Jump to content
Nutsmacker

Cheating in Tournament

75 posts / 9607 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

15 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

How on earth did the committee accept the card?? If the card is not attested he is DQ!! (6-6)

  

It is not super serious I guess.  I don't know.  I am fairly inexperienced with all of this.  This is my 5th time playing in a stroke tournament.  There wasn't a committee....just a volunteer helping out.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

13 hours ago, Groucho Valentine said:

You did the right thing. Ive been playing with college players in state and national level tournaments for over a decade and I've heard of younger players doing some shady shit, but never seen it personally in competition. In the end, its not your responsibility to worry about policing another player while you're competing as well. Take care of your own game first and dont let another players actions weigh on you. Unless they're angry at all the birdies you may be dropping. Then just point and laugh. 

In stroke play, you may not ignore a fellow-competitor’s breach of a Rule. (D33-7/9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately, nearly every event I've ever participated in, or attended as a parent when my kids were playing, has had some kind of BS rule breaking going on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

10 hours ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, you may not ignore a fellow-competitor’s breach of a Rule. (D33-7/9)

I didn't.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, c. lassiter said:

Unfortunately, nearly every event I've ever participated in, or attended as a parent when my kids were playing, has had some kind of BS rule breaking going on.

Of course! They’re kids! Some don’t even know the rules 😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

I didn't.  

Yes you did.

On 7/11/2018 at 6:27 PM, Nutsmacker said:

We played on and it was clear that was his thing.  I noticed it 3 more times and I finally just mentioned that it was not the correct way to mark the ball.

You let him breach the rules several times before you called him out. That’s wrong in two ways.

First you could have written down his true score. Two higher. Each time. Maybe you did this.

But mostly you stayed silent and let a fellow competitor breach the rules. You should have tried to prevent it from happening and talked about it when it was clear to you he had (the first time after you thought you were seeing things).

The prevention you failed to do (this is almost more etiquette) at least three times. And he should have been penalized every time he did it. You were his marker.

I understand the weird social situation, but I’m not speaking to that. Just the fact that you ignored several breaches of the rules for several holes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Yes you did.

I don't think I ignored the breach of rules.  I told the person running the tournament.  I am more than happy to disqualify myself if necessary, but I did not ignore it.  I am tempted to write an email to the organizer outlining what happened again; and I will offer to disqualify myself.   Frankly, I don't want to have to deal with this ever again....there is nothing fun about it whatsoever.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not to hijack, but I had some similar things happen to me during my league.

I am a first year player and bottom of the league, so I try to stay low key.

BUT, I do manage to play OK and score some points.  I have noticed that when I am scoring against better players, they get a bit creative with the rules.

One invented a drop zone when he totally hooked it OOB on a Par 3.

Others have taken drops where their ball would have ended up OOB instead of where it crossed.  Differences of 50+ yards in a lot of cases.

The first week, we were allowed to "fluff" balls on the fairway because of conditions.  Somehow that became OK all season long.

Some of the greens have legit repair areas, and we are allowed relief.  Some players take this to the extreme, and if where they are in the green is not perfect, they declare it "under repair"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, millsan1 said:

Not to hijack, but I had some similar things happen to me during my league.

I am a first year player and bottom of the league, so I try to stay low key.

BUT, I do manage to play OK and score some points.  I have noticed that when I am scoring against better players, they get a bit creative with the rules.

One invented a drop zone when he totally hooked it OOB on a Par 3.

Others have taken drops where their ball would have ended up OOB instead of where it crossed.  Differences of 50+ yards in a lot of cases.

The first week, we were allowed to "fluff" balls on the fairway because of conditions.  Somehow that became OK all season long.

Some of the greens have legit repair areas, and we are allowed relief.  Some players take this to the extreme, and if where they are in the green is not perfect, they declare it "under repair"

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

24 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

I don't think I ignored the breach of rules.

You ignored it several times. You knowingly allowed him to putt from a wrong place several times.

Again it's a little bit of an etiquette thing, too, but you knowingly allowed a guy to play from a wrong place and continue to breach the rules several times until you brought it up to him.

That's not a value judgment on you and again I understand how awkward it can be, but you may have made it more awkward by waiting so long. I'd have said something the first time I saw it that I was sure. I'd have said right then "hey, yeah, you put the mark in front of the ball, so you've gotta put the ball back in the same place."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not that they should, but each club/association probably has its own culture for how closely they expect rules to be followed. 

I've never been under a delusion about my own association's rigor, but my last outing kind of drove the point home. We were playing a team stroke event and I was with the two old men of the association. One was 98 and the other in his mid 80s. On a level, it was massively impressive that these guys were still out there and getting around the course, but the rules didn't really apply to them. We had ball rolling, dodgy drops and four-foot gimmes all day. After the round, I came to understand they had the association's full backing on it.

What really threw me is that they kept knocking the ball back at me even after I told them I intended to putt everything out. Kind of worked against my fragile psyche. By the end, I was just glad it was over.

Edited by mcanadiens

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

You ignored it several times. You knowingly allowed him to putt from a wrong place several times.

Again it's a little bit of an etiquette thing, too, but you knowingly allowed a guy to play from a wrong place and continue to breach the rules several times until you brought it up to him.

That's not a value judgment on you and again I understand how awkward it can be, but you may have made it more awkward by waiting so long. I'd have said something the first time I saw it that I was sure. I'd have said right then "hey, yeah, you put the mark in front of the ball, so you've gotta put the ball back in the same place."

The first time I was sure.

Fair enough.  I did want to make sure that it was in fact the case.  It was blazing hot and my allergies were driving me nuts so I wasn't sure if I was in fact witnessing the cheating move or losing my mind.  The last thing I wanted to do was be wrong about it.  When I did say something to him it was right in front of my eyes as we were both lining up short putts.  So, I saw him go through the entire motion within a few feet of my eyes so I was 100% sure of it at that point.  However, I was about 95% sure of it after 9 holes.  I wasn't always in a place where I could see whether he was doing it or not.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey, I wasn't there, so I'd trust whatever you feel is accurate over what I can tell from trying to read and guess at things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Hey, I wasn't there, so I'd trust whatever you feel is accurate over what I can tell from trying to read and guess at things.

No, you are right.  I should have said something as soon as I thought I saw what I saw.  I was just dumbfounded by what I thought I saw initially.  Again, I was sneezing and my eyes were watering most of the day so I wasn't quite sure if I was just having a brain meltdown or what.  Maybe when I email the organizer about the incident(s); I will request to call the ruling of D33-7/9 on myself to bring attention to the matter.  That could be a way to shine a light.  I don't plan on playing with that group again anyhow.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

four-foot gimmes all day. After the round, I came to understand they had the association's full backing on it.

I love local rules.. :-).

 

I am sure they do it for sake of pace of play.............🤥

Edited by GolfLug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

No, you are right.  I should have said something as soon as I thought I saw what I saw.  I was just dumbfounded by what I thought I saw initially.  Again, I was sneezing and my eyes were watering most of the day so I wasn't quite sure if I was just having a brain meltdown or what.  Maybe when I email the organizer about the incident(s); I will request to call the ruling of D33-7/9 on myself to bring attention to the matter.  That could be a way to shine a light.  I don't plan on playing with that group again anyhow.  

It is a learning experience. You may come across it again, but identifying a breach when it happens, politely, is the best approach.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

and four-foot gimmes all day

That would shave 2-3 putt per hole off my score, I would be nearly a scratch golfer!

Edited by Elmer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Elmer said:

That would shave 2-3 putt per hole off my score, I would be nearly a scratch golfer!

You make that many greens? 😂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • It's speculation that doesn't actually matter. GOAT is not the longest driver or we'd already be throwing Cameron Champ's or Jamie Sadlowski's names in the discussion.
    • How far would golf's legends drive the ball using modern equipment? At the 2016 Ryder Cup, the 6-foot-5 Thomas Pieters belted a drive 324...   An interesting article on how players way back would have driven the ball with today's ball and equipment.  I didn't realize that Jack had driven the ball 341 yards in a longest drive competition when he was 18.  
    • Oy. I don't give a shit about two top ten finishes in a decade. Nor am I comparing Jack to Vijay Singh, a guy whose putting stroke has been AWOL since roughly 2011. He wasn't. That's easily refuted. As for straighter you're not comparing like to like - you don't know what the fairway widths were, how far the ball bounced, etc. But we do KNOW that Tiger was longer than Jack. Tiger at 43 with a fused back is longer than Jack was when Jack was 40, 41, 42, or 43. Tiger @ 43: 297.8 Jack @ 40: 269.0 Jack @ 41: 264.3 Jack @ 42: 264.6 Jack @ 43: 266.1 Tiger was almost 30 yards longer at 43 than Jack was at 40, 41, 42, or 43. Now, several posts in, you're changing that up to say that, given modern equipment or whatever, Jack would probably have been as long as Tiger. But that's not what you said. Uhhhhh… He didn't do that. Neither did I. No they aren't. Furthermore, if all Tiger had to do was hit the ball 266 yards, he could probably hit 80% of the fairways. Fairways that are likely narrower, etc. So you lost the distance one, and if you want to measure "accuracy" by "fairway hit percentage" I again will point out you're not comparing like to like. They aren't playing the same golf courses, the same fairways, or hitting it the same distances. Furthermore, and more importantly, I don't care about stats like this when determining who the GOAT is. If you do, that's cool, but what I care about is wins, dominance, scoring averages, that sort of thing. I don't care who had a better short game (Tiger by far), who was a better putter (tie?), who hit a better 7-iron (almost surely Tiger), or whatever. I care about Ws. So not only are you provably wrong on distance, possibly off-base on accuracy, but you're arguing about things that most people don't even care about. Nobody considers Calvin Peete in the GOAT discussion because of how accurate he was off the tee. Huh? No. 🤦‍♂️ Uhhh, according to Jack, it was 118 MPH. I call bullshit on that. Oy. I don't give a shit about two top ten finishes in a decade. Nor am I comparing Jack to Vijay Singh, a guy whose putting stroke has been AWOL since roughly 2011. He wasn't. That's easily refuted. As for straighter you're not comparing like to like - you don't know what the fairway widths were, how far the ball bounced, etc. But we do KNOW that Tiger was longer than Jack. Tiger at 43 with a fused back is longer than Jack was when Jack was 40, 41, 42, or 43. Tiger @ 43: 297.8 Jack @ 40: 269.0 Jack @ 41: 264.3 Jack @ 42: 264.6 Jack @ 43: 266.1 Tiger was almost 30 yards longer at 43 than Jack was at 40, 41, 42, or 43. Now, several posts in, you're changing that up to say that, given modern equipment or whatever, Jack would probably have been as long as Tiger. But that's not what you said. Uhhhhh… He didn't do that. Neither did I. No they aren't. Furthermore, if all Tiger had to do was hit the ball 266 yards, he could probably hit 80% of the fairways. Fairways that are likely narrower, etc. So you lost the distance one, and if you want to measure "accuracy" by "fairway hit percentage" I again will point out you're not comparing like to like. They aren't playing the same golf courses, the same fairways, or hitting it the same distances. Furthermore, and more importantly, I don't care about stats like this when determining who the GOAT is. If you do, that's cool, but what I care about is wins, dominance, scoring averages, that sort of thing. I don't care who had a better short game (Tiger by far), who was a better putter (tie?), who hit a better 7-iron (almost surely Tiger), or whatever. I care about Ws. So not only are you provably wrong on distance, possibly off-base on accuracy, but you're arguing about things that most people don't even care about. Nobody considers Calvin Peete in the GOAT discussion because of how accurate he was off the tee. Huh? No. 🤦‍♂️ Uhhh, according to Jack, it was 118 MPH. I call bullshit on that. Ha ha ha.
    • I’ve never been one to sit on my donkey for too long. The past four and half decades have pretty much been work for me , as so I know, for many others as well.  Developing my golf game will (not) dominate my new found free time. It will though give me a new avenue of pursuits that I hope will keep my mind expanding. Thanks for the input and reply. 
    • That sort of extrapolation is not possible.  You are talking that he would be hitting the golf ball further than the average long drive competitor. I am not buying it. He would be one of the longer hitters on tour. Jack is not the physical freak like Dustin Johnson. I would put him probably a top 10 in distance yearly if he was in his prime competing today.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dan42nepa
      Dan42nepa
      (63 years old)
    2. James Dalton
      James Dalton
      (78 years old)
    3. JMHARDING
      JMHARDING
      (29 years old)
    4. mwh1023
      mwh1023
      (52 years old)
    5. Skeesh
      Skeesh
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...