Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Ball Comes out when Pulling Pin


Note: This thread is 3966 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Hi rules query. I holed out chipping onto the green. I went to remove my ball and removed the pin flipping the ball out And then lifted the ball and replaced the pin. I was then told by my opponent that was a penalty stroke?

Posted
That is the strangest penalty I have ever heard of.. I'll wait to hear if anyone has another opinion.

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willg View Post

Hi rules query. I holed out chipping onto the green. I went to remove my ball and removed the pin flipping the ball out And then lifted the ball and replaced the pin. I was then told by my opponent that was a penalty stroke?

He'd be wrong.

Quote:
Holed

A ball is “ holed ” when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole .

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks that is what I said although they were insistent.

Always make them show you the rule in the rule book.  In this case the answer is right there in the definitions section as Bill posted.

And there is a whole series of decisions to the effect that once the ball is holed the hole is over.

Was the ball still rattling around in the cup all the while when you were walking up and taking out the stick?  Of course not.

Now if a little of the ball was above the level of the lip that would be a different story.  Then if you lifted the flag, and in the process expelled the ball without it ever coming to rest completely below the lip, then you have a problem.  If a little of the ball is above the lip because it is resting against the flagstick, what you ARE allowed to do is straighten the flagstick so the ball is no longer leaning on it, and if/when it drops in you are considered to have holed it with your prior stroke.

So unless you ball was not fully below the level of the lip when you removed the flagstick your playing partners are full of it.

But I will also add that it is bad form to flip the ball out of the hole with the flagstick.  You can damage the hole that way.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Thanks. The flagship has a little rim at the bottom and was pulled straight up. No likelihood of damaging the hole but comments are noted. Thanks

Posted

I've accidentally knocked the ball off the tee and replaced it and been told "that's three". That's BS, too.

If your ball is more than 50% over the edge of the hole leaning against the pin, under normal circumstances, laws of physics will hold that when you straighten the pin the ball will drop to the bottom of the hole, unless the green is muddy and the ball is adhering to it.

There is no penalty for doing what you did.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I've accidentally knocked the ball off the tee and replaced it and been told "that's three". That's BS, too..

I thought if the player caused his own ball to move then he must play as if he took a swing.. Why is it BS? Unless that's not the rule, maybe someone can clear this up.

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks. The flagship has a little rim at the bottom and was pulled straight up. No likelihood of damaging the hole but comments are noted. Thanks

To get the ball to move upwards you have to exert some sideways pressure. The liner will resist it but the 1" of earth above the liner may not, particularly if the earth is wet or crumbly dry.


Posted

I thought if the player caused his own ball to move then he must play as if he took a swing.. Why is it BS? Unless that's not the rule, maybe someone can clear this up.

When the ball is on the tee it is not yet in play. The rule about moving the ball only applies to a ball in play.

If you swing and miss the ball on the tee, that is a counting stroke.


Posted
When the ball is on the tee it is not yet in play. The rule about moving the ball only applies to a ball in play. If you swing and miss the ball on the tee, that is a counting stroke.

What about if I am taking a practice swing and I tip the ball? Or if I am just getting my arms loose before I take my swing and I tip it? Basically at what point is it determined to be put in play?

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Hi rules query. I holed out chipping onto the green. I went to remove my ball and removed the pin flipping the ball out And then lifted the ball and replaced the pin. I was then told by my opponent that was a penalty stroke?

This is one of the common rules myths.  Once the ball is holed by definition (see the post under yours), the hole is finished, and the ball is out of play until you hit from the the next tee.  Since the ball is holed and your play for that hole is over, the act of removing the flagstick before removing the ball cannot cause a penalty.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

When the ball is on the tee it is not yet in play. The rule about moving the ball only applies to a ball in play.

If you swing and miss the ball on the tee, that is a counting stroke.

What about if I am taking a practice swing and I tip the ball? Or if I am just getting my arms loose before I take my swing and I tip it? Basically at what point is it determined to be put in play?

The ball is put in play when a stroke is made on the teeing ground, and it remains in play until lifted or holed.  A stroke is the forward movement of the club with the intent of striking the ball.  There is no intent in a practice swing or a waggle.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

From Definitions.

Holed

A ball is “holed” when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

No penalty since the hole was over.

See post #3


Posted

See post #3

Sorry.  Read your first quote block and skipped the second.

But I did add that the hole was over.  ;-)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Sorry.  Read your first quote block and skipped the second.

But I did add that the hole was over.  ;-)

See post #5. :whistle:

:beer:

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3966 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.