For years and years our league has used double-par as the maximum score to be entered on any one hole. It was used both for the competitive score as well as in the handicap calculation for our weekly net stroke play competition. The old “Equitable Stroke Control” figure was never used. Last year we changed to a maximum Net Double Bogey for the handicap calculation but we still used double-par as the max number for the gross score. For next season we’re thinking of changing to using NDB for both, but should we? Some are thinking we should still use double par for the weekly competition as NDB maybe gives an unfair advantage to the higher handicappers. That's what we're not certain about.
The average handicap in our league is 18 (they range from 5-34) and there are usually one or two blow-up holes that occur each week, mostly by one of the higher handicappers, although there are a couple of difficult Par-3’s over water that could, and have, snagged everyone at one time or another. Regardless, although we're not sure, we’re guessing the overall impact of changing would be minimal because some of those net double bogey holes would end up at double par anyway.
Just curious, what do other leagues do?
You go out away from you too much to start. Thus, what it "causes" is for you to then go too much "around" you the rest of the backswing. This puts you in a "too shallow" position (notice where the shaft is pointing) and requires you to steepen it a precise amount exactly at the moment when you have a tremendous amount of force and very little time to act on the club (transition into the downswing).
Weight WAY back in your heels.
Hands go out away from you.
Hands track around, club is super shallow and not pointing anywhere near the target line.
Club MUST steepen in transition to get anywhere close to the ball. Bad time to do this.
The driver swing is much worse, as at least with the irons you maintain something of a neutral shoulder tilt. Not so with the driver:
Big trouble there.
See this topic for your setup:
You ain't Rickie.
You're miles away from being able to "feel on the way down." You need to spend a lot of time on the first foot of your backswing, and then the first three feet, and then the next three feet…
After you spend time on your setup.
This is a situation in which the Committee could have (should have?) defined the downed tree as GUR, in which case you would have been able to take free relief. In my group of friends, we'd probably play it as GUR in a casual game. Otherwise, a completely detached fallen tree is a loose impediment, you could have moved it (if possible) or even broken off part of it in order to make a swing. If its still attached to the roots, you simply cannot do anything about it.
But a question, in taking Unplayable Ball relief, couldn't you have gone back on the line and found a place where you could swing? You don't have to take Lateral Relief and stay within 2 clublengths.
Last year some serious wind took down a tree and it was laying horizontally. Played that course a lot, for golf reasons, that day was the first time I ever hit one anywhere near that tree. Because of course it was. It was under the fallen trunk/branches so much that even after taking an unplayable and relief I had no swing. It felt really dirty but the guy I was playing with said the fallen tree didn't have any option for free relief and since I had not realized it was under the tree from the box, and did not want to do the walk of shame on the first tee with multiple groups waiting...ugh. Sometimes the rules feel penal, but then I remember I am the one who made the sub-optimal swing in the first place.