• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CallawayGolf25

Don't you hate losing a ball after putting it in-play?

23 posts in this topic

I went out yesterday, had a fairly decent round going considering it's the beginning of the season (ground's still really wet and greens are like putting on carpet)... but I was on a par 5, hit an alright drive, had a couple trees to deal with but was in position to reach the green in 2, hit my second shot, bailing out right a little bit because there was trouble on the left... It was a well struck shot, and then I walk up and can't find the ball!

Maybe it was the wet ground, or the fact that the ground was pretty bad and littered with leaves and sticks, or some combination of the 3, but I should have been up by the green and was hoping for a Birdie chance... I eventually just took a drop.

What do you personally do when this happens out on the course? Do you take a penalty stroke or take a free drop? Either way, I hate these scenarios! lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Terrible pain in the A. I take the drop. But man does it piss me off.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I take a one stroke penalty and replay the shot from the same location that I just played from.  The penalty for a lost ball (not in a water hazard) is stroke and distance.

And yes, I HATE it when that happens!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I hate it. Played a couple of weeks ago somewhere and lost 6 balls that way. They even plugged deep in the fairway. Stopped counting and didn't take penalty stroke and distance.

When I'm playing for handicap or when there is something at stake, I go back and take the penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

I take a one stroke penalty and replay the shot from the same location that I just played from.  The penalty for a lost ball (not in a water hazard) is stroke and distance.

And yes, I HATE it when that happens!



I had no idea you had to go back to the point where you played your shot... That sucks! ...especially when the ball should be in plain sight!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A lost ball is the same as hitting out of bounds. If you can't locate your ball, or aren't virtually certain it's in a water hazard, it's lost. If its lost, you must replay the shot from the spot you previously hit from, under penalty of 1 stroke.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by MyrtleBeachGolf

A lost ball is the same as hitting out of bounds. If you can't locate your ball, or aren't virtually certain it's in a water hazard, it's lost. If its lost, you must replay the shot from the spot you previously hit from, under penalty of 1 stroke.

if you played in the crap we are forced to play in the mid-atlantic you would reevaluate that comment. i understand you are, to the letter of the law, correct. that being said nobody to the best of my knowledge is posting rounds where this is an issue...typically we play lift clean in place when the balls are plugging so the rounds don't get posted. it is not a matter of following rules it is a matter of playing conditions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Years ago in maybe my second year of playing I hit the first 250+ yard drive of my life on the very first day the course we were playing opened.  I hit it smack down the center of the fairway, a perfect drive.  And it was lost.  Reason:  the fairway was under the shadows of some tall old trees and there was a 100 yard long patch of snow covering more than half of the width of the fairway that the sun had never melted.  I'm sure the following day once the snow melted someone must have wondered why there was a new ball lying out in the middle of the fairway.  My friends with whom I was playing all agreed the ball would be 100% findable in the fairway but for the snow and told me to take a free drop on the non-snow-covered portion of the fairway.

A couple of times I've hit really well-struck tee shots that absolutely hit and stayed in the fairway, but were lost in mounds of leaves.  Leaves during the fall out in the rough under trees or divots in the fairways are naturally-occuring obstacles in the game of golf, same as a purpose-built water hazard.  But a damn 40' diameter pile of leaves in the middle of a fairway is simply poor maintenance and I should not have to be penalized because the groundskeepers did not keep the course clear.  Those couple of times I've dropped and not taken a penalty stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by David in FL

I take a one stroke penalty and replay the shot from the same location that I just played from.  The penalty for a lost ball (not in a water hazard) is stroke and distance.

And yes, I HATE it when that happens!

Really?  Hypothetically: it's a Saturday morning, casual round, a busy and full course, you hit a nice 2nd shot on a par 5 that has no hazards, no OB, and you can clearly see whereabout it should have ended up just short of the green, so no reason whatsoever to hit a provisional, you get up there and can't find it, and by the time you are done looking the group behind you has reached their balls back in the fairway, and the group behind them is pulling up onto the tee ... do you really (I mean seriously, being 100% honest, not just "those are the rules and this is the internet, and you can't prove me wrong"), really, drive/walk back there and re-hit?

I gotta say, if the answer to that is yes, then if/when I ever play golf with you (I'd like to think our TST Socal events will expand ;)) and that happens ... it will be the first time I've ever come across somebody doing that when not playing in a tournament.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Really?  Hypothetically: it's a Saturday morning, casual round, a busy and full course, you hit a nice 2nd shot on a par 5 that has no hazards, no OB, and you can clearly see whereabout it should have ended up just short of the green, so no reason whatsoever to hit a provisional, you get up there and can't find it, and by the time you are done looking the group behind you has reached their balls back in the fairway, and the group behind them is pulling up onto the tee ... do you really (I mean seriously, being 100% honest, not just "those are the rules and this is the internet, and you can't prove me wrong"), really, drive/walk back there and re-hit?

I gotta say, if the answer to that is yes, then if/when I ever play golf with you (I'd like to think our TST Socal events will expand ;)) and that happens ... it will be the first time I've ever come across somebody doing that when not playing in a tournament.

well said

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you played in the crap we are forced to play in the mid-atlantic you would reevaluate that comment. i understand you are, to the letter of the law, correct. that being said nobody to the best of my knowledge is posting rounds where this is an issue...typically we play lift clean in place when the balls are plugging so the rounds don't get posted. it is not a matter of following rules it is a matter of playing conditions.

I lived in and played golf in upstate NY for the first 20 years of my life. I know what spring golf in the Mid-Atlantic is like. My fault for not quoting CallawayGolf25 in my previous post. He said he didn't know you had to take a stroke and distance penalty for a list ball and I was merely explaining the rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Embedded ball? Happened to me a few times last summer after a night of heavy watering. I wouldn't have found it had I not been certain where I saw it land. The hole where it went through the turf was small.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Really?  Hypothetically: it's a Saturday morning, casual round, a busy and full course, you hit a nice 2nd shot on a par 5 that has no hazards, no OB, and you can clearly see whereabout it should have ended up just short of the green, so no reason whatsoever to hit a provisional, you get up there and can't find it, and by the time you are done looking the group behind you has reached their balls back in the fairway, and the group behind them is pulling up onto the tee ... do you really (I mean seriously, being 100% honest, not just "those are the rules and this is the internet, and you can't prove me wrong"), really, drive/walk back there and re-hit? I gotta say, if the answer to that is yes, then if/when I ever play golf with you (I'd like to think our TST Socal events will expand ;)) and that happens ... it will be the first time I've ever come across somebody doing that when not playing in a tournament.

Happened in my game yesterday....to the guy I was playing with. Match play. He simply conceded the hole and we moved on. If he had chosen to continue the hole, he would have gone back. Unless I'm playing in a stroke play tournament, I play virtually 100% match play games with my happy little group.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

Happened in my game yesterday....to the guy I was playing with. Match play. He simply conceded the hole and we moved on. If he had chosen to continue the hole, he would have gone back.

Unless I'm playing in a stroke play tournament, I play virtually 100% match play games with my happy little group.

OK, gotcha.  Your rounds are all some sort of competition, so that makes sense. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hate it when it happens!! Especially with a pushy marshall nearby.

Worst i've had was a really wet course last year.. one hole there was 2-3 inches of wall on a good 100 yard stretch of fairway... managed to hit in somewhere in the middle.. ended up with wet socks/shoes and no ball!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

OK, gotcha.  Your rounds are all some sort of competition, so that makes sense. :)

Any time I play golf with a buddy, it's a competition......and unless it's a tournament, it's always some form of match play.  I don't think I've played a round in the last 20 years that didn't have something riding on it.  Maybe just a cold one after the round, but golf, like pool, was made for a bit of a wager to keep the juices flowing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't keep track of a handicap and other than the little money game I play in on Saturdays every round I play is just for fun. When the round is over I know what I shot by how many birdies and bogeys I made, and I know if I had a lost ball without a provisional I don't actually have "a score" because there's not a chance in the world I'm going back to the tee on a public course for a round that means absolutely nothing. If somebody were to ask what I shot (if I lost a ball without a provisional) I would say I didn't keep score or didn't have a score.

We don't have the luxury of spotters with a pocketful of flags to run over and mark our ball when it lands like the pros do, or the time to go back to the tee and hit it again, or play on courses where there isn't a blade of grass out of place. The rest of us deal with overgrown Bermuda rough and 6 inches of leaves lining the fairways.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I had a hard time doing the hip thing. What happened was starting the swing with the arms. Now I start my swing by literally attacking with my right shoulder to the ball and just ignoring the club, hands, arms. The effect is, the hip is pushed out of the way, it just has to anatomically, the right elbow comes in before the body and you get in a position where you can give it smack with the right side.  So yes for me it is a start with the upper body the thing that is said to be a nono.  Its really just an approach from the other side to clear the hips. Worth a try. I love it.
    • When you say with the right shoulder you mean staying connected with the hips though? Not rotating the uper body 1st right? I really struggle with the legs / knees doing what they're supposed to.
    • Ok. I think I made big progress now. I practised swinging with speed yesterday (without hitting the ball) and measuring club head speed. What I noticed is that rotating my hips and body faster did nothing for speed. But keeping my wrists and arms loose and do everything from there gave at least 10 mph more speed. Also I worked on my timing. I measured 80 with my 7 iron, and around 85 with my 5. Could not measure my driver at home though. Today at the range I hit the ball around 200-220 yards with my seven iron which is pretty insane compared to how far hit it before. I was doing this on hard practise mats though. So on the fairway this might be less. Also I used a lot of lag. So my 7 iron probably behaved more like 6 or even 5 iron. Ok. Now for the driver. I did some corrections to my hand position and stance. No slice anymore which of course makes the ball flight straighter and longer. I hit is pretty consistently 220 yards. Which is pretty interesting since this is NOT a lot of longer than I hit my 7 iron. I also tried my Hybrid (its like a 4 iron) but did only gain about 10m of distance and more much inconsistent shots. Now I took your advice and tried a 3 wood. Wow you were right. I hit the ball 240 yards.  Whats is all means to me that I could probably hit the driver 250 yards or more but at the moment I still have a swing problem with this. I should mention that I use a very cheap driver from a complete Wilson set (whole set around $300). Maybe my timing with arms and wirst are just wrong with the driver.  Could also be the driver itself. But I doubt it since I hit the 3 wood from the same Wilson set much longer it seems.
    • do the hipslide by attacking with right shoulder, some find it easier. Try it it also presses the hip away just passively. 
    • Hopefully won't get into trouble for bumping an older thread but this is awesome. I'm working on hipslide, infact I'm obsessed with hipslide. I'm a s&t player so the hipslide is key part of the process for me at the moment. Any of you high HC players onto any feelings that help you get this down?  Finding it so hard to nail. I'm a feeling player and the info the coach has given me all makes total sense but unless I can get a feeling to work towards its hit and miss.  Cheers. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dresilved
      Dresilved
      (51 years old)
    2. kpetrina
      kpetrina
      (24 years old)
    3. Luana
      Luana
      (38 years old)
  • Blog Entries