Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rulesman

Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green

47 posts in this topic

http://www.pgatour.com/content/pgatour/tourreport/2014/08/22/noh-assessed-two-stroke-penalty-for-hitting-from-green.html

Quote:

PARAMUS, N.J. -- Seung-Yul Noh was assessed one of the more rare two-stroke penalties during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole from the third green.

Noh hit his tee shot so far right on the par 4 that it landed on the putting surface of the adjacent hole.

After waiting for the group on No. 3 to putt out, Noh hit his next shot from the green.

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player's ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

http://www.pgatour.com/content/pgatour/tourreport/2014/08/22/noh-assessed-two-stroke-penalty-for-hitting-from-green.html

Quote:

PARAMUS, N.J. -- Seung-Yul Noh was assessed one of the more rare two-stroke penalties during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole from the third green.

Noh hit his tee shot so far right on the par 4 that it landed on the putting surface of the adjacent hole.

After waiting for the group on No. 3 to putt out, Noh hit his next shot from the green.

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player's ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

Wow!  That is an easy one to remember.  Shame on him.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wow!  That is an easy one to remember.  Shame on him.

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I at least cringed when he took a divot!

Also the grounds crew got out the fancy equipment and mini green roller to help fix that. :-D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I at least cringed when he took a divot!

Also the grounds crew got out the fancy equipment and mini green roller to help fix that.

I would have been so freaked out at taking a swing on a green that I'd probably totally choke and take 13 inch divot that starts 7 inches behind the ball, or maybe even one of these classics:

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

Agreed the lack of knowledge of the caddy was surprising, but I'm not surprised about the announcers at all.  In general, there's a relationship:  the more vehemently an announcer argues about a rules issue, the more wrong he is about the actual rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

Agreed the lack of knowledge of the caddy was surprising, but I'm not surprised about the announcers at all.  In general, there's a relationship:  the more vehemently an announcer argues about a rules issue, the more wrong he is about the actual rule.


Too bad there's no little booklet, or maybe even a website or smartphone app, that could make this information available to those broadcasting. :-X

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As seldom as this happens, especially on the tour level,  I'm not surprised the golfers, caddies, or announcers did not know the rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As seldom as this happens, especially on the tour level,  I'm not surprised the golfers, caddies, or announcers did not know the rule.

I'm not surprised. the other day I heard a commentator (and ex PGA Tour winner and British Open playoff loser, Jack Newton) insisting that you get three drops before placing your ball if it rolls out of the legal range. He was very surprised when the player placed it after two drops, thinking there must have been a rule change. Amazing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Too bad there's no little booklet, or maybe even a website or smartphone app, that could make this information available to those broadcasting.

Far too sensible :-D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure.

I don't know how obscure it is, but virtually every golfer I ever played with was probably aware of it. Juniors tend to just try to hit the ball hard - so it often winds up on other greens. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure.

Obscure?

One need look no further than the Table of Contents.

Blimey, there it is in black and white ... Rule 25, Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball and Wrong Putting Green.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure.

Are you kidding?

Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you kidding? Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.

Well he obviously didn't Noh. Seung Yul just didn't Noh....I'm sorry, I really need to stop.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know how obscure it is, but virtually every golfer I ever played with was probably aware of it. Juniors tend to just try to hit the ball hard - so it often winds up on other greens. :)

Not sure if obscure was the right choice of word. I meant more common knowledge than anything.

Obscure?

One need look no further than the Table of Contents.

Blimey, there it is in black and white ... Rule 25, Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball and Wrong Putting Green.

Thank you for telling me nicely.

Originally Posted by Shorty

Are you kidding?

Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.

No, I wasn't kidding. I didn't know. How many players have you seen hit from the wrong green? I haven't ever experienced something like that happening, so I just assumed it was along the same lines of hitting onto a different holes fairway and the like.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well he obviously didn't Noh. Seung Yul just didn't Noh....I'm sorry, I really need to stop.

[quote name="RJH999" url="/t/76681/2014-barclays-discussion-thread/0_40#post_1044457"] OH NOH!...I'm sorry somebody had to do it.[/quote] *Crickets*

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • The most esoteric golf tournament name ever...
    • Hey all, we are off and running.  My #1 shot a 79 at a collegiate course where we played the "white tee positions" for the majority of the tournament.  She was working on an exceptional round when she triple bogeyed hole 18.  She is real long off of the tee.  She is rock solid on the green.  Word is finally out there about her and I've worked hard at getting her name in front of college coaches.  After this showing (2nd) she has received 5 emails from 5 colleges this week.  Tonight, she shot par on our home course.  That is a great feat since our course was under water a week ago.  The fairways are not good and there is now a lot of standing water and GUR.  The next golfer was 5 shots behind and she is the #1 for a traditionally state ranked team.  Unfortunately, the rest of my team didn't do so well.  We play tomorrow again. It will be a major chore.  These mosquitoes are gigantic.  I have welts all over me and I sprayed a couple of times.  My #2 shot a 51 and looks like she has hives.  Her mosquito repellent can was  empty and I didn't know it until she was on hole #5.  She said that she was playing in a cloud of mosquitoes.  Tonight, I had my wife go buy new Deep Woods Off for every player.  We will put a can in each player's bag.  I've never seen anything like this but the corn fields around the course are all still under water.  Some Notes: My golfers have a hard time learning how to line up their shots.  We work on various things but it doesn't sink in for some time. My players have swings that are too long.  Most look like John Daley and so, I have to help them control that back swing better.  We spend a lot of time working on putting and we putted really well tonight.  The problem is, we didn't get off the tee box in good fashion due to alignment.  We have trouble everywhere and our course is very tight.  My softball player turned golfer as a favor to me will play as #4 tomorrow.  She has played golf for exactly 2 weeks now.  We have trees everywhere.  I have to teach all of my players how to hit stingers low and long.  I have three players that can do so and draw the ball doing it.  We shot a 205 as a team tonight.  That isn't very good.  Tomorrow, we have to do a lot better.  (We still beat a couple of teams since the conditions were so bad.  It was also 100+ heat index)
    • Yeah, the ex-marshal did go a bit overboard. Not sure if he would have really pulled the trigger or not, though. One thing for sure, the thief will think twice before attempting to steal club again. In fact, anyone reading the article might give it a second thought.   That's kind of true.
    • I apologize guys....heres the video
    • I just can't narrow it down to one or two items... Stihl MS 180 chainsaw - 12 years of heavy use and it simply won't die. Even dropped an ash tree on it years ago. I have a larger Stihl but prefer to use the little fella. It may be starting to lose compression. If so, I'll buy the same model as a replacement. Carvin solid body electric. Love this guitar. I also have a Guild Starfire IV Semi-hollow body electric which is a beautiful instrument. I play the Carvin a lot more. iMac (purchased in 2007). I'd love to get a new Mac Mini, but this thing is still running strong going on 10 years - even if 60 fps, 1080 video doesn't run very well on it. Firearms and reloading equipment. All of it. Have to get back into reloading. 2004 Silverado 1500. The Northern Winters have taken a toll on her. Stays parked a lot now but is still my all-time favorite vehicle.   
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries