That's what I wrote, yeah. If it's in two areas, the general area is last (i.e. if it's in the general area and any other area, it's treated as in the other area). The rest, @Darkfrog, follow the order: penalty area, bunker, putting green.
So a ball in the penalty area and a bunker is treated as being in the penalty area, not the bunker. Beach bunkers that feed down into water can be one situation, and putting greens with PA lines on them or which just fall off into a bunker (pretty rare, sure) would be another.
The Rules just establish the order, though, they don't say whether those situations exist. 🙂
I typed up my notes for Rule 3 yesterday but didn't copy them over here. I'll do that and Rule 4 today.
As good as @iacas's notes are, this is where we should go to the actual wording of the entire rule. Rule 2.2c talks about a situation where the ball is essentially on the line between two areas, part of the ball in each. The ball is always treated as being in one of the 5 areas, and the 2.2c determines which area's rules govern for a ball on the line.
4i sounds about right for me. I don’t run into too many long holes like this, but by coincidence I played one yesterday. Hit a decent drive and had 4i in, made nGIR and ended up with bogey.
I drive the ball poorly, though, so there are plenty of opportunities for me to hit 4i into greens even on short par 3s.
hi I’m having trouble hitting my irons either thinning it or chunking it
here’s a look at my swing and I would appreciate if you guys could tell me what I’m doing wrong
im an 11 handicap and have been playing for 9 years