IGNORED

"Power Golf" by Ben Hogan

iacas
Note: This thread is 2354 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

• Administrator
Discuss "Power Golf" by Ben Hogan here.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I read the paperback, but saw from online reviews that the hardcover was better, especially the illustrations. I am new to golf, but noticed that some of the content was outdated, especially in reference to equipment. The swing mechanics he suggests differ from other books I've read and what I've been taught by my instructor but I'm not close to being expert enough to know if that's a flaw in his teaching or just another swing philosophy. When it comes to instructional books I tend to look for books from good authors with publication dates that are fairly current so I could be biased since this book is 20 years old.

Joe Paradiso

My only comment would be that the author of that book had the following statistics / honors to back up his writings: Which is hard to say for modern day books written by golf pros and instructors...

In 292 career PGA Tour events, Ben Hogan finished in the Top 3 in 47.6-percent of them . He finished in the Top 10 in 241 (82.5 percent) of those 292 events.
Tour Victories:
Major Championships:
• Masters: 1951, 1953
• U.S. Open: 1948, 1950, 1951, 1953
• British Open: 1953
• PGA Championship: 1946, 1948
Awards and Honors:
• Member, World Golf Hall of Fame