IGNORED

Ball goes dead straight then swings violently right

Note: This thread is 2796 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I'm fairly new to playing regular golf, I have had 6 lessons from the course pro, but I still have the same problem, The ball goes dead straight for 100yds then in mid flight it turns to the right by what looks like 90% and whizzes off sideways. I spent 5 buckets on the driving range this morning. Im using a Ping SF Tech club and alternated between Senior and Regular shafts with no difference. I tried open and closed faces, strong and weak grip, but the flight still stayed the same, I would say 90% of the balls turned in mid air and about 10% went as straight as a dye all the way. Can anyone help before I slit my wrists ?

Thanks

32 minutes ago, Harry666 said:

Hi, I'm fairly new to playing regular golf, I have had 6 lessons from the course pro, but I still have the same problem, The ball goes dead straight for 100yds then in mid flight it turns to the right by what looks like 90% and whizzes off sideways. I spent 5 buckets on the driving range this morning. Im using a Ping SF Tech club and alternated between Senior and Regular shafts with no difference. I tried open and closed faces, strong and weak grip, but the flight still stayed the same, I would say 90% of the balls turned in mid air and about 10% went as straight as a dye all the way. Can anyone help before I slit my wrists ?

Thanks

It's your swing. You're swinging over the top and to the left. Try to swing the club more towards 1st base (baseball reference) instead of pulling it down and across your body.

How is your instructor? Have the lessons helped? You can also film your swing and start a swing thread here on the Member Swings section.

Bill