note: This thread is 2723 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi,

I've been lurking for awhile, first time poster. I just starting golfing a few months back.

I recently got a set of baffler xl irons: http://www.cobragolf.com/baffler-xl-irons

The lofts are a bit lower (higher?) than normal clubs, and I was looking for some help on the rest of the clubs in my bag.

Currently I have: Putter, driver, 3W, 20* hybrid, this iron set (4-GW) along with a 55* SW, leaving 1 club left for me to fill

because the loft on the pitching (43.5) and gap (48.5) are different than normal, I'm unsure of what my next wedge/club should be.

I was thinking of getting a 60* wedge, even though I'm a beginner, I have really enjoyed practicing my short game. I have not ruled out getting a different loft SW (current SW 55*), as I got it for only $10 (I do like it so far though) to better space my lofts

I have taken a few lessons, so I am beginning to understand the value to various lofts around the green and from farther out.

I have considered a 5W as well (as opposed to another wedge). I also have a 50* wedge that is fairly decent, at least for my standards, but not sure it fits in with the rest of the clubs though

Any other info I can provide I'd be glad to provide. Any Suggestions?

Thanks!

I would look at getting a better sand wedge and hold off on the 60 for now.  I found it hard to be very consistent with a 60 and I know some of the people I play with aren't real confident with their 60s either. 

• Upvote 1

DRIVER- Tour Edge EXS 220
3W- Adams Tight Lies 2
Hybrids- Cobra F8 19 *

Utility- Sub 70 699U #4
Irons - Sub 70 739 5-PW
Wedges- Tour Edge CB Pro 50, 54, 58
Putter- Cleveland Huntington Beach Soft #11

Ball- Titleist DT Trufeel

48 minutes ago, Rip62 said: