IGNORED

Wedge gapping

Note: This thread is 2074 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

How much is too much? I play old school irons with traditional lofts, so I only carry 3 wedges. PW is 50 degrees, sand wedge is 56, and I’m thinking about getting a 62 lob and keeping 6 degree loft gaps between them all. Are these gaps too big? 

I’m not a great golfer, but I’m getting better as I’m practicing and playing more than I have in years. I have tended to be fairly solid with my wedges, though. As a kid that was the one thing I could practice in my yard, so I did. Often.

Right now, my distance control is a little rusty. This is my first year back from an extended break. I’m assuming that will be a key thing to shore up. I reckon the larger gap will create more in-between shots.

Does anybody play with such large gaps between wedges, and if so, does it work out ok or would you discourage it?

It’s really just an individual preference. Have you taken your PW, 56 to the range to see what your yardages are? That would certainly help. Many players can have a wide range for each club based on choking down, length of backswing. I wouldn’t worry about the spacing regarding numbers but more on how you play each wedge and see where the gaps are.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades