IGNORED

Instruction vs. Going it Alone

iacas
Note: This thread is 5002 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

1. 1. How much instruction have you had?

• None - I'm completely self-taught.
    • Little - A few friends have helped and I've had a few lessons.
    • Lots - I've taken a number of lessons from one or a variety of pros.

• Administrator
I used to be completely self-taught. I sort of kick myself now because that was a waste of ten years I could have been playing golf, but at the time I enjoyed it, and I enjoyed the challenge. Still, I went from a relatively inconsistent 2 or 3 handicap to scratch once I started taking lessons. My distances went up a club or a club and a half and I can shape the ball better than ever. I never felt that being completely self taught was a point of pride - I just didn't particularly care for any of the instructors in my area (until I found the one I used) and enjoyed doing it on my own. I think some people are almost boastful about it when really they're just hurting their chances to shoot lower scores and understand their swing better.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I used to have a golf professional who worked close with me for 4-5 years...along with my high school golf coach as well.

In recent year, I took a couple lessons to get my swing back aligned a bit better and now I'm going at it alone!

DST Tour 9.5 Diamana Whiteboard