Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Hideki's situation. Hear me out!!!


Note: This thread is 2923 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Ok, I think Hideki was not penalized in part because he doesn't speak English. He uses a translator. Had Hideki been able to speak English, the rules official would have been able to better judge Hideki's tone and asked him more questions regarding the situation. 

Regardless, the intent looked fairly clear to me and I think he should be penalized. 

Thoughts.


Posted

The bottom line is whether it was intentional or not, the "crime" was commited.

He should be penalized.

In my bag Driver: Cleveland CG tour black Fairway Woods: Diablo Octane 3 wood; Diablo 5 wood Irons: Mizuno MP53 5-9 Hybrid: Cobra 3, 4 T-Rail Wedge: 46* Cleveland, 50* Cleveland, 54* Titleist, 60* Titleist Putter: Odyssey protype #6 Ball: Maxfli U4/U6... But I'm not really picky about the ball I use.

Posted
8 minutes ago, BallMarker said:

The bottom line is whether it was intentional or not, the "crime" was commited.

He should be penalized.

Agreed 100%. If I am marking my ball on the green, and I move it 2 feet closer, I could say I didn't "intend" to do that. The rule is ridiculous. 


Posted

Whether or not he speaks English is irrelevant. He’s playing golf and making millions and should know and respect the rules of golf. I think he had every intent on fixing the divot realizing the ball was possibly going to return to its original place. Who quickly fixes a divot while their ball is still moving on the ground? He may have not realized that was a penalty when he did it. But I completely believe once he was asked he was deceitful and absolutely knew that’s why he quickly fixed the divot.

  • Like 1

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

So you look at the divot and step on it after looking. The split second descision to move your foot there is intent enough by itself. No need to ask, weak PGA move.

If it was a translation problem, he could still fix it himself. Now he will be looked upon as a player who tries to bend the rules.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Definitely a penalty. Whether Hideki intended to cheat or not doesn't really matter. He could have reacted before even thinking about what he did, but the intent doesn't make the action go away. I could absent mindedly brush away some grass in a water hazard and be penalized for it, even if I didn't have any bad intentions or it helped me in my situation at all.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
4 hours ago, MacDutch said:

Now he will be looked upon as a player who tries to bend the rules.

I actually feel it’s worse than that. He didn’t bend a rule. He broke a rule quite clearly then lied about it. 

Correct response: “ Oh, yeah I didn’t even think of that, you’re right. I goofed. I’ll take the penalty.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

BTW, this is what happens when you try to add "intent" and things to the rules.

This is what happens when the "that's so unfair!" people get too much influence.

This rule was modified slightly in the 2012 rules.

http://www.ruleshistory.com/rules2008.html
http://www.ruleshistory.com/rules2012.html


Note that this is different in the 2019 proposed rules, too:

Quote

11.3 Deliberately Moving Objects or Altering Conditions to Affect Ball in Motion After Stroke

While any player’s ball is in motion after a stroke, a player must not deliberately do any of these things to affect where that ball might come to rest:

  • Alter conditions by taking any of the actions listed in Rule 8.1a, or

Hideki definitely deliberately stepped there.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 12/2/2017 at 2:17 PM, Seals said:

Agreed 100%. If I am marking my ball on the green, and I move it 2 feet closer, I could say I didn't "intend" to do that. The rule is ridiculous. 

Except you'd gain an advantage whereas he did not.  The ball never got back to the divot, nor near it.  If I play a 50 yard pitch and step on the divot no one gives it a second thought.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
27 minutes ago, tdiii said:

The ball never got back to the divot, nor near it.

That doesn't matter. At the time he stepped on it, it was reasonable/possible/likely/probable that the ball would roll back to that spot.

Whether it actually did or not is irrelevant.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
9 hours ago, iacas said:

That doesn't matter. At the time he stepped on it, it was reasonable/possible/likely/probable that the ball would roll back to that spot.

Whether it actually did or not is irrelevant.

Except the results indicate that it was not reasonably likely it would roll back. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 12/2/2017 at 2:01 PM, Seals said:

Ok, I think Hideki was not penalized in part because he doesn't speak English. He uses a translator. Had Hideki been able to speak English, the rules official would have been able to better judge Hideki's tone and asked him more questions regarding the situation. 

Regardless, the intent looked fairly clear to me and I think he should be penalized. 

Thoughts.

He was cleared not because he didn’t speak English well, but because he said he always fixes divots instinctively to “care for the course”.

 I’m sure he knows the rules as well as anyone, and not speaking English is not an excuse in pro golf.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
8 minutes ago, tdiii said:

Except the results indicate that it was not reasonably likely it would roll back. 

You're wrong. That's not how that rule works.

It was possible and even likely for the ball to roll back there. That it didn't is immaterial.

Likely doesn't mean "absolutely certain."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Lihu said:

He was cleared not because he didn’t speak English well, but because he said he always fixes divots instinctively to “care for the course”.

 I’m sure he knows the rules as well as anyone, and not speaking English is not an excuse in pro golf.

OP wasn’t suggesting that it was his excuse, he was saying that going through the translator takes away the opportunity of the rules official to listen to not only what Hideki says but how he says it.

If Hideki doesn’t have to speak directly at him in English then he loses the ability to see him stutter or hesitate or anything like that.  He gets the secondhand polished answer.

It may not have played a part, but I can see how it might have.

Edited by Golfingdad
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Just now, Golfingdad said:

OP wasn’t suggesting that it was his excuse, he was saying that going through the translator takes away the opportunity of the rules official to listen to not only what Hideki says but how he says it.

If Hideki doesn’t have to speak directly at him in English then he loses the ability to see him stutter or hesitate or anything like that.  He gets the secondhand polished answer.

Is there any video of this occurrence?

I'm pretty sure the rules officials that questioned him were watching his reactions as he answered the translator? Someone (possibly one of the RO) probably witnessed what he actually did as well. We're all possibly reaching a bit to assert his guilt or innocence unless we actually saw it.

To prove intent he'd have to have known that the ball would likely end up in the same spot again and that he actually knew he was improving the lie. It's difficult to prove either statement.

There's certainly not enough to say that "He doesn't speak English, and had to go through a translator which diluted the potential to prove his guilt" AND "He intended to improve the lie because he knew it was likely the ball would end up in the same spot".

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It's pretty easy to avoid this thing completely.  Wait until the ball comes to rest before housekeeping.  In this case, he could have waited and THEN done the exact same thing and wouldn't be an issue.  Don't clean up while the ball is rolling back at you.

I'm not a fan of 'intentions' rules.  Fewer rules would be nice and those based on actions, or results.  None of us are mindreaders, so it's pretty pointless when someone in their armchair points at something and claims that their opinion is fact.  So a rule on the same is also more of a nuisance.

Perhaps a simpler rule (don't modify the grounds during the course of a shot - the "shot" ending when the ball appears to come to rest)

  • Like 1

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2923 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • I'm not sure you're calculating the number of strokes you would need to give correctly. The way I figure it, a 6.9 index golfer playing from tees that are rated 70.8/126 would have a course handicap of 6. A 20-index golfer playing from tees that are rated 64/106 would have a course handicap of 11. Therefore, based on the example above, assuming this is the same golf course and these index & slope numbers are based on the different tees, you should only have to give 5 strokes (or one stroke on the five most difficult holes if match play) not 6. Regardless, I get your point...the average golfer has no understanding of how the system works and trying to explain it to people, who haven't bothered to read the documentation provided by either the USGA or the R&A, is hopeless. In any case, I think the WHS as it currently is, does the best job possible of leveling the playing field and I think most golfers (obviously, based on the back & forth on this thread, not all golfers) at least comprehend that.   
    • Day 115 12-5 Skills work tonight. Mostly just trying to be more aware of the shaft and where it's at. Hit foam golf balls. 
    • Day 25 (5 Dec 25) - total rain day, worked on tempo and distance control.  
    • Yes it's true in a large sample like a tournament a bunch of 20 handicaps shouldn't get 13 strokes more than you. One of them will have a day and win. But two on one, the 7 handicap is going to cover those 13 strokes the vast majority of the time. 20 handicaps are shit players. With super high variance and a very asymmetrical distribution of scores. Yes they shoot 85 every once in a while. But they shoot 110 way more often. A 7 handicap's equivalent is shooting 74 every once in a while but... 86 way more often?
    • Hi Jack.  Welcome to The Sand Trap forum.   We're glad you've joined.   There is plenty of information here.   Enjoy!
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.