Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hackerandloveit

Best Round I have ever shot

16 posts in this topic

So I have been playing golf for about 14 years now.  Playing with a desire to truly improve beyond slicing two streets off the course for about 5 to 6 years.  I used to not give a damn, I just wanted to go out and have fun.  Which I was, but I wanted to lower my score and get better.  So thanks to a neighbor/best friend/personal golf coach I have managed to drop my handicap to 12.3 according to the AGA.  (Arizona Golf Association).

I peeked though around 82.  I could never seem to get lower than that number.  My biggest issue was I would play well, often 2 to 4 strokes over on the front nine only to blow up on the back.  And it usually came on 2 or 3 holes where I just fell apart.  I let my mechanics get sloppy and things went down hill.  I was getting to tired at the end of the round.  I have not been as active as I used to due to bad back.(I know, pulling a Tiger here.)  Pinched nerves and a partially removed disc makes the back stiff.  I have learned to play around that for the most part though.  Just not as flexible as I used to be.

So I went out the other day for a nice morning round of golf on a weekday off.  The range was closed due to the picker being broken, so it was off to the first tee with not a single warm up shot.  I usually hit a medium to large bucket before playing.  I played with gentlemen and his elderly father.  They were both very relaxed and took their time playing.  The entire day I felt more relaxed on the course than I ever have.  I felt in the zone almost every shot.  Each shot I hit I felt like it was a nice easy warm up shot, except it went as far as normal, and sometimes a little farther.  I realized after finishing with a 78 that I wasn't tired.