IGNORED

Not Sure What to Put in the Bag as a 14th Club

So the 12 clubs I use most often and will obviously keep are:

-Driver

-4i-PW

-52, 56, 60

- Putter

I've got a 2 iron that I plan on using for a safer option on the tee. I'm not great with my driver, and am pretty good with my irons so I use a lot of 4i or 5i off the tee. I mainly have been working on the 2i on the range, I used to slice a lot and chunk a few. But my last range session was a lot better, and I think I'll be able to incorporate it into my game more this season. 

But for the 14th club I am uncertain of what I should use. I have a 4 wood, but I absolutely despise woods. I'll hit a few good ones with it, but I'll hit plenty of slices, plenty of shots higher than a lob wedge, and plenty of just flat mishits. I have a 64 degree wedge. I can pitch okay with it, buy it is so rarely useful, and I don't have a great sense of distance control with it. 

I've had hybrids in the past, but like woods I'm not great with them. The last time I tried one was at a golf store in a simulator. A longer hybrid had a ball flight and distance of like a 7 iron for me. 

Do you think a 3 iron is my best bet? 

My handicap index is a 20 if that is relevant.

Golf in the summer, curl in the winter.

• Administrator
26 minutes ago, StKildaSenators said:

No.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

• iacas changed the title to Not Sure What to Put in the Bag as a 14th Club
29 minutes ago, iacas said:

No.