IGNORED

From absolute beginner - how long did it take you to improve?

RJN12
Note:Β This thread is 2410 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

Just curious on others' journey. I never held a golfΒ club until 2-3 months ago, but started taking lessons and practice 9 holes twice a week and some chipping/putting practice.Β (IΒ get injuries if I overdo it - especially driving range, and live quite far from the nearest club, sl that is my limit). At 45 I have no intention of being great, but progress is really slow, so trying to manage expectations. I am still using roughly 10 strokes for each hole (I count everything), which is really frustrating. I do see others doing much worse than me on the course after much longer, which just makes me worried that it will take years to get to a level which is adequate to play with my high handicap friends. I'd really like to hear from others who started late and their stories on progress.Β 

A long time for me, as I have no natural talent for this game. . .

Generally, if your swing is naturally good, it might take you a couple years. If you're like me, it will take a lot of good instruction and something like 3-4 years to get reasonable.

The problem with golf, is you have to maximize/optimizeΒ your swing speed before you can really start playing better than "bump the ball 100 yards at a time". There are contact issues as well, which require that you setup correctly and have a reasonable consistent "bottom of the swing".

Then your short game has to be consistent, and you need to be able to learn and relearn and feel the distances your pitch shots will make.

Then there's putting. You have to practice enough to develop a nice and consistent pendulum swing.

That's pretty much just to get to bogey golf. If you happen to hit far enough, then you'd be somewhat better than bogey.