• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
trackster

Two Holes cut in the Green - Which to Play To?

32 posts in this topic

Today my home course had a scramble to support the local high school athletic booster.  Later that night me and my friend went out to get 9 in before dark.  We got through the first 9 pretty fast and I decided to go solo onto the back 9.  After 5 holes though It started to get too dark so I started to walk back to the club house.  As I am walking by hole 16 I see that there are still 2 pins in the green from the scramble this morning.

Had I gotten to this hole, what is the ruling?  Can you play to either pin?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

At some Scottish course, 1 pin would be for hole on the outward 9 (i.e. #7) and the other for the inward 9 (i.e. 16)...no idea in your case, but if it was me, I would just pick 1 as soon as I noticed that there were two and play to the one I picked.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, what mefree said.  I've played a few 9 hole courses that were set up for 18 with 2 pins on each green.  Play the white ones the first time through and the green ones the next time through.  In this case, as long as you chose a specific pin as soon as you noticed it, then you're fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The Elks Club near my house sports a huge.... Huge green with two holes for two different holes. Works well. I played a course near Port Huron Friday that actually had two different greens for the same hole. One played a par 4,the other a par 5.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Agree with MEfree.

There used to be a course in the Greater Houston area (long gone now because of airport) that had 2 holes cut into some greens.  There would only be one flag out for those holes.  The idea was that you would play to the one with the flag and when you left the green, you would place the flag into the other cup.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe I'm missing something, but why where there two pins? From your post, it sounds like this was an 18 hole course. Was it a gimmick for the tournament?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As stated by rule 101-9-b you play whichever hole is closest to your approach shot

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe I'm missing something, but why where there two pins? From your post, it sounds like this was an 18 hole course. Was it a gimmick for the tournament?

I've seen reference to a 'fun' variation where multiple (upto 3) holes are made on each green counting different points for different coloured flags.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Quote:

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

Maybe I'm missing something, but why where there two pins? From your post, it sounds like this was an 18 hole course. Was it a gimmick for the tournament?

I've seen reference to a 'fun' variation where multiple (upto 3) holes are made on each green counting different points for different coloured flags.

I played in a tournament that had something similar, except only one hole had a flag in it and you could play to any of them. I could only imagine the debate that would ensue if someone made a "hole in one" in that tournament.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

I played in a tournament that had something similar, except only one hole had a flag in it and you could play to any of them. I could only imagine the debate that would ensue if someone made a "hole in one" in that tournament.

No debate. It would be a hole in one-third.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

No debate. It would be a hole in one-third.

Or one-third hole in one?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I seem to recall that there are courses where some of the greens were "shared" by two holes. I don't know what the rules would be in that scenario. It could lead to a real donnybrook if two players from different tees happened to land on the green at the same time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Hacker James

I seem to recall that there are courses where some of the greens were "shared" by two holes. I don't know what the rules would be in that scenario. It could lead to a real donnybrook if two players from different tees happened to land on the green at the same time.

Do you mean a green with only one hole cut in it that's shared by two holes? I don't think I've ever seen that (apart from on a 9 hole course).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I seem to recall that there are courses where some of the greens were "shared" by two holes. I don't know what the rules would be in that scenario. It could lead to a real donnybrook if two players from different tees happened to land on the green at the same time.

One of the features of St Andrews Old Course are the large double greens. Seven greens are shared by two holes each, with hole numbers adding up to 18 (2nd paired with 16th, 3rd with 15th, all the way up to 8th and 10th).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agree with MEfree. There used to be a course in the Greater Houston area (long gone now because of airport) that had 2 holes cut into some greens.  There would only be one flag out for those holes.  The idea was that you would play to the one with the flag and when you left the green, you would place the flag into the other cup.

Same here on a course on Long Island quite a few years ago. Mostly on the smaller greens that would spread out the wear and tear over the course of the day. There WAS a local rule that stated if you holed out to the unflagged hole, it did count. It was mostly on weekends when it was busy. And before it went private and didn't matter anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

Do you mean a green with only one hole cut in it that's shared by two holes? I don't think I've ever seen that (apart from on a 9 hole course).

I don't remember whether or not there were one or two holes

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Hacker James

Quote:

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

Do you mean a green with only one hole cut in it that's shared by two holes? I don't think I've ever seen that (apart from on a 9 hole course).

I don't remember whether or not there were one or two holes

I've played several courses with shared greens, in the sense that there are two holes cut in one large green. But I've never seen shared greens with only one hole cut. I would be really curious to know if there are any.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

i came across this today - each green had two holes cut into the green, one with a flag in it and the other without a flag. these weren't "shared" greens, but it was a nine-hole course. i'm assuming they didn't replug the old holes when they cut the new one since all the grass is still dormant? i really have no idea.

the question is, what happens when/if your ball finds its way to the hole w/o a pin in it? do you remove it from the hole and place it in a position no closer to the actual pin, but in a manner that ensures that the old hole isn't in your line of play? i would assume that to be the case, since it is a man-made, immovable obstruction.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • 9/26 - kettle bell & cable column work for core strength and weight shift work. Slow swings with 8i. Hope to play 9 holes this morning, time permitting.
    • It was fun to watch, Rory slowly moving up the leaderboard and with Chappell becoming a bit nervy on the final holes, Rory made it into a playoff. Rory didn't take full advantage of his shots on the par 5, and on the 15th I thought he had lost it. But great putts on the 15th and 16th to win in. What a fantastic golfer to watch, and he can smash the ball out there, almost hit his drive it in the lake on 18.
    • The length of the driving range is limited by houses and a road. So the ball flight is way shorter as with normal balls. So what reads 200 yards on the driving range in reality is much shorter. But I think this does not really matter for now. What I found out is the following. When doing my grip I twist my left wrist extremly to the right. At impact this delofts my clubs a big time. The head is very closed. The iron 7 I was talking about at least becomes an iron 4 loftwise ( i am judging this by eye on comparing to my other clubs). So now numbers maybe begin to make sense. Loftwise we are talking about an iron 4. What happens to the driver is that it even gets a negative loft which explains why balls just go up in the air with a very long tee. The 3 wood on the other hand gets the loft the driver should have. So this makes the longest shots. This is also explains why I had a very hard time hitting my hybrid. This hybrid (4 iron) becomes something like a club with loft 0.  So probably I am twisting my wrist to much ( there is a special term for this hand position which I don't remember). But this gives me 2 advantages. 1) I don't slice the ball with the driver 2) It is easier to hit down on the ball with the iron for me. Before this I had the wrist turned to the left (I think this is called neutral grip) which did not work at all for me. So I think in general this hand position helps a lot when not overdoing it. The V of the left hand index and middle finder should point to the right shoulder as far as I know. My V pointed right of my shoulder. I will tweak this position a bit. I think I am just overdoing it at the moment. I am pretty sure the iron 7 distance will get down when doing this and the driver distance will get up. We will see.
    • How many softball questions get lobbed at each candidate? How many times will Trump say "Believe me!" and "It's like incredible" the word "tremendous" and "Crooked Hillary" How many times Hillary will dance around the e-mail scandal? Will Hillary blow up? Will Hillary challenge Trump to do arithmetic? Or will that be out of bounds? It will be interesting to hear how lowering taxes on the rich and lowering corporate taxes will balance the budget - I've heard that whopper before. Will Trump challenge Hillary on the 2nd amendment? Will Hillary challenge Trump on his pandering to the religious right with the "freedom of speech and religion" proposal to allow discrimination against GLBT people.  Will either of them persuade me to not vote for Gary Johnson?
    • Haha, I've done that while walking.  The thing that made it embarrassing for me is I did it 2 or 3 times in the same round before I finally started catching myself.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CoachB25
      CoachB25
      (59 years old)
    2. Fsgolfer
      Fsgolfer
      (60 years old)
  • Blog Entries