Jump to content
IGNORED

Was it a Hole in One?


wakefield724
 Share

Recommended Posts

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites


29 minutes ago, wakefield724 said:

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

So it hit the foam on the fly?  I'd say no, sorry, but that ball might not have gone even if the foam wasn't there.  Even if it rolled up and hit the foam, you still couldn't tell from the tee that the ball would have gone in.  Bit it was still a great shot, so i'll let you buy the beers. 

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Doesn't count, for all the reasons Dave mentions above. But hey, at least now when someone asks you if you've ever had a hole in one, you've got a great story to tell!

  • Thumbs Up 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

Did the ball meet the definition of “holed”? That’s your answer.

Its impossible to do so as the ball could not fit in the hole  

31 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

So it hit the foam on the fly?  I'd say no, sorry, but that ball might not have gone even if the foam wasn't there.  Even if it rolled up and hit the foam, you still couldn't tell from the tee that the ball would have gone in.  Bit it was still a great shot, so i'll let you buy the beers. 

Thanks amigo!  That brings up another question then. Where do you draw the line scoring wise if the cup is physically impossible to get in? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


11 minutes ago, iacas said:

Did the ball meet the definition of “holed”? That’s your answer.

I know and read the definition of "holed".   " a ball is not technically holed until it is both at rest within the circumference of the hole and the entire ball is below the level of the lip"

But..

So what I'm hearing:  since the ball wasn't holed, no rounds during covid-19 that didn't have a hole but an inverted cup were legit?  There is a course near me that put up inverted cups around the flagstick to prevent people from getting the ball in the hole.   Are we to assume nobody followed the rules of golf at this course during the Covid variances in rules?  Were these round to be considered practice rounds since nobody "holed" any shot?

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

47 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

 Are we to assume nobody followed the rules of golf at this course during the Covid variances in rules?  Were these round to be considered practice rounds since nobody "holed" any shot?

There's a difference between widely accepted modifications to playing conditions during a pandemic and wanting to claim a hole in one when the ball didn't go in the hole.

The foam only floats up when it's soaking wet and the hole fills with water.

Edited by Shorty
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Shorty said:

There's a difference between widely accepted modifications to playing conditions during a pandemic and wanting to claim a hole in one when the ball didn't go in the hole.

The foam only floats up when it's soaking wet and the hole fills with water.

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
1 minute ago, wakefield724 said:

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

Take the flagsticks out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, wakefield724 said:

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

As @iacas says, current science says that its safe to remove the flagsticks.  However, the USGA provided this guidance from the early days of the pandemic, when a wide variety of measures were put in place to limit the possibility of passing the disease to others:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rulesarticles/covid-19-rules-and-handicapping-faqs.html

 

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, iacas said:

Take the flagsticks out.

Not allowed in Norway yet. Hopefully soon though... 

Nice shot OP, but I must unfortunately agree with the rest here: Not a hole in one. I've had a couple of "foam/filler"-outs from some way out myself and, as annoying and unfair it is, I can't count them as in dispite it being impossible to slamdunk a golfball in the cup with fillers/foam in the hole.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, wakefield724 said:

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

Considering the foam is floating and preventing anything entering the hole, it would be considered holed if the ball was either on top of the foam or leaning against the foam.  Of course, if you are on the green and putting, go ahead and remove it so that you can putt into the hole.

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I feel your pain.  I had 2 balls that most probably would have been hole-in-ones last year with a month of each other that hit the foam, bounced up and stayed out of the hole.  The foam was actually down in the hole but only 1/2 of the ball would be in the hole when you holed a putt/shot.  

  • Booooooooo 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


19 hours ago, RickK said:

I had 2 balls that most probably would have been hole-in-ones last year with a month of each other that hit the foam, bounced up and stayed out of the hole.

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

DING!

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 weeks later...
On 6/16/2021 at 7:32 AM, DaveP043 said:

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

Don't disagree.  Neither of mine hit the foam on the fly.  One was first bounce, other was second bounce.  Either way...didn't stay in hole so doesn't matter.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Yes, Rory fancies his chances at 'The British - St Andrews.'  He will have the US PGA as well, thank you very much!  Great round today.  Of course it is just the Masters he needs for the 'Grand Slam.'  He will win at Augusta at some point.  Did well there in 2022.  Very powerful chap with probably the best swing currently on the USPGA Tour.
    • The LIV World Golf Tour would have occurred without 'The Shark.'  Rumour has it that LIV wanted 'The Bear' as the CEO (Chief Executive Officer), but 'The Bear' would not do it.  So 'The Shark' was 1st reserve! 1st LIV World Golf Tour tournament is in UK, London, Centurion Club, starting Thursday 9 - 11 June.  Followed by 4 LIV tournaments in the US - Portland, Bedminster, Boston and Chicago.  Then 1 LIV tournament in Thailand (Bangkok).  Then 1 LIV tournament in Saudi Arabia (Jeddah).  Then back to the US (Miami) for the Team Event climax tournament. Mickelson is obviously going to be the 'Poster Player' for the LIV.  It is thought that 15 of the worlds top golfers have already committed to the LIV tournaments.  Probably Garcia and Westwood?  Who else from the UPGA Tour is coming over to play in the LIV tournament in London on 9 - 11 June?  Anyone know? I've got tickets for all 3 days. I wonder if 'The Shark' will play?  He was always my favourite, what a great player he was. 
    • It's just a smidge over the top and across. Definitely not in the corridor of death. What happens is it gets more over the top and across the line. Thanks. I try hard to keep pace and not slow anyone down. If partners are not strict with playing honors, I'll position myself to tee off last. 
    • I wouldn’t mind seeing Rory win a major again. It’s been eight years since his last.
    • Day 579: Played 18 this morning and tested out the Shot Scope H4. Played pretty well. Driver was good to start but squirrelly to finish. Short game was very good. Wedges and short irons were very good. Long irons were a bit off the mark.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Flop_it_like_Phil
      Flop_it_like_Phil
      (23 years old)
    2. Getbacktogolf
      Getbacktogolf
      (48 years old)
    3. GregZ
      GregZ
      (45 years old)
    4. HankBlue
      HankBlue
      (56 years old)
    5. Hassan
      Hassan
      (32 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...