IGNORED

Attending the flagstick

jga226
Note: This thread is 3941 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi. I am new here. I have been playing golf seriously for 3 years. Now that I am going to play competitions I am doing my best to learn the rules. I play every day, and I have a few friends who come out a lot, too. There is one friend who frequently calls penalties on me for things and most of the time he is wrong. At least I think he is. Today, for example, his brother was chipping to get his ball on the green. Since it was a close chip, I attended the flagstick out of courtesy. He didn't say anything. He chipped and the ball rolled past the hole. After he chipped he said "Why did you remove the flag?" That's when my friend said "He didn't ask you to attend the flag. That's a penalty on you!!" I said I don't get a penalty because if he didn't want me to attend, he should have said something before he made his stroke. Who is right?

Originally Posted by jga226

Hi. I am new here. I have been playing golf seriously for 3 years. Now that I am going to play competitions I am doing my best to learn the rules. I play every day, and I have a few friends who come out a lot, too. There is one friend who frequently calls penalties on me for things and most of the time he is wrong. At least I think he is. Today, for example, his brother was chipping to get his ball on the green. Since it was a close chip, I attended the flagstick out of courtesy. He didn't say anything. He chipped and the ball rolled past the hole. After he chipped he said "Why did you remove the flag?" That's when my friend said "He didn't ask you to attend the flag. That's a penalty on you!!" I said I don't get a penalty because if he didn't want me to attend, he should have said something before he made his stroke. Who is right?