IGNORED

Expanding on realistic expectations

Killa
Note: This thread is 2539 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I got inspired by the post in swing thoughts and being a newbie I don't really know what to expect or what is "good" and what is "bad" for a player. 

For arguments sake let's divide all golfers into 4 levels - high hcp (over 35), mid hcp (15-35), low hcp (0-15) and pro. 

How would a shot zone be for each of those groups from like 100y out and with a driver shot. (I would be adding more categories but that would probably add to less appeal to this post) 

So my guess would be (and as I'm typing this I realize that I must be way off)

high hcp - 100y -15 yards radius  / driver 20 yards

mid hc - 100y - 10 yards / 15 yards

low hcp - 5 yards / 10 yards

pro - 1-2 yards / 5-10 yards

I recall reading somewhere that a pro is somewhere in the 5% to 9% range on accuracy. But what is reasonable to expect for an amateur of different levels - that is the main question.

I consider myself a high hcp (and am a high hcp) so when I practice and I hit my 100 yard shots I'm pretty bummed if they are more than 10 yards left/right of the target (especially on the range where you repeat the same shot over and over), I'm nowhere near that with the driver just because I'm all over the place as of now, but my 5 iron is somewhere in that range (20 yards). 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm right in the middle of your low handicap category. It's hard to avoid thinking only of the great shots and guessing what a reasonable average for me would be, but here goes: