Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Edoardo Molinari DQ'd Because His Caddie Took Cart to Tee


Note: This thread is 3882 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Moderator
Posted

From golf.com

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/edoardo-molinari-disqualified-because-his-caddy-took-cart-tee

This is a rule we never really have to worry about.

by Marika Washchyshyn

File this under bizarre penalties on the golf course.

Italy's Edoardo Molinari was disqualified from the European Tour's Shenzhen International on Friday after failing to include a strange penalty on his round of 75 Thursday; his caddie hopped a golf cart between the ninth and 10th tees, but Molinari didn't see it.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm curious what the rationale is for that rule. I don't see how this gives Molinari an unfair advantage.


Posted

The governing bodies of the Tours really need to cut this kind of nonsense from the rulebook. The fans don't want to see this kind of thing happen.

:callaway: Big Bertha Alpha 815 DBD  :bridgestone: TD-03 Putter   
:tmade: 300 Tour 3W                 :true_linkswear: Motion Shoes
:titleist: 585H Hybrid                       
:tmade: TP MC irons                 
:ping: Glide 54             
:ping: Glide 58
:cleveland: 588 RTX 62

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
I'm curious what the rationale is for that rule. I don't see how this gives Molinari an unfair advantage.


I disagree, and think that clear lines are better than fuzzy lines where we try to determine whether an "advantage" was gained. Sometimes you fall afoul of a "goofy" rule but keeping the clarity and solidity of the line is important in the end.

The rules say players and caddies can't take carts. It's a clear line, and unfortunately the caddie broke that rule.

Some tournaments will shuttle players on long walks from a green to a tee or something, but it's done for EVERY player (or player/caddie).

And… it is an advantage. A very, very small one, but again: clarity is more important than trying to judge "how much" something was an advantage.

  • Upvote 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I'm curious what the rationale is for that rule. I don't see how this gives Molinari an unfair advantage.

[quote name="iacas" url="/t/81490/edoardo-molinari-dqd-because-his-caddie-took-cart-to-tee/0_30#post_1131720"] I disagree, and think that clear lines are better than fuzzy lines where we try to determine whether an "advantage" was gained. [/quote] Right. The rule isn't "players and caddies can't use carts unless oops maybe the caddie can do it once even if it's an honest mistake," it's "players and caddies can't use carts." You break the rule, you get punished. Probably not a mistake the caddie will make twice.

In my bag:

Driver: Titleist TSi3 | 15º 3-Wood: Ping G410 | 17º 2-Hybrid: Ping G410 | 19º 3-Iron: TaylorMade GAPR Lo |4-PW Irons: Nike VR Pro Combo | 54º SW, 60º LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 | Putter: Odyssey Toulon Las Vegas H7

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by DocPangloss

I'm curious what the rationale is for that rule. I don't see how this gives Molinari an unfair advantage.

Quote:

Originally Posted by iacas

I disagree, and think that clear lines are better than fuzzy lines where we try to determine whether an "advantage" was gained.

Right. The rule isn't "players and caddies can't use carts unless oops maybe the caddie can do it once even if it's an honest mistake," it's "players and caddies can't use carts." You break the rule, you get punished. Probably not a mistake the caddie will make twice.

The caddie may not have a job any more. :whistle:

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The caddie may not have a job any more.

He may be the guy driving the cart next week, haha.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The governing bodies of the Tours really need to cut this kind of nonsense from the rulebook. The fans don't want to see this kind of thing happen.

Are they really that bothered? It will never happen to them. Will anyone stop watching pro golf or playing as a result?


Posted

I'm curious what the rationale is for that rule. I don't see how this gives Molinari an unfair advantage.

How many rules are concerned with an 'unfair advantage'? If advantage comes into it, it is about potential advantage, whether gained or not.

But is this about advantage at all? It is more about all players being treated equally and the logistics of providing transport for 150 or so players and caddies between greens and tees (or around the course in general).


Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogielicious View Post

From golf.com

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/edoardo-molinari-disqualified-because-his-caddy-took-cart-tee

This is a rule we never really have to worry about.

Yup. It's not actually against the "rules of golf" generally to take the cart, it's a breach of the conditions of the competition. So unless you are playing in a competitive tournament that adopts this rule, then you don't have to worry about it. Technically, it's a breach under 33-1:

Quote:
The Committee must establish the conditions under which a competition is to be played.

Very likely, the Committee had adopted the suggested language in Appendix I, part C, rule 8:

Quote:

8. Transportation

If it is desired to require players to walk in a competition, the following condition is recommended:

"Players must not ride on any form of transportation during a stipulated round unless authorized by the Committee.

*PENALTY FOR BREACH OF CONDITION:

Match play - At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred; maximum deduction per round - Two holes.

Stroke play - Two strokes for each hole at which any breach occurred; maximum penalty per round - Four strokes (two strokes at each of the first two holes at which any breach occurred).

Match play or stroke play - If a breach is discovered between the play of two holes, it is deemed to have been discovered during play of the next hole, and the penalty must be applied accordingly.

Bogey and par competitions - See Note 1 to Rule 32-1a .

Stableford competitions - See Note 1 to Rule 32-1b .

*Use of any unauthorized form of transportation must be discontinued immediately upon discovery that a breach has occurred. Otherwise, the player is disqualified."

And this is further addressed by decision 33-1/9.5:

Quote:

33-1/9.5

Breach of Transportation Condition by Caddie

Q.The Committee has adopted the Transportation Condition in Appendix I as a condition of competition. During the stipulated round, a player's caddie accepts a ride on a golf cart without the authority of the Committee. Is the player penalized for the caddie's breach of the condition?

A.Yes. The player is responsible for any breach of a Rule during a stipulated round by his caddie and incurs the applicable penalty (Rule 6-1 ).

So it's similar to any other tournament condition, such as the "one ball rule", or requiring drivers and balls used to be listed on the USGA conforming driver and ball lists. Players and caddies in PGA Tournaments are responsible for knowing these conditions.


Posted

I get the DQ, but two shots a bit steep for this kind/level of violation, yeah? Maybe a fine or something?

Vishal S.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I get the DQ, but two shots a bit steep for this kind/level of violation, yeah? Maybe a fine or something?

How can you apply financial penalties in a game that played mainly by amateurs?


Posted

Molinari's caddie has probably suffered a financial penalty anyway.  His man was disqualified which doesn't leave much in the way of a percentage of the prize money, does it?


Posted

How can you apply financial penalties in a game that played mainly by amateurs?

I have no idea. I see your point.

Vishal S.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3882 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.