• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tomputt

Accidental Tee Shot

20 posts in this topic

Yesterday, when teeing off on the first hole, my playing partner "accidently" hit his ball and the ball skidded off to right of the T box.  He calims it was an "incidental" stike of the ball and he was allowed to "T" it back up without penalty.  Is he correct??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I think your playing partner was correct. Once the ball is in play, incidental contact is penalized one stroke, but from the tee box, there is no penalty if there was no attempt to make a swing at the ball.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think your playing partner was correct. Once the ball is in play, incidental contact is penalized one stroke, but from the tee box, there is no penalty if there was no attempt to make a swing at the ball.

Do you have a reference for that? Not saying you're wrong, but I can't find anything in the rules about that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think your playing partner was correct. Once the ball is in play, incidental contact is penalized one stroke, but from the tee box, there is no penalty if there was no attempt to make a swing at the ball.


Correct. The ball is not in play until a stroke has been played from the Teeing Ground.

Rule 11-3 pertains....



11-3. Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

Stroke

A “ stroke ’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke .

Since the player did not intend to strike the ball, he did not make a stroke, and the ball was not put into play.  He replaces the ball and continues, no penalty, just as if he had inadvertently knocked it off the tee while addressing it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Correct. The ball is not in play until a stroke has been played from the Teeing Ground.

Rule 11-3 pertains....

11-3. Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

Stroke

A “stroke’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

Since the player did not intend to strike the ball, he did not make a stroke, and the ball was not put into play.  He replaces the ball and continues, no penalty, just as if he had inadvertently knocked it off the tee while addressing it.

Another rule that doesn't make sense to me. If you accidentally hit it with your practice swing off the tee...re-tee and carry on as if nothing happened. You do it from the fairway, one stroke penalty. :doh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for citing the actual rule, David. [quote name="Slice of Life" url="/t/76989/incidental-t-shot#post_1050819"] Another rule that doesn't make sense to me. If you accidentally hit it with your practice swing off the tee...re-tee and carry on as if nothing happened. You do it from the fairway, one stroke penalty. :doh: [/quote] You should read about the incident that burned this rule into my memory bank forever. About a few months ago, there was a great thread on here about a female golfer who hit a worm burner off the tee while trying to hold up her swing (or so she said). Since she wasn't trying make a "stroke" as defined above (apparently she attempted to hold up before starting her downswing but was unable to do so because of momentum) she was able to re-hit her tee shot without penalty. I tried searching the archives for the relevant thread but I couldn't find it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Another rule that doesn't make sense to me. If you accidentally hit it with your practice swing off the tee...re-tee and carry on as if nothing happened. You do it from the fairway, one stroke penalty.

In one instance the ball is "in play", in the other, it isn't.

At some point the ball has to be put into play, whether at the beginning of a round, or after finishing the previous hole.  The way that's been determined is simply when you make a stroke at the ball, it becomes "in play".  If that weren't the case, you couldn't move it from one spot on the tee box to another, or even adjust the height of the tee.  When you think it through, putting the ball into play with a "stroke" is really the only thing that does make sense.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Another rule that doesn't make sense to me. If you accidentally hit it with your practice swing off the tee...re-tee and carry on as if nothing happened. You do it from the fairway, one stroke penalty.

Why doesn't that make sense to you?  It seems pretty straightforward to me.  There has to be a defined moment where the ball goes from being "out of play" to "in play" and what better moment than the first stroke?

Once the ball is placed on the tee seems like an odd time for it to be declared in play because sometimes guys don't use tees, sometimes guys pick up and move tees, sometimes guys realize they didn't push it down far enough and push it in some more ... there is no cut and dried moment where it could easily be declared "in play" prior to the first stroke.

Imagine watching a Browns game in windy conditions where they just scored with seconds left to take a 5 point lead.  As they're lining up to kick off, the kicker puts the ball on the tee and starts walking back to get ready to start the play, and while he's doing it the ball falls off the tee.  One of the Steelers front line guys runs up, grabs it, waltzes in for a touchdown as time expires and the Steelers win.

Pretty silly, huh??

EDIT: @David in FL said it better and faster. :-P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Funny aside, in the otherwise fantastic novel Golf in the Kingdom, the author gets this wrong. The main character knocks his ball off the tee by accident and is made to count it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did this in a tournament recently. On the tee box of a par 3 I was taking a practice swing above the teed ball and accidently hit it about 20 yards to the next tee box. I went and got my ball, re teed and played my stroke to the green and two putted. My marker asked me what I scored and I said 3. There was a look of bewilderment on his part. He did check with the committee when we were done

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slice of Life

Another rule that doesn't make sense to me. If you accidentally hit it with your practice swing off the tee...re-tee and carry on as if nothing happened. You do it from the fairway, one stroke penalty.

So would you want the ball to be in play as soon as it is teed, or no penalty for accidently hitting a ball in play in the fairway?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Imagine watching a Browns game in windy conditions where they just scored with seconds left to take a 5 point lead.  As they're lining up to kick off, the kicker puts the ball on the tee and starts walking back to get ready to start the play, and while he's doing it the ball falls off the tee.  One of the Steelers front line guys runs up, grabs it, waltzes in for a touchdown as time expires and the Steelers win.

Pretty silly, huh??

More accurate example would be if the kicker accidentally kicked it off of the tee while "practice kicking". In which case, the ball would be in play, and the Steelers WOULD win.

:-P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did this in a tournament recently. On the tee box of a par 3 I was taking a practice swing above the teed ball and accidently hit it about 20 yards to the next tee box. I went and got my ball, re teed and played my stroke to the green and two putted. My marker asked me what I scored and I said 3. There was a look of bewilderment on his part. He did check with the committee when we were done

So would you want the ball to be in play as soon as it is teed, or no penalty for accidently hitting a ball in play in the fairway?

I get what you guys are saying....I just find it odd that if you accidentally whack the ball off the tee with your club...nothing happens. :-D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for citing the actual rule, David.

You should read about the incident that burned this rule into my memory bank forever. About a few months ago, there was a great thread on here about a female golfer who hit a worm burner off the tee while trying to hold up her swing (or so she said). Since she wasn't trying make a "stroke" as defined above (apparently she attempted to hold up before starting her downswing but was unable to do so because of momentum) she was able to re-hit her tee shot without penalty.

I tried searching the archives for the relevant thread but I couldn't find it.

She would not in fact be able to take her tee shot again without penalty if I understand correctly that she was attempting in the first place to play the ball.    If you stop your downswing or manage to divert it before hitting the ball, that's fine, but if you hit the ball at all, it counts as a stroke..  If she then re-teed and played another shot, she was proceeding under Rule 27-1 (Stroke and distance) and was playing her 3rd shot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...there was a great thread on here about a female golfer who hit a worm burner off the tee while trying to hold up her swing ... she was able to re-hit her tee shot without penalty.

I tried searching the archives for the relevant thread but I couldn't find it.

This is the thread in question:

http://thesandtrap.com/t/25109/rule-question-on-paula-creamer

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did this in a tournament recently. On the tee box of a par 3 I was taking a practice swing above the teed ball and accidently hit it about 20 yards to the next tee box. I went and got my ball, re teed and played my stroke to the green and two putted. My marker asked me what I scored and I said 3. There was a look of bewilderment on his part. He did check with the committee when we were done

So would you want the ball to be in play as soon as it is teed, or no penalty for accidently hitting a ball in play in the fairway?

Seems to leave open the possibility that someone who hits an errant tee shot could claim it was a practice swing or accidental contact and therefore be allowed to re-tee without penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Seems to leave open the possibility that someone who hits an errant tee shot could claim it was a practice swing or accidental contact and therefore be allowed to re-tee without penalty.

Only if they lie.  The rules assume no one lies.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems to leave open the possibility that someone who hits an errant tee shot could claim it was a practice swing or accidental contact and therefore be allowed to re-tee without penalty.

It's generally pretty clear whether someone intended to hit the ball or not.  Even when I've seen someone completely whiff the ball, I've never had a doubt as to their intent......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • This is why I joined a Country Club here in No. Virginia, when I first moved to the area, I couldn't believe it took me 5-5.5 hours to play 18 holes on the weekend.  That lasted a couple of summers and then I took the dive to joining a Country Club, which for me is well worth the cost. 
    • I went through the same experimentation phase with my "standard" clubs when I first began thinking about single length clubs a couple years ago, and as @inthecup mentioned, the results were not good -- the gaps were not good, the swing weights were different (because the head weights were different), lies were wrong, etc. But, I saw enough of an improvement in ball striking (i.e. not hitting fat as often on the long irons) that I tried the Pinhawks (ValueGolf). Aaron @ Value Golf has been selling Pinhawks for a couple years, but increasing demand for single length irons seems to outstrip supply occasionally (resulting in stock-outs). So if you're serious about trying it, sooner would be better than later -- I recently had to wait 30 days to send a contest winner their iron heads because they were completely out and were waiting for their next manufacturing run to be delivered.  
    • That sounds less like a slow play issue and more like a no play issue. I'd imagine your guys plopped down somewhere for a late afternoon picnic. They probably engaged in a few ball-hunting expeditions and may have taken a swim in a water hazard.  
    • Have been using one for a few months now and love it.  Has taken about 3 putts off my normal putts per round average.  Where I see the biggest difference is with my lag putting.  Has not made any difference with short putts, but I tend to miss the center of the face on longer putts and I have noticed a pretty significant difference.  The ball gets closer to the hole whereas my old Scotty would spray it further left, right, or short.   I am very confident it is giving me a chance at less 3 putts which was the biggest reason I bought one.   Its a very legit putter.  Worth trying out, but absolutely make sure to go to someone who knows how to fit for a putter.
    • I usually play munis. I try to have no time expectations (or for that matter, game expectations lol) when playing golf. I leave my house 45 minutes before a round, and usually get home 5 hours and thirty minutes later. 18 holes is anywhere from 4 to 4.5 hours. If I have later appointments I book golf earlier.  Over the past month I have invited a new person to golf on two separate occasions. (we are not trying to grow the game, just have an enjoyable outing with family or friend) We planned only 9 holes. Walking 9 holes and flailing at a little white ball tires a new comer. They have no idea of what pace of play means. We explained it and played pick up the f-----g ball if we started losing contact with those in front. We have a local 9 hole muni. It is often populated by occasional golfers. It is rated as intermediate difficulty. It is often slower on weekends and holidays. If I want to play there I either pick a different time or smell the roses.  If its two non golfing couples playing in front of us, I smell the roses. They have no clue what pace of play means, nor do they care. To me "golf is too slow" sounds like road rage. Golf is not instant gratification. Never has been. Need will be.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Cwmgr
      Cwmgr
      (40 years old)
    2. Gfleck067
      Gfleck067
      (28 years old)
    3. golf82
      golf82
      (58 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon