Jump to content
IGNORED

Embedded Ball Relief Question


JDgolf
 Share

Note: This thread is 1215 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Hi,

Let's say your ball is embedded in the general area behind a tree interfering with your stance or swing. To my understanding, you cant use the embedded ball rule and get a one club drop possibly freeing you from the tree.  I get that.

I had a situation like that and the ball was completely embedded in mud. I didn't want relief from the tree, just relief from the lie, and chip out into the fairway. 

Are we not even allowed to do that that?

Edited by JDgolf
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • iacas changed the title to Embedded Ball Relief Question
  • Administrator

If your ball is embedded in the general area you're entitled to relief (assuming the Local Rule isn't in effect limiting it to fairway height or lower).

If you can chip out sideways, then the ball is still embedded. If it's possible to reasonably play a stroke in some direction, you are entitled to relief, and then after relief is taken, can play in any direction.

But why would you want to just chip out if you get relief? You could… but why?

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

26 minutes ago, JDgolf said:

Hi,

Let's say your ball is embedded in the general area behind a tree interfering with your stance or swing. To my understanding, you cant use the embedded ball rule and get a one club drop possibly freeing you from the tree.  I get that.

I had a situation like that and the ball was completely embedded in mud. I didn't want relief from the tree, just relief from the lie, and chip out into the fairway. 

Are we not even allowed to do that that?

The Rule says, as you seem to know:

Exceptions – When Relief Not Allowed for Ball Embedded in General Area: Relief under Rule 16.3b is not allowed:

When interference by anything other than the ball being embedded makes the stroke clearly unreasonable (for example, when a player is unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush).

This is a common bit of fine print with many free relief situations.

  • Thumbs Up 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 minutes ago, Asheville said:

The Rule says, as you seem to know:

Exceptions – When Relief Not Allowed for Ball Embedded in General Area: Relief under Rule 16.3b is not allowed:

When interference by anything other than the ball being embedded makes the stroke clearly unreasonable (for example, when a player is unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush).

This is a common bit of fine print with many free relief situations.

Does this prohibit relief only if no shot is reasonable?

So if I would punch out sideways (were the ball not embedded) from that location, does that allow me to take relief?

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

(edited)
22 minutes ago, Asheville said:

The Rule says, as you seem to know:

Exceptions – When Relief Not Allowed for Ball Embedded in General Area: Relief under Rule 16.3b is not allowed:

When interference by anything other than the ball being embedded makes the stroke clearly unreasonable (for example, when a player is unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush).

This is a common bit of fine print with many free relief situations.

The penalty is too harsh IMO.

I'm having formatting problems with my phone, I apologise.

Edited by JDgolf
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
24 minutes ago, JDgolf said:

The penalty is too harsh IMO.

There's no "penalty" here.

29 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Does this prohibit relief only if no shot is reasonable?

So if I would punch out sideways (were the ball not embedded) from that location, does that allow me to take relief?

Correct. If you have ANY reasonable shot, you're entitled to take relief.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

30 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Does this prohibit relief only if no shot is reasonable?

So if I would punch out sideways (were the ball not embedded) from that location, does that allow me to take relief?

Yes.  Just because you don’t have a perfect shot, doesn’t mean that some reasonable shot wouldn’t be available to you.

A punch out would be reasonable and therefore, entitled to relief.

 Edited to add that @iacas beat me to it.

Edited by David in FL

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Yes.  Just because you don’t have a perfect shot, doesn’t mean that some reasonable shot wouldn’t be available to you.

A punch out would be reasonable and therefore, entitled to relief.

 Edited to add that @iacas beat me to it.

 

10 minutes ago, iacas said:

There's no "penalty" here.

Correct. If you have ANY reasonable shot, you're entitled to take relief.

Okay, good. @JDgolf and @Asheville seemed to be implying that any interference by the tree prevented taking relief.

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
7 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Okay, good. @JDgolf and @Asheville seemed to be implying that any interference by the tree prevented taking relief.

That's not what @Asheville posted.

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

When interference by anything other than the ball being embedded makes the stroke clearly unreasonable (for example, when a player is unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush).

If your ball is embedded and under a bush or something where you can't make a reasonable shot if it wasn't embedded, you don't get relief. There are plenty of options if your ball is behind a tree or if something might interfere with your stance or swing. They may not be in the direction you prefer, but being able to chip backwards or sideways is still a reasonable stroke, so you're allowed to take relief from a ball embedded in that situation.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just to reinforce iacas's point.

If a chip sideways is the reasonable shot you would have played if the ball had not been embedded and you drop in the relief area, you do not have to play a chip.

If you now have a good lie and view, you may play a wood to the green if you wish.

Edited by Rulesman
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Rulesman said:

Just to reinforce iacas's point.

If a chip sideways is the reasonable shot you would have played if the ball had not been embedded and you drop in the relief area, you do not have to play a chip.

If you now have a good lie and view, you may play a wood to the green if you wish.

Another way to say this, once you have completed taking relief within the rules, you're basically starting over.  You make your decisions based only on the current position of the ball, not on the (completely legal) drop that brought you to that position.

  • Like 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have a question about this section of the rule

Does this mean that if it's a wet day and I hit a dead straight drive down the middle of the fairway, watch it land in the middle of the fairway but then get up there and can't find the ball because it presumably plugged, that I would be entitled to a free drop since I would be virtually certain that the ball came to rest in an abnormal course condition being plugged?

Quote

If a player’s ball has not been found and it is known or virtually certain that the ball came to rest in or on an abnormal course condition on the course, the player may use this relief option instead of taking stroke-and-distance relief:

But if it is not known or virtually certain that the ball came to rest in or on an abnormal course condition and the ball is lost, the player must take stroke-and-distanceStroke and Distance: The procedure and penalty when a player takes relief under Rules 17, 18 or 19 by playing a ball from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6).

 

Driver: :callaway: Epic Flash Sub Zero
Woods:  :ping: G425 3Wood:ping: G410 3 Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  2018 Select Fastback
Ball: :tmade: TP5x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator

@klineka is an embedded ball an ACC?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, iacas said:

@klineka is an embedded ball an ACC?

Ah, it appears not.

I just didn't keep scrolling down on rule 16 to the embedded ball section. :doh:


FYI for anyone else that might come across this, the 4 ACCs are

Animal Hole, Ground Under Repair, Immovable Obstruction, and Temporary Water

Driver: :callaway: Epic Flash Sub Zero
Woods:  :ping: G425 3Wood:ping: G410 3 Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  2018 Select Fastback
Ball: :tmade: TP5x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, klineka said:

I have a question about this section of the rule

Does this mean that if it's a wet day and I hit a dead straight drive down the middle of the fairway, watch it land in the middle of the fairway but then get up there and can't find the ball because it presumably plugged, that I would be entitled to a free drop since I would be virtually certain that the ball came to rest in an abnormal course condition being plugged?

You'd have to look at the definition of abnormal course condition.  An embedded ball doesn't qualify on its own, but a ball embedded in temporary water could.

Quote

Abnormal Course Condition

An animal hole, ground under repair, an immovable obstruction, or temporary water.

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

You'd have to look at the definition of abnormal course condition.  An embedded ball doesn't qualify on its own, but a ball embedded in temporary water could.

 

It’s also worth noting that a hole caused by any animal is now considered an ACC.  Previously only that caused by a burrowing animal so qualified.  A significant change...

  • Informative 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

(edited)

But I've given it some thought and still don't agree.

 

"When interference by anything other than the ball being embedded makes the 
stroke clearly unreasonable (for example, when a player is unable to make a stroke
because of where the ball lies in a bush"

 

This doesn't imply a completely unplayable ball. And let's say it did. What exactly are you talking advantage of by unplugging it? You still have to take an unplayable. It makes no sense to add this exception.

Edited by JDgolf
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • iacas locked this topic
Note: This thread is 1215 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...