IGNORED

press before chipping?

Note: This thread is 2084 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I began experimenting with a slight press right before my chips (basically just rotating my hips very gently and pressing my right knee in a bit) and then taking the club away.  It has been very effective thus far.

Obviously, the first thought any of us would likely have is "if it's working, keep with it" so I will...But, I have to say, it does concern me a bit that nobody seems to advocate doing it, and I can't recall ever seeing a good player doing it or even so much as a youtube clip showing it as a potential fix for chipping problems.

Has anyone ever heard of doing this?  It wasn't a miracle fix for me, but it definitely seemed to help.

I'm no expert, but I can't see any big problem with a little forward press as a trigger to start any stroke.  I may even do this myself, subconsciously, I'll have to pay attention tomorrow when I play.  You should be aware that if your lower-body press ends up moving your hands a little forward, you're lowering the loft and decreasing the bounce of your club at that point, which would slightly change your impact and ball flight if your impact position was the same as at the start of your take-away.

• Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades