IGNORED

How Long Did It Take You to Start Seeing Real Improvement?

Zaiyev
Note: This thread is 1917 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So I just started playing golf again a few months ago after 10 years off due to injury and trying other stuff. I was taking lessons and playing ok (around 85 but had a horrid short game) before gettin hurt. I’ve been getting lessons but I’m only able to really practice around 4 hours a week and have a routine that I’m using, but my question for the forum is: how long did it take before you started to see your game take a change for the better?

I’m spending much more time on my short game this time around and only hit balls around once or twice a week, outside using the foam callaway balls in my back yard from time to time. I’m just wondering if maybe my expectations of getting better are too high right now and should just understand the grind to getting better.

thanks all

Welcome to TheSandTrap!

How quickly your practice will pay off depends on what you are practicing and how effective your practice is. 

Do you keep track of your stats at all? Things like your handicap, driving distance, GIR, scrambling, putts per round, etc , which would be really helpful in determining if your short game is actually a glaring weakness or if it just appears that way. 

Check out these topics for more information about practice

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Driver: :callaway: Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:  :cobra: Darkspeed LS 3Wood/3Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :odyssey:  White Hot RX #1
Ball: :srixon: Z Star XV

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, klineka said:

Welcome to TheSandTrap!

How quickly your practice will pay off depends on what you are practicing and how effective your practice is.