• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
amongthecedars

Putting Green Penalty Stroke Counting Towards Total Putts

Recommended Posts

Have a question regarding the putting surface rules and the total putts stat. As far as I know, when a player lifts his ball without marking he is assigned a two stroke penalty. He then must replace the ball and putt out and add the two strokes.

My question is, do these two strokes count towards his total putts traditional statistic on the hole and for the round? Or would it still be tracked as a three putt? The question was brought up when a member of our group was trying to get out of lifting the ball before his 3rd putt during a 4 putt game within the group. Thanks for your opinions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

ColinL    32

It is a one stroke penalty for lifting without marking provided the ball is replaced.

I haven't a clue about your statistics question, sorry - it has nothing to do with the Rules of Golf - but if it does affect your stats, it's just be one stroke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

peiserma    0
My question is, do these two strokes count towards his total putts traditional statistic on the hole and for the round?

Most stat tracking programs let you track penalty strokes. Of course the penalty is addd to the total strokes for that hole. But you would not incorporate the penalty to your putting statistics. For example, say you`re on in two, two putt, but have a penalty. Your score is 5, but your putting stat for the hole is 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why Is there a penalty for not marking. You would think that who cares if you marked it or not. As long as it is replaced. What if you remember a peice of grass that it was next to. I understand that it probably wouldn't work out well in competitions and what not but technically I don't see why the mark is important.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

David in FL    1,523
Why Is there a penalty for not marking. You would think that who cares if you marked it or not. As long as it is replaced. What if you remember a peice of grass that it was next to. I understand that it probably wouldn't work out well in competitions and what not but technically I don't see why the mark is important.

Simply, because rule 20-1 requires it..... 20-1. Lifting And Marking A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules. The position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted under a Rule that requires it to be replaced. If it is not marked, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replaced. If it is not replaced, the player incurs the general penalty for breach of this Rule but there is no additional penalty under Rule 20-1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

trickyputt    22
Why Is there a penalty for not marking. You would think that who cares if you marked it or not. As long as it is replaced. What if you remember a peice of grass that it was next to. I understand that it probably wouldn't work out well in competitions and what not but technically I don't see why the mark is important.

well its certainly an obvious way to provide your fellow players with visual confirmation that you arent a cheat, and to clear your ball, not just physically, but also mentally, from the putting surface in a game where the winner gets 1.5 million or so in the majors. Suprisingly, I dont have that problem, but nontheless I consider a non marking Player to probably be that clueless dipstick that won't get out of the left lane when I am going down the interstate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rulesman    166

As long as it is replaced.

Perhaps that gives a clue.

You left your ball and think you remember the yellow blade of grass it was near (how near?). You move away from your fellow competitors line and a few minutes later you seek out a yellow blade of grass. Are you really sure you aren't 2' nearer? Are your fellow competitors sure?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

flopster    48

I have heard of someone  hitting a putt too hard off the back of the green and went into tall fescue and they could not find it, ultimately he had to take a lost ball penalty and either drop or place another ball on the green, so did that one get added to putting strokes?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

David in FL    1,523
I have heard of someone  hitting a putt too hard off the back of the green and went into tall fescue and they could not find it, ultimately he had to take a lost ball penalty and either drop or place another ball on the green, so did that one get added to putting strokes?

Assuming it was a putt from on the putting green, the subsequent shot would also be a putt from on the putting green.  Even really bad putts count as putts. ;-)

And yes, the ball would be placed, not dropped.  Rule 20-5(d) applies.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Fourputt    922

But ultimately there is no actual rule that applies to counting putts.  There are popular conventions, but many players don't even agree on them.  You do what you think is appropriate and live with it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

boogielicious    1,159

But ultimately there is no actual rule that applies to counting putts.  There are popular conventions, but many players don't even agree on them.  You do what you think is appropriate and live with it.

Agree.  You just have to be consistent on how you individually record total putts and GIR.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Morsy88    0
I was in this group. Watched the guy miss his 2nd putt, then he reached with his putter and pulled the ball back to his feet where he proceeded to pick it up. So the question is, would the pull back with the putter count as a stroke? And if he did want to replace the ball and putt again with the stroke penalty, would he replace the ball where he pulled it back? Or where he picked it up? Our "Ape" competition is pretty serious. Hah

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bkuehn1952    472

So the question is, would the pull back with the putter count as a stroke?

And if he did want to replace the ball and putt again with the stroke penalty, would he replace the ball where he pulled it back? Or where he picked it up?

The scrape back would not count as a stroke as he was not making a "stroke" as defined in the Rules.  An excerpt of the definition is:

"A “ stroke ’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball ..."

The ball is to be replaced at the spot where it came to rest after the initial stroke (i.e. the place from where he pulled the ball).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

MEfree    34

I have heard of someone  hitting a putt too hard off the back of the green and went into tall fescue and they could not find it, ultimately he had to take a lost ball penalty and either drop or place another ball on the green, so did that one get added to putting strokes?

I recalling hearing that on the PGA Tour, where they do track total putts, that they count strokes from off the green as putts when they occur AFTER a player has made their first putt from on the green.  Not sure how penalty strokes factor in, but had they found their ball in the tall fescue and played it back onto the green, the PGA tour would have counted that shot as a putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922
Quote:

Originally Posted by flopster

I have heard of someone  hitting a putt too hard off the back of the green and went into tall fescue and they could not find it, ultimately he had to take a lost ball penalty and either drop or place another ball on the green, so did that one get added to putting strokes?

I recalling hearing that on the PGA Tour, where they do track total putts, that they count strokes from off the green as putts when they occur AFTER a player has made their first putt from on the green.  Not sure how penalty strokes factor in, but had they found their ball in the tall fescue and played it back onto the green, the PGA tour would have counted that shot as a putt.

What about the time during the Masters that Tiger putted the ball off the front of the 13th green into Rae's Creek, then pitched back over the creek from the fairway after dropping.  I wouldn't count that as a putt.  The penalty for dropping out of the hazard, maybe, but not the pitch.  It simply isn't a putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

iacas    4,181

What about the time during the Masters that Tiger putted the ball off the front of the 13th green into Rae's Creek, then pitched back over the creek from the fairway after dropping.  I wouldn't count that as a putt.  The penalty for dropping out of the hazard, maybe, but not the pitch.  It simply isn't a putt.

I think he actually re-putted.


Here's what I'd do. I'd call everything after I'm on the green a putt, except the penalty stroke, I'd just call a penalty stroke. Because this happens once, what, every few decades?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

MEfree    34

What about the time during the Masters that Tiger putted the ball off the front of the 13th green into Rae's Creek, then pitched back over the creek from the fairway after dropping.  I wouldn't count that as a putt.  The penalty for dropping out of the hazard, maybe, but not the pitch.  It simply isn't a putt.

I agree that it is not actually a putt, but I have heard/read multiple times that the PGA tour doesn't count any putts before you are on the green (i.e. using your putter from the fringe) but then counts everything as putts once you reach the green (even if you use a wedge and don't have a clear line at the hole).  Here is what the USGA says:

RULES FAQ

Rule Misc.

How to Count Putts

Q. Our club has a game each week for the lowest putts. What is the recommended method for counting putts?

A. The Rules of Golf do not address how statistics are kept. In USGA Championships where putts are counted, the player has made his first putt once he has made a stroke from the putting green and all subsequent strokes are counted as putts. It is up to the Committee in charge of the event to determine how putts will be counted and the method used for counting.

http://www.usga.org/rulesfaq/rules_answer.asp?FAQidx=123&Rule;=100

So, from a rules standpoint, when you putt a ball from the green to off the green, the next shot is not a putt (in that you can't mark the ball), but from a STATISTICS standpoint, the USGA would have counted Tiger's pitch (edit- or whatever his next stroke was) as a putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

What about the time during the Masters that Tiger putted the ball off the front of the 13th green into Rae's Creek, then pitched back over the creek from the fairway after dropping.  I wouldn't count that as a putt.  The penalty for dropping out of the hazard, maybe, but not the pitch.  It simply isn't a putt.

I think he actually re-putted.

Here's what I'd do. I'd call everything after I'm on the green a putt, except the penalty stroke, I'd just call a penalty stroke. Because this happens once, what, every few decades?

You may be right.  I don't remember the follow up, just the one that ran off the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • If you find the course fairly empty on an afternoon, play some holes and practice situationals. Do you have a hole with four greenside bunkers that you often bogie? Well, drop two or three balls in each bunker and see how close to the pin you can get. You may realize that the 56* is ideal for three, but the fourth bunker requires a 60* because you need to get the ball up quickly. Do you have a dogleg that gives you trouble? Hit a couple of shots each with a driver, 3W and hybrid, see which one sets you up best for the second shot. A short par 4 dogleg right that lasers out to 190 yards at the corner. Can you readily get the ball up high enough to cut the corner and get an easy chip for up and down? Try it with driver and 3W and see if it works. If you normally fade the ball, can you hit a teeshot draw into a fairway that drains all the tee shots off to the right? Try it out during on-course practice.
    • As you know, Chuck, I'm on the opposite end of the spectrum. Playing for scores/tracking handicap hasn't interested me as much the past couple of years, because I just know I've got some fundamental things wrong going on with my swing. I have felt that if I can just make a big breakthrough with my mechanics that my new baseline will be better than the "bogey golf" standard that I've typically played to, without lessons. I've played on and off my whole life un-seriously, and I've always been about the same. Then again, why would I get better if I'm not really changing anything? I decided that my home-grown "swing my swing" mechanics have hit their limit, so I've been pretty determined to just do what it takes to get better. It has definitely been more difficult than I had thought it would be, but I think I'm improving and changing things- even if not as fast as I had hoped. If nothing else, I'm certainly aware of what I need to do more than I was! I won't always favor practice over playing, and I'm still hoping for a breakthrough (sooner rather than later- perhaps months away) where I'll be happy again to get out there and play as much as I practice. Hopefully more. You've seen all the threads on practice and learning, but I'll include the couple that keep me motivated below. Like Erik is saying, it's not a secret.  I find it motivating to put into practice the ideas about making changes "unconscious" in the thread about stages of learning. If that's not motivating to you, I guess I don't know what to say. It just keeps me going and is as simple as that. In my mind, if you don't really seek out to change something, there's little chance you'll be advancing your game to where you want it long-term.  
    • I like the ideas you mentioned above... especially the 18 holes of up & down from various, difficult lies.  

      As for the short game, right now it's definitely hurting my scores.  Prior to this weekend, I went over my last 17 scorecards and I counted 53 putts from 6 feet and in that I missed over those 17 rounds.  A lot of them were 3 and 4 feet.  I didn't bother going through the short game misses, but I can count at least 8 times over the 2 rounds I played this weekend where I was greenside (or close to it) and I hit especially poor shots.  

      Overall, I converted just 1 of 15 up & down opportunities for the 2 day tournament and I finished 8 strokes behind the winner.  It's been a weakness for awhile.  I took a short game lesson the Friday before last that has me at least making clean contact and not hitting it fat anymore... but my tendency now is to hit it 15 - 25 feet past the hole.

      I'm gonna play 18 tomorrow morning and then on Wednesday morning before meetings, I'm gonna spend some time at the short game area and I'll try out what you listed.  That should keep me engaged.  

      I've got a 3 day member guest event Thursday, Friday and Saturday... so, I'll have plenty of on course time too.  

      Thanks for the suggestions.  Simple, but not something I would have thought of doing on my own.  It's in my wheelhouse too because I like to keep scores and stats, so... I can do that with an up & down challenge like that.

      CY
    • Why? You could just welch on the bet like you did here.</burn>
    • Hate the arm position here too. Shoulders very flat. Ugh.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dresilved
      Dresilved
      (52 years old)
    2. kpetrina
      kpetrina
      (25 years old)
    3. Luana
      Luana
      (39 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon