IGNORED

Have you ever experienced golf burn-out?

ohiolefty
Note: This thread is 3272 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a teacher and I play a lot in the summer (4-6 rounds, or about 72+ holes, per week). Once I'm in school, I usually play 3 or 4 times a week, some weeks a touch less, until the snow hits.

After a 10 year layoff, I started playing golf again in the summer of 2009. I went from a guy who was happy to shoot in the mid 80's when I played as a kid, to a hacker for a brief minute when I picked the game back up, to a respectable mid-handicap by the end of my first year, to now - right around a scratch. It's been a lot of golf. A lot of sweaty nights on the range. A lot of evenings spent around the practice green hitting endless chips and pitches. A lot of fun.

This year's been a tough year. We had horrendous rain in the spring and as a result, I wasn't able to start practicing off grass in the spring like I normally would. In fact, when most courses opened and when my season started, I hadn't practiced off grass. As a result, I got out of my normal range routine and just played a lot of rounds of golf. I'm back playing as much as always and practicing, but not nearly as much as the schedule I had the last 2 years.