IGNORED

Never bought new clubs - using 30 year old clubs

Note: This thread is 2562 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello,

I have never bought new irons and have been using my father's ping eye2 irons since I started playing golf about 15 years ago.  I quickly improved when I started and was breaking 90 on the score card on a fairly regular basis after about 1 year of play.  Fast forward to now and I am regularly shooting in the 80s and occasionally in the 70's.  However, I have been stuck at this level of play for about 10 years.  Once and awhile I will shoot an even par on the course but I will follow it up with an 85 the next day.  

I know that my weaknesses are around the green and my putting is either on or off one day to the next...If I spent more time improving my short game I would consistently shoot in the 70s.  However, I have been playing these clubs forever and they are starting to look their age.  I have been hesitant to ever consider getting a new set of irons as I play these pretty well.  Nowadays though I have been getting more grief then usual at tournaments for playing such old clubs.  I also play a TaylorMade 510 driver that has to be about 15 years old also.  My fairway wood is a Ping g10.   

I am starting to think now is the time to get a new set of irons and get fitted for them.  I am not sure if it makes sense or not.  I am also aware that there is now a rule against playing Ping eye2's in tournaments and I would rather not get into a conversation about whether my clubs are legal or not.  

What do you guys think about a replacement set for ping eye2's green?  What would be something similar?  Another Ping product?