IGNORED

Hitting down on the ball

D-Man
Note: This thread is 4109 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a self taught player and despite my size and stature, I don't get the distance I should be getting.  In a round late fall last year, I got paired up with a random guy and we were talking about ball striking and hitting down on the ball.  He said I'll get the extra distance I'm looking for, which after some research, I believe him.  The problem I'm having is doing it.

I've read advise saying to imagine a ball right in front of the ball I'm trying to hit, this causes me to top it.  I've tried looking at the front of the ball, but I still end up hitting just a fraction behind the ball.  I don't know what my problem is, I can't seem to hit down on the ball.  Does anyone have any advice on doing so?  Thank you in advance.

Driver:        :tmade:- R11s                             GPS:        :skycaddie:- SGXW

3W:            :titleist:-910F 15*                             BAG:        :titleist:- 14 Way carry bag

Hybrid:       :titleist:910H 19*                                           :titleist:- 14 Way Cart bag

Irons 4-PW::titleist:- AP2 712

Wedges:    :vokey:- 52, 56, 60

Putter:       :cameron:- Studio Select 1.5

Ball:          :titleist:- Pro V1x

You have to truly understand what you are trying to accomplish.  You are trying to strike the ball just before the lowpoint of the swing arch, which will mean that the club is still decending towards the lowpoint, hence "hitting down.  If you place the ball in the wrong place in relation to your arch that is when you will create all of the topped, thinned, skulled, and fat shots.  Each club has a slightly different place on the swing arch that it must be struck on to create the desired shot.