Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Scaramanger

What's the greatest hole in one ever?

22 posts in this topic

Hello to everyone,

I'm brand new on this forum and I'm also brand new to golf - so hello everybody. I'm not very good at golf yet but that doesn't matter as I enjoy it so much. I can't believe how addictive this game is.

Anyway, I've been watching a few golf videos lately to give me some inspiration and wondered if you experienced golfers have opinions on:

What is the greatest hole in one of all time.

I remember when i was young I watched Jack Nicklaus on the TV knock in a few goodies from distance.

Anyway, I hope this question doesn't open up too much of a can of worms as I'm sure there will be lots of differing opinions out there. May be this site should conduct a survey or something.

Well, over to you guys now

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Well I would say it would be Scott McCarron's HIO right after Lee Jansen holed his:

I can't remember what year it was I think it was 1999. For someone to step up and knock one in on top of your playing partner after all that excitement etc is just amazing.

The one by Byrd to win a PGA Tour event in a playoff.

/thread.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The Byrd Ace is awesome, but one of my favorites is Fuzzy Zoeller's from a few years back:

Tiger Woods on 16 at the Phoenix Open on Superbowl Sunday was pretty cool.

I like Zoeller's best. It's so unexpected.

Byrd's was great timing, though. I can just imagine his opponent learning about the hole-and-one and being incredulous, thinking "of all the times to have your opponent get an ace..." During regulation it's just a couple strokes fewer. During a playoff, it's game-over.

The one by Byrd to win a PGA Tour event in a playoff.

No doubt about it. Nothing says,

I WIN , like an ace on a play off hole with two fellow competitors. -Dan