Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
paddlefoot

Tiger's Two-Stroke Penalty at 2013 BMW Championship?

188 posts in this topic

I watched the replay several times on you tube.  The ball looked like it oscillated to me.  It did move and the PGA guys keep saying that it moved, but moving is a result of oscillation.  The ball didn't look like it changed positions to me.

I'm not a big Tiger fan, but I think he's got a decent argument.

Just wondering what everyone else thinks about it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Edit: I just watched the video that the Golf Channel has on their site. It moved. BUT... There comes a time when the PGA needs to tell these 'Internet Nerds' to back off. I can't believe that they are going to continue to encourage outside agencies like this to possibly influence the outcome of a round of golf. It is pathetic. Especially when it is clearly not improving his lie, or benefiting the intended stroke. And it brings the players integrity into question which is lame.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Whether it happened to Tiger or someone in Web.com tour, the rule is stupid.   The ball moved but it didn't change the outcome of the play.  But it's a two stroke penalty anyway.   There are a lot of golf rules like this that is outdated.  In basketball, it's like deducting 10 points b/c a guy shoots a free throw while stepping on a line.   Or, as in soccer, for the first occurrence, give the player a warning.  2nd time it happens, give him a stroke penalty.   Two stroke penalty?  It's a stupid rule and it has to change (and I think it will).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The penalty is correct and Tiger should know better than trying to move twigs lying that close to the ball. The ball clearly moves vertically.

BALL AT REST MOVED: GENERAL

18/1

Ball Moves Vertically Downwards

Q. A ball lying in long grass slips vertically downwards. Or a ball is accidentally stepped on and pressed down, say a quarter of an inch, in the grass or into the ground. In each case, has the ball moved?

A. Yes, unless the ball returns to its original position. The direction of movement is immaterial.

http://www.usga.org/rule-books/rules-of-golf/decision-18/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Whether it happened to Tiger or someone in Web.com tour, the rule is stupid.   The ball moved but it didn't change the outcome of the play.  But it's a two stroke penalty anyway.   There are a lot of golf rules like this that is outdated.  In basketball, it's like deducting 10 points b/c a guy shoots a free throw while stepping on a line.   Or, as in soccer, for the first occurrence, give the player a warning.  2nd time it happens, give him a stroke penalty.   Two stroke penalty?  It's a stupid rule and it has to change (and I think it will).

He would got one stroke penalty had he replaced the ball, but he did not do that and got two strokes. Nothing stupid about it. He tried to get advantage by removing the twig and while doing that the ball moved, outcome has nothing to do about the penalty. Did Tiger know it moved or did he believe it just oscillated, no-one else knows.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess it's not a good thing to bring up Bobby Jones, where he was the only one to see his ball move and called a penalty on himself?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In my eyes, the ball clearly moved. Rules are rules. "The ball was here, and it moved to here." Anyone get the reference?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my eyes, the ball clearly moved. Rules are rules. "The ball was here, and it moved to here." Anyone get the reference?

:-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I guess it's not a good thing to bring up Bobby Jones, where he was the only one to see his ball move and called a penalty on himself?

Inbee Park at Evian yesterday. The ball did not move on TV but she saw it move. Penalty and replace.

Back to Tiger. You do not know what he saw and how he saw it, so Bobby Jones is not relevant.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ball definitely moved but you couldn't see it without a high-definition, slow motion replay... the penalty was the wrong call, in my opinion.

Having said that, it looked like Tiger was playing Operation trying to clear stuff around the ball; when you have to be that precise to prevent moving the ball, you should probably just accept your lie as it is.

As Beachcomber said, the PGA needs to stop taking these calls.  If there's so much concern about getting the rules right, they should have Rule Officials with each group and they should have the final say.   Some independent videographer who noticed something and told his boss who told the PGA is just not the way to handle these situations, in my opinion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ball moved and should have been a penalty.

I don't think Tiger thought it moved. I do not think he was thinking he'd get away with cheating. If he thought it had moved, he'd have taken the one stroke and not risked his integrity and an additional stroke. I think is he is aware that every move he makes is being watched.

At what point do outside pictures and videos reviewed after a round stop influencing the game? IMO, there is tremendous inconsistency here when some pros have every move on video and others don't and all the video is used to check for correct rules and scoring. YET, a player must keep track of his own score and sign his scorecard even though officials are watching every shot. No pro would ever get away with posting a lower-than-shot score without everyone noticing. You think Jim F. could have posted a 58 without anyone noticing his error? So why make them track their own scores? When do we get officials following every pro and making determinations in real time?  Lord knows the tour can afford it. And, this every-shot scrutiny seems to be happening with some players now. But it is fans instead of officials capturing every move and then delayed calls to the PGA to determine penalties. In high school tennis, you call your own line calls. By the time you get to the pros, lines-people and even net sensors make the calls -- not the players. Why do pro golfers have to call their own "lines?"

I love the concept that I call my own penalties when I do something wrong. That is part of the beauty of the game. Much as playing tennis requires both players to make fair line calls. But, when I play golf, if I do not think a ball moved, it didn't move. It is my call. But, I am not playing on the PGA tour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He would got one stroke penalty had he replaced the ball, but he did not do that and got two strokes. Nothing stupid about it. He tried to get advantage by removing the twig and while doing that the ball moved, outcome has nothing to do about the penalty. Did Tiger know it moved or did he believe it just oscillated, no-one else knows.

My post is all about crime not fitting the punishment.  The rule needs to be modified.  If you hit a ball into water hazard, it's one stroke penalty.  Two stroke penalty for a moving ball?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think it's crap. These call in penalties are crap. Notice how many more penalties are assessed to Tiger... nobody is scrutinizing every other player... again, it's crap.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The call in penalties after the fact are getting real old. Regardless of who it happens to, it is out of hand.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my eyes, the ball clearly moved. Rules are rules. "The ball was here, and it moved to here." Anyone get the reference?


I'm just being devil's advocate here...

If you look at the replay/video, yes the ball does move.  But if you look at the very top of the ball, it doesn't look like the ball actually moves up/down or changes position.  It looks like his ball mark moved...  That would be oscillation, correct?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The call in penalties after the fact are getting real old. Regardless of who it happens to, it is out of hand.

And that, too.   It's like calling a penalty in soccer after game is over.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My post is all about crime not fitting the punishment.  The rule needs to be modified.  If you hit a ball into water hazard, it's one stroke penalty.  Two stroke penalty for a moving ball?

No. A one stroke penalty for moving his golf ball. Another for playing the next shot from the wrong spot (not replacing the ball after it had moved). To answer the OP...there's nothing to agree or not agree with. The ball moved. It was not replaced. That is all.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The penalty is correct and Tiger should know better than trying to move twigs lying that close to the ball. The ball clearly moves vertically.

BALL AT REST MOVED: GENERAL

18/1

Ball Moves Vertically Downwards

Q. A ball lying in long grass slips vertically downwards. Or a ball is accidentally stepped on and pressed down, say a quarter of an inch, in the grass or into the ground. In each case, has the ball moved?

A. Yes, unless the ball returns to its original position. The direction of movement is immaterial.

I basically agree with you, but how do you replace a ball that has moved downward in the grass?  i.e.  Suppose you are sitting up in bermuda rough and the ball sinks down when you address it.  You call the penalty on yourself and seek to replace the ball to avoid a 2 shot penalty but can't seem to get the ball to stay at the higher elevation on the grass.  What then?

I... (... think Tiger knew it moved) but it is a pretty close call.  In this case, I think the ball rolled a mm closer to him, but what would be the call if the ball rotated on its own axis and did not change positions on the golf course?

I also agree with Erik about where you draw the line with what movement is enough to constitute a penalty (and about the point of why Tiger MAY have stopped moving the stick).  I suppose you could have a rule that exempts inadvertent movement of less than a ball, but then you might have an argument about whether someone's ball moved more or less than a ball and this is harder to see with the eye than movement or no movement.

Would it be considered an oscillation if Tiger had immediately pushed back the stick to the original position in the same movement he was trying to remove the stick and the ball (and logo) had returned to their original position?

Also, if returning the stick to the original position did not return the ball to the original position, how would Tiger have gone about replacing the ball to the exact position to get a 1 shot penalty instead of a 2 shotter?  If 1 mm of movement is enough to constitute a penalty, is being off by 1 mm on replacing the ball enough to constitute failing to replace the ball even if you make an effort to do so?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • This is a fundamental that is that ruins so many golf swings before they start. Let's look at why. Bending at the waist is physically easier - it takes less work from your legs to bend over and your body naturally avoids work.  The big problem is that you are out of balance by the time you reach the top of your backswing and worse... Your upper body weight is not over your legs which means a ground up swing is dead. Through your transition your weight needs to be firmly planted over your loaded legs so 1) you can linger in your transition in balance until your forward weight shift happens and 2) So that your lower legs are in a position of leverage to get your weight moving and to have enough spring to keep pushing until your weight has made it all the way to your left foot.  So, if you don't love your swing check for this setup flaw. So, many people who swing over the top don't realize they had no chance way back from their setup. 
    • Good topic. I voted breaking 80 is harder. Obviously the two are connected but if push came to shove I think more golfers could learn how to avoid making doubles than be taught or acquire the skills to break 80. Breaking 80 for many golfers would mean significantly raising the level of their games, while not making a double is more about avoiding the big miss and game planning/course management. More specific to the OP's question relating to a golfers that shoots in the low 80's and is trying to break through, it could be one or other, most likely a combo of both. For myself, like @The Recreational Golfer I've had more rounds in the 70's than double bogey free rounds so could you say it's "easier" for me to shoot in the 70's than avoid making a double? Yes and no, depends on how you look at it. Even though I messed up on one or two individual holes I had to play fairly solid golf the other 16/17 holes to break 80, IMO that's more difficult than avoiding making a double. Even on a round where I didn't make a double I had to perform at a consistent level for 18 holes to break 80. If you told me I had to play 10 rounds where I had to break 80 and 10 rounds where I couldn't make a double, I think the latter would be easier for me. 
    • Good to hear. An observation for you... When you start getting your lower body into it guess what?  You start doing work!  And that takes fitness.  Some people have an illusion of an effortless golf swing. But in reality, it's effortless for your wrists but more work for your legs and core.  So, keep is mind as you go from hitter to swinger your fitness, core, and lower body strength demands go up. 
    • I'll answer your question with another question: If you drop the 3H, what would you hit for a 215 yard shot, or even a 210 or 205 yard shot? Are you comfortable gripping down on your 4-wood to cut distance off of it by that much? I personally don't see much issue with keeping the 3H in the bag since it isn't actually hurting anything. You say the other alternative is to drop the 4-wood, but why do you feel that you must drop anything at all? It's okay to have a 10 yard gap. If it really concerns you, though, I would think that the best way to go would be to swap from a 4-wood to a 3-wood. This would increase the gap between your 3H and the next longer club without affecting the gap between the 3 and 4 hybrid, which seems to be a number you like better for a gap. I'm just a little confused why you'd drop down to 13 clubs if the hybrid isn't costing you strokes. I know I find hybrids easier to hit than a wood that I'm trying to hit shorter than usual. I absolutely hate to hit a 3/4 3-wood to cover the cap between a full 3-wood and my 3-iron, but the number for a 3/4 3-wood is such a rare distance that I'd much rather have consistent gaps up through a 3-iron than a big jump from a 4i to a 3H. In my case a 3H would hurt my game, but it doesn't seem like yours is doing you any harm and could be protecting you from an awkward 4 wood shot.
    • This might not be the most helpful for balls and gloves (though I do see golf ball deals pop up at least once a week), but golfwrx's classified section is a great place to get deals on a lot of stuff. I got my AD-DI shaft there for $130, along with my KBS shafts from 3-LW for another $150 for the set. The AD-DI was used for a week (didn't have a mark) and the KBS shafts clearly only ever had a grip installed on the 7-iron. Good deals there, at least from what I've found, but mostly on clubs and shafts (though they do have golf balls in their classifieds every so often).  The nice part about that is they also have a WTB forum, where you post what you want and people come to you. That's actually what I did for the iron shafts. I posted about what I wanted and I had about 7 responses to choose from within 24 hours, so it's pretty active. For golf balls other than ProV1's that would be your best bet for finding them.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries