Jump to content
IGNORED

Balls in a Position to Assist on the Putting Green


SCDuffer
Note: This thread is 2593 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Scouring the rules and finally gave up, but this rules interpretation was shared with me this week during a 32 man net2 balls tournament.

With 4 guys playing, often times someone chipping up to the green will want balls on the surface (especially close to the hole), so they have the advantage of stopping the ball nearer to the hole.  Forget about the purpose, but this was the situation that led to the following comments.

 

I asked the chipper, "do you want us to leave the balls on the surface or mark them?"

We finished out the hole when he let me know that if the chipper indicates "leave your balls there" or if any partner with a ball on the surface asks if they want it marked, then by rule - all balls on the surface MUST be marked.

 

First time I have EVER heard this, not sure where do locate that rule/interpretation or decision.  Thoughts?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


It's is in Rule 22-1

22-1. Ball Assisting Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that a ball might assist any other player, he may: 

a. Lift the ball if it is his ball; or

b. Have any other ball lifted.

A ball lifted under this Rule must be replaced (see Rule 20-3). The ball must not be cleaned, unless it lies on the putting green (see Rule 21).

In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.

In stroke play, if the Committee determines that competitors have agreed not to lift a ball that might assist any competitor, they are disqualified.

Edited by Rulesman
  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Interesting - so basically its a collusion clause :)

Appreciate the post, I suspected it was a very liberal interpretation with some nonsense conjecture.  The rule is very clear to me...minus the fact that if there is NOT a conversation/agreement  to assist, then it's very hard to prove intent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


30 minutes ago, SCDuffer said:

Interesting - so basically its a collusion clause :)

Appreciate the post, I suspected it was a very liberal interpretation with some nonsense conjecture.  The rule is very clear to me...minus the fact that if there is NOT a conversation/agreement  to assist, then it's very hard to prove intent.

 

If I understood the red highlighted clause in @Rulesman's post, I think once you ask, then you must mark?

I don't run into this situation partly because I always mark when on the green, and partly because the people I play with are all over and around the green so we never really interfere with each other :-D.

It certainly is not necessary, but marking seems the most prudent thing to do? Pretty much all my other partners do the same thing.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

If your ball can assist your partner and nobody says anything by all means leave it there.

But don't ask your partner, and comply if asked by your opponents to mark.

  • Upvote 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

that's what I got from it.  You can mark your own ball, you can ask any other ball to be marked.

but you can't ask for a ball to NOT be marked.....(and it's not a great idea to ask someone if they want you to NOT lift and mark it - if so, I'd guess the only reasonable response is "it's not my place to comment" or 'mark it please')

Bill - 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, iacas said:

If your ball can assist your partner and nobody says anything by all means leave it there.

But don't ask your partner, and comply if asked by your opponents to mark.

 

16 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

that's what I got from it.  You can mark your own ball, you can ask any other ball to be marked.

but you can't ask for a ball to NOT be marked.....(and it's not a great idea to ask someone if they want you to NOT lift and mark it - if so, I'd guess the only reasonable response is "it's not my place to comment" or 'mark it please')

I probably should change to don't mark and don't ask by default. :ninja:

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Great comments guys.  Still conflicted a bit - i guess.  I'll be asking players to mark, but I guess I'll keep my yap shut in regards to marking and wait for the request.  I'll also have the conversation about the rule with our pro and rules committee.  In the end, this part is the one that gets to ethics and following the rules:

 

if a player considers that a ball might assist any other player, he may....

 

So....lots or room for interpretation, but if you think it can help someone...your are by definition required to mark or ask for it to be marked.  Should provide for good local discussion either way.  Thanks again all!

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I can see instances where leaving a ball unmarked might help pace of play but only if it clearly would not come into play, even with errant shot. BUT as soon as the player asked for it to not be marked it became clear he felt it was an advantage... and therefore had to be marked to 'protect the field.'

Brings back awful memories I have of playing a singles match with a third player playing as a marker. Twice the guy I was playing let the 'marker' who was not away go first because he 'wasn't ready'. The third time it happened I got in his face about it. Got called a few names. Even back in the clubhouse I was amazed how many players defended it as 'ready golf' when it was clearly being done to offer an advantage. Fewer and fewer people play tournament golf so rules of the game are getting pushed aside. BTW: We sometimes joke... if you want to learn the rules of golf, play one round in a women's league!

Driver :T Edge CB-1 or Cally Mini Driver 14* or GBB 11*
Tour Edge CB2 15* 3 wood (Best Club Ever!)

Callaway XR 5Wood (New BCE!)

Hybrids: Nike SQ 23*  Tour Edge 28*

Irons: TMade RAC  7-PW   T Flight 56 SWedge
Putter: Odyssey 2 Ball Blade, SStroke flatside to hole

Link to comment
Share on other sites


22/6 Competitor Requests That Ball in Position to Assist Him Not Be Lifted

Q.In stroke play, B's ball lies just off the putting green. A's ball lies near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for B's ball. B requests A not to lift his ball. Is such a request proper?

A.No. If A and B agree not to lift a ball that might assist B, both players are disqualified under Rule 22-1.

See also

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-22,d22-7

Edited by Rulesman
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Rulesman - you nailed it again.  But....and this is the subtlety of it, if they don't converse about it - is it something that gets them disqualified.

I generally play with this group about 4-6 times a month (tuesday/friday) game.  As a club we are very rules focused - abiding, etc... but twice over the last 4-6 months I have seen this come up and I'll address it for sure.  In the end...mark your ball if you are near the pin/green/ball anyway.  

 

Pace of play is a consideration of course, but neither time that i heard/saw collusion to gain an advantage was it a concern.  Thanks again!

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, SCDuffer said:

Rulesman - you nailed it again.  But....and this is the subtlety of it, if they don't converse about it - is it something that gets them disqualified.

I generally play with this group about 4-6 times a month (tuesday/friday) game.  As a club we are very rules focused - abiding, etc... but twice over the last 4-6 months I have seen this come up and I'll address it for sure.  In the end...mark your ball if you are near the pin/green/ball anyway.  

 

Pace of play is a consideration of course, but neither time that i heard/saw collusion to gain an advantage was it a concern.  Thanks again!

 

If you are not one of the two players directly involved and feel there is a silent collusion, you can of course ask for (or just suggest) the ball to be removed. If you ask, it would have to be moved. If you suggest, any potential collusion would become obvious. 

Edited by Rulesman
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Here's a thread where we discussed this issue involving a PGA tournament:

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If a ball will not hurt me (it's near the hole but not in my line) I might go ahead and start my chipping/pitching routine before the guy who just hit it has a chance to go mark it.  If I see him walking up anyway, I'll wait.  But if he's like me, once he sees me getting ready to hit he knows that means it doesn't bother me so he will wait.

Edit:  That is, if we're talking about stroke play competitions or casual rounds.  If we're talking about a match play opponent then I'm always marking mine and I expect my opponent is doing the same.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Golfingdad said:

 If I see him walking up anyway, I'll wait.  But if he's like me, once he sees me getting ready to hit he knows that means it doesn't bother me so he will wait..

Sounds suspiciously like an agreement.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 hours ago, Lihu said:

I probably should change to don't mark and don't ask by default. :ninja:

 

21 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Sounds suspiciously like an agreement.

Okay, now I know why I always mark, back to that method. I don't want to be accused of ":beer:"

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, Rulesman said:

Sounds suspiciously like an agreement.

You think?  I would've guessed there would have to be some type of actual communication for an agreement to be in place.

I think a fair word for what I'm describing is an "acknowledgment."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2593 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • I agree with @pganapathy about removing some clubs. I would recommend removing the 2, 3, 4 and 5 irons for now. Play with Driver 3W 5W 3H 5H 6 iron 7 iron 8 iron 9 iron PW ( you don’t have listed) 52 56 Putter Th 60 wedge can be difficult for new players, but you could keep that If your 3H is adjustable, increased the loft to be more like a 4H. Play with these on course and see if you can get a feel of the actual yardages for each club and especially the gaps between them. It may take 10 or more rounds. A par 3 course is helpful for determining the gaps in the irons and some woods too. A device like a Shot Scope H4 can really help give you your actual yardage on course.
    • Wordle 1,040 5/6* ⬛🟦⬛⬛🟧 ⬛⬛🟧⬛🟧 ⬛🟦🟧⬛🟧 ⬛⬛🟧🟧🟧 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Day 12: Same as last couple days, but focus was on recentering aspect of flow. When I recenter earlier I make decent contact most swings but if I recenter late or not at all it’s a roll of the dice. 
    • A couple of things.  Some of the clubs in your bag should be dropped immediately.  A 2-iron for example with what obviously seems to be a lower swing speed or possibly not great swing yet is a definite no-no.  To be hitting that 120-140 yards, which I assume includes run, is a sign that you are not getting the ball airborne at the correct angle to maximise distance.  The reason your 3 and 5 hybrid are going the same distance is that your launch angle is better with the 5.  Loft is your friend. Ideally I would suggest going to a golf or sporting store where you can hit golf balls on a simulator without being disturbed to understand your club carry distances and hopefully swing speed.  With that information we can definitely guide you better.
    • Let us be clear, unless you have proof of cheating, you just sound like a case of sour grapes.  In our club we have a guy who won club titles for many years.  Yes, he was a low single digit handicapper, but there have been quite a few others who played at his level.  Yet his mental strength and experience helped him win in many years when he shouldn't have.  Did he sandbag.  DEFINITELY NOT.  Did he just minimize his mistakes and pull out shots as and when needed.  Definitely.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...