26 posts / 1631 viewsLast Reply

I've been carrying a left-handed Cleveland niblick for several years.  It is good for 100 yards max and I use it whenever circumstances prohibit playing a right-handed shot.  The idea was (and still is) that advancing the ball is preferable to taking a drop.  

P.S.  It has 42 degrees of loft and I do chip with it...just not very often.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I am impressed that you can hit a wedge 100 yards left handed.  I would be lucky if I could just punch it out of trouble left handed.  I am very seriously right handed and doing anything lefty is a mission for me.

If you can hit decent shots left handed, perhaps you should consider getting a hybrid, mid iron and your existing wedge into the bag.  You will then be able to hit decent shots from anywhere left handed.

2 hours ago, pganapathy said:

I am impressed that you can hit a wedge 100 yards left handed.  I would be lucky if I could just punch it out of trouble left handed.  I am very seriously right handed and doing anything lefty is a mission for me.

Note that the club Piz is referencing has 42 degrees of loft, which is about a 9 iron in a GI set. 

Planning to try a cleveland smart sole out soon. My chipping need to be foolproofed. Practise fine but on the course mental blocks and the fear of duffing make me duff or hit the ball across the green in fear. I have a dirt cheap chipper I experimented with before and it works on decent lies and produce better results then good chips with the putting stroke.  Pitches is fine there you can have somewhat of a natural swing and just use the club weight to direct where to hit the ball. I do hope the weight of the smart sole make it´s range far superior to my old chipper and a bit less then a one trick pony.

2 minutes ago, knott said: