Jump to content
SAGolfLuvr

Advice Rule 10.2a What Club Did You Hit?

16 posts / 1084 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Good Day Golfers. I don't see a clear explanation on whether it is a penalty to ask a competitor in your group "What club did you hit?" during stroke play. Would I get a 2 stroke penalty for asking? Would he also get a 2 stroke penalty if he told me? What if I peek at his bag to see what club he just hit? Would that be a penalty? Lastly, which version of the 2019 rules clearly explain these scenarios?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

58 minutes ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

Good Day Golfers. I don't see a clear explanation on whether it is a penalty to ask a competitor in your group "What club did you hit?" during stroke play. Would I get a 2 stroke penalty for asking? Would he also get a 2 stroke penalty if he told me? What if I peek at his bag to see what club he just hit? Would that be a penalty? Lastly, which version of the 2019 rules clearly explain these scenarios?

The Rules state a player should neither give advice nor take advice.  Advice is defined in the Rules and you should look at the definition.  Asking what club someone hit would typically fall into "advice" and one would receive a 2 stroke penalty.  If the other player answered, then he/she typically would be giving advice and that would be a 2 stroke penalty.

Looking into (but not touching) another player's bag is generally available information.  It is there in front of you and needs no interpretation. Moving something to peer into the bag would be a breach of seeking "advice" since the info gained is not public knowledge or readily available to everyone.

Much of the "Interpretations" section of the Rules has been erased as there have been no interpretations made on the 2019 Rules.  Until an interpretation is needed, we go by the written Rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The Definition of Advice includes: 

Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:

  • Choosing a club,
  • Making a stroke, or
  • Deciding how to play during a hole or round.

However, Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include: 

A player looks into another player's bag to determine which club he or she used for the last stroke without touching or moving anything.

But note the use of the words intended to influence above. This is causing some debate in some circles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

The Definition of Advice includes: 

Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in

  • Deciding how to play during a hole or round.

.

So if I'm visiting a friend out of state and playing a course I've never seen before, I can't ask him details on the layout of a hole with a blind tee shot?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 minutes ago, colin007 said:

So if I'm visiting a friend out of state and playing a course I've never seen before, I can't ask him details on the layout of a hole with a blind tee shot?

That's general knowledge. Not the same as the question asked in the OP.

You can ask "is there a creek down there" or your friend can say "there's a creek down there at about 250."

He cannot say "Just hit a hybrid off this tee."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That’s why if you are Hitting second and your competition is looking at your clubs to get an idea you pull whatever club gets him in trouble. Either longer or short then after he hits go back to the bag. jack Nicholas and Arnold did this all the time

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

46 minutes ago, iacas said:

That's general knowledge. Not the same as the question asked in the OP.

You can ask "is there a creek down there" or your friend can say "there's a creek down there at about 250."

He cannot say "Just hit a hybrid off this tee."

If I go, "what's this hole do?" and he says "it's a driver hole" is that no bueno?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, colin007 said:

If I go, "what's this hole do?" and he says "it's a driver hole" is that no bueno?

Correct. No good. He can say general knowledge types of things, and that's it. Look up the definition of "Advice" please:

Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:

  • Choosing a club,
  • Making a stroke, or
  • Deciding how to play during a hole or round.

But advice does not include public information, such as:

  • The location of things on the course such as the hole, the putting green, the fairway, penalty areas, bunkers, or another player’s ball,
  • The distance from one point to another, or
  • The Rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Gentlemen Thanks for the discussion. So that rule has not been changed or relaxed. It always felt wrong to me and I always cringe when asked or if I hear someone asking someone else what club they just used. Thanks again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

26 minutes ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

Gentlemen Thanks for the discussion. So that rule has not been changed or relaxed. It always felt wrong to me and I always cringe when asked or if I hear someone asking someone else what club they just used. Thanks again.

The wording has changed subtly from 'that could influence ....' to 'intended to influence'

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

The wording has changed subtly from 'that could influence ....' to 'intended to influence'

Not a fan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not a fan.

Maybe something to address at the rules convention? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, WarrenB said:

That’s why if you are Hitting second and your competition is looking at your clubs to get an idea you pull whatever club gets him in trouble. Either longer or short then after he hits go back to the bag. jack Nicholas and Arnold did this all the time

Would that violate the rule as well, since it’s an action that is intended to influence a player?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Would that violate the rule as well, since it’s an action that is intended to influence a player?

It’s not advice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

Would that violate the rule as well, since it’s an action that is intended to influence a player?

Only if you say anything keeping your mouth shut is the key. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...