Jump to content
IGNORED

Opponent Did Not Know Stroke and Distance Rule


Recommended Posts

47 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

So you go up the snakes and down the ladders? Don't try that with my grandkids.

Ha, that's funny. Here in the US we call it "Shoots and Ladders". 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
12 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Ha, that's funny. Here in the US we call it "Shoots and Ladders". 

Thanks to Milton Bradley.

It's a really old Indian (as in Asia Indian) game also known as Moksha Patam.

Oh yeah. It's Chutes and Ladders. Like down the chute. Less moralistic or something like that.

Edited by mcanadiens
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

19 minutes ago, iacas said:

Ummmm… 😉

Shoots and ladders..... it's like "He shoots and scores!" or "He shoots and ladders!" 

 

Okay, I'm an idiot. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 4 weeks later...
On 5/26/2021 at 10:45 AM, ChetlovesMer said:

I just assume everyone "wants" to play by the rules..... am I wrong? 

I have encountered much reluctance to play by USGA rules that make the game "too hard". Examples are no automatic two-putts on temporary greens, balls that are lost because they embedded are still lost, bare ground is not GUR, mud is not temporary water, penalty relief area may be on a cart path, no relief from divots, no relief from boundary fence, no line of play relief from immovable obstructions, etc. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, reidsou said:

I have encountered much reluctance to play by USGA rules that make the game "too hard".

Golf is just a difficult game because of the required precision needed to hit strait-isn shots when the downswing is a fraction of a second in duration. 

Golf rule are made because they are fair and for the most part simple to understand. This means, there are not 100 different situations for one rule. Which is good. None of your examples are anything to complain about regarding the rules. Honestly, you don't encounter those situations that much to say it make golf excessively hard. 

  • Thumbs Up 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 months later...

Was searching the TST site for any discussions related to "temporary greens" and how they are to be played and came across this thread.  Good discussion on stroke and distance penalty.  I have used it a number of times against myself when my tee shot is water bound or lost in the woods bound.  I have yet to play in any regular league action but rather limited to rounds with friends/family and the once a month men's group from church round of best ball (where penalty strokes are never in play, shoot even sand traps are not in play as someone always has a ball that is not in one).  Now back to my search on temporary greens as the course I have been playing as two greens that they are working to restore and has temporary greens cut in front of the regular greens.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
33 minutes ago, WillieT said:

Now back to my search on temporary greens as the course I have been playing as two greens that they are working to restore and has temporary greens cut in front of the regular greens.  

In my mind, I'd treat a hole with a temporary green as a hole not played.  For Handicap Purposes, that means you'd record par plus any handicap strokes to be applied.  Based on your post, I'm not sure you keep a handicap, so maybe that's not really useful. 

From a "rules" standpoint, you simply count strokes until you hole the ball, temporary greens or not.  But your league or your group of buddies might decide to limit you to 2 putts on each temp green, or the golf course itself might provide some guidance.

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

... But your league or your group of buddies might decide to limit you to 2 putts on each temp green...

(We're off the thread topic?)

I mentioned automatic two putt "local rule' as an example of "making golf easier" that does not follow the rules - not approved by the USGA because it violates rule 1.1, the most basic rule of golf.  

I agree with the rest:

30 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In my mind, I'd treat a hole with a temporary green as a hole not played.  For Handicap Purposes, that means you'd record par plus any handicap strokes to be applied.  Based on your post, I'm not sure you keep a handicap, so maybe that's not really useful. 

From a "rules" standpoint, you simply count strokes until you hole the ball, temporary greens or not.  

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
26 minutes ago, reidsou said:

(We're off the thread topic?)

You're right, we can stop here, or start another thread if interested.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

In my mind, I'd treat a hole with a temporary green as a hole not played.  For Handicap Purposes, that means you'd record par plus any handicap strokes to be applied.  Based on your post, I'm not sure you keep a handicap, so maybe that's not really useful. 

From a "rules" standpoint, you simply count strokes until you hole the ball, temporary greens or not.  But your league or your group of buddies might decide to limit you to 2 putts on each temp green, or the golf course itself might provide some guidance.

Thanks @DaveP043 - only keeping the handicap via the tracking on the Garmin Approach S20.  So it’s not any official handicap.  The reason for the pondering has to do with a comment a member, that once he landed on the temp green he picked up his ball and counted 2 strokes and moved on.  I need to talk to the course folks and see what the local rule is.  I know they have a cup cut at each hole so it may be up to the individual or group.  

Edited by WillieT
Grammar
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

In my mind, I'd treat a hole with a temporary green as a hole not played.  For Handicap Purposes, that means you'd record par plus any handicap strokes to be applied.  Based on your post, I'm not sure you keep a handicap, so maybe that's not really useful. 

From a "rules" standpoint, you simply count strokes until you hole the ball, temporary greens or not.  But your league or your group of buddies might decide to limit you to 2 putts on each temp green, or the golf course itself might provide some guidance.

Why would you treat a temporary green differently from the Rules point of view and for handicap purposes?

Our version of WHS says that a score is valid if there are no more than one temp green per 9 holes and the overall measure of the course is not reduced more than 50 meters from the nominal value per 9 holes. Thus you play the course as laid out and count your strokes like any other time.

Edited by Ruler
Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 9/3/2021 at 1:12 AM, Ruler said:

Our version of WHS says that a score is valid if there are no more than one temp green per 9 holes and the overall measure of the course is not reduced more than 50 meters from the nominal value per 9 holes. Thus you play the course as laid out and count your strokes like any other time.

Are you sure that is in WHS?

Appendix G of The Rules of Handicapping addresses temporary course changes. Section 3.2 addresses what to do if a hole is not played. I do not see that temporary greens are directly addressed in either. 

My understanding is that the Rules of Handicapping are the comprehensive rules of the WHS. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 5/13/2021 at 1:04 PM, ChetlovesMer said:

"Yeah, I know, I'm just going to drop up where it went out and take a stroke." He repeats. 

Any chance he's confused about the new local rule option for OB?

Quote

New rule: A new local rule was introduced with the newest edition of the Rules of Golf when they were released in 2019. The new stroke-and-distance local rule allows players the option of dropping in the fairway if they so choose. Players must find where their ball went out of bounds and create an imaginary perpendicular to the fairway, no closer to the hole. From there, you can now drop anywhere within two club-lengths behind the line. The next shot will be your fourth.

From Golf Magazine's Rules School

He might not realize that the shot - after his drop on edge of fairway - will be his fourth.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, WUTiger said:

Any chance he's confused about the new local rule option for OB?

He might not realize that the shot - after his drop on edge of fairway - will be his fourth.

I don't think so. We were specifically given a rules sheet which stressed that this rule is NOT in effect for our league. I am pretty sure he simply didn't know the out of bounds rule vs the lateral hazard rule. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 9/4/2021 at 8:18 PM, reidsou said:

Are you sure that is in WHS?

Appendix G of The Rules of Handicapping addresses temporary course changes. Section 3.2 addresses what to do if a hole is not played. I do not see that temporary greens are directly addressed in either. 

My understanding is that the Rules of Handicapping are the comprehensive rules of the WHS. 

I checked it and I had mixed that up with the previous handicap system. Indeed there is no mentioning of temporary greens in the WHS. Then I called our NA and asked what is the role of a TG. The answer was that they are regarded as normal greens and ball is to be played into the hole. That is how we do it here in Finland.

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 9/9/2021 at 7:04 PM, ChetlovesMer said:

don't think so. We were specifically given a rules sheet which stressed that this rule is NOT in effect for our league

That's understandable. Our league uses it for one-day medal play matches, but not in our annual championships.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo after clicking this link. For Mevo+, click this link or the image above.
  • Posts

    • The guy pretty much knows what he's doing.  But as you said, possibly not for us mere mortals.  Though I do use this swing sometimes in the wind.  And I'm as mortal as anyone...
    • From what I've heard him say in interviews, it comes from the fact that he drills loads of punch shots, and it just kind of stuck in the full swing... It does work for him and I assume his coaching staff are cool with it, but I'm fully invested in the idea that what works for pros might not be a good idea for the rest of us mortals. I've seen some coaches say that working on post-impact positions (such as "straighten your arms in the follow-through") can lead to tension, which can be harmful. I certainly notice some tension when doing this finish in a full swing (it feels as if I need to decelerate the club more consciously),  but at first glance it hasn't had any negative effect on my shots, but rather the opposite...
    • Looks good to me too. It obviously works well for him. I suppose it keeps the ball under the wind better for those European courses?  I happen to like his putting grip as well….I’ve adapted it lately
    • I really like Tommy Fleetwood's three-quarter finish, both aesthetically and in terms of the feeling of control it provides. I haven't found any good technical discussions on potential trade-offs and risks. My current instructor is not against it, but he hasn't elaborated on the topic.  I plan to do a little statistical experiment where I try a three-quarter vs. a full finish at the range. In the meantime, what are your thoughts?
    • It's not the handicaps we're concerned about....we know that's going to be accurate. It's the weekly and overall year-end competition we're concerned about. We're thinking average scores will be artificially lower than they actually should be. Players just turn in their gross scores and the software does all the calculating after someone (meaning me) plugs in everyone's gross scores hole by hole. There's no way 99% of these guys would be able to figure out which holes they get strokes on and how many. Since I'm considered the numbers guru, I'm the one elected to figure this stuff out and will ultimately be the one who makes the decision (and get the bitching afterwards). I'm leaning towards agreeing with @iacas though.   
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bm85
      bm85
      (36 years old)
    2. canadianpro
      canadianpro
      (76 years old)
    3. deryl50
      deryl50
      (54 years old)
    4. Facialman
      Facialman
      (74 years old)
    5. lowtidecharters
      lowtidecharters
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...