IGNORED

My Swing (johnclark12)

johnclark12
Note: This thread is 1068 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Having a large amount of trouble getting drives to come off the ground and my irons are the same way.

I've been Playing Golf for: Casually for 4 years
My current handicap index or average score is: 120 for 18 holes handicap around 30 (Due to bad drives every time)
My typical ball flight is: Pull, almost always go right no matter what club I use
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: Just trying to hit the ball into the air so it goes further, Would also like to correct the hooks

Videos: 

MORE VIDEOS COMING SOON

Edited by johnclark12

Hi @johnclark12, big issues are with the grip and how you turn your body. The way you do it makes it very hard to be able to hit the ball solid.

First thing I would do is address your grip, both hands look like they are under the grip and the left hand is all in the palm. Simple image for the left hand is to hold it how you would if you were going to hammer something, it would be in your fingers, not your palm. This thread will help.

With your swing, the torso is turning too level to the ground, things need to turn more on a steeper angle. Ideally that angle is 90 degrees to the amount you're bent over at address. To train the pivot I would do a bunch of these at home and on the range in between shots. The left shoulder should work under the chin, not into the chin.

I would do this drill for the backswing and downswing, the stick across your shoulders will point down on both sides of the ball.

• Upvote 1

Mike McLoughlin

Check out my friends on Evolvr!
Follow The Sand Trap on Twitter!  and on Facebook
Golf Terminology -  Analyzr  -  My FacebookTwitter and Instagram 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades