Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3903 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I typically use a quarter but I'll also use one of the plastic ones with the peg in it if I come across one. Two weeks and no one has fixed the title of this thread?

  • Upvote 1

:callaway: Big Bertha Alpha 815 DBD  :bridgestone: TD-03 Putter   
:tmade: 300 Tour 3W                 :true_linkswear: Motion Shoes
:titleist: 585H Hybrid                       
:tmade: TP MC irons                 
:ping: Glide 54             
:ping: Glide 58
:cleveland: 588 RTX 62

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Two weeks and no one has fixed the title of this thread?

Is the wirting incorrect? I want too understand you're point.

Gambling is illegal at Bushwood sir, and I never slice.   

           

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The poker chip I never understood. It's so big and will seriously change a ball's roll if it hits it. You needn't have bothered.

[quote name="SavvySwede" url="/t/80666/ball-makers/18#post_1119396"]I typically use a quarter but I'll also use one of the plastic ones with the peg in it if I come across one. Two weeks and no one has fixed the title of this thread? [/quote] Thank God someone said it. It's driving my OCD bonkers.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The poker chip I never understood. It's so big and will seriously change a ball's roll if it hits it. You needn't have bothered.

Thank God someone said it. It's driving my OCD bonkers.

Anytime a ball marker is in your line, whether it's a poker chip or a quarter, you should have it moved so that doesn't happen.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Anytime a ball marker is in your line, whether it's a poker chip or a quarter, you should have it moved so that doesn't happen.

I've had old timers refuse to move them. "That's the whole point of the marker"

I agree with you. I'm always on it with my own one.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I either use a quarter or my TheSandTrap ball marker :-D [URL=http://thesandtrap.com/content/type/61/id/116446/] [/URL] It's good to know that there isn't many restrictions on what a ball marker is. I've seen a few people use their putter to mark the ball to do a quick lift, clean and place.

Same here. Either my gold plated silver dollar or TST logo marker.

Kyle Paulhus

If you really want to get better, check out Evolvr

:callaway: Rogue ST 10.5* | :callaway: Epic Sub Zero 15* | :tmade: P790 3 Driving Iron |:titleist: 716 AP2 |  :edel: Wedges 50/54/68 | :edel: Deschutes 36"

Career Low Round: 67 (18 holes), 32 (9 holes)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Anytime a ball marker is in your line, whether it's a poker chip or a quarter, you should have it moved so that doesn't happen.

I've had old timers refuse to move them. "That's the whole point of the marker"

I agree with you. I'm always on it with my own one.

Then they are in breach of Rule

this from Rule 20-1:

This Decision from rule 20-1 is also appropriate in that it references Rule 22 which pertains to a ball either assisting or interfering with play.  In either case if the player is asked to lift and mark the ball he must do so, and if the marker is still interfering, he is required to move it.  In stroke play, the fellow competitor may, in lieu of marking, elect to putt.  If he has already marked, he may ask the player for permission to put first rather than move his mark.  If he refuses to move his ball or to putt put, then he is in breach of Rule 22-2. !n this case the marker placed to hold the spot for the ball has the status of the ball in respect to interference.  In my opinion, refusal would incur the general penalty of 2 strokes for breach of Rule 22-2.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If a player's ball is truly in the way of another competitor's stroke and he absolutely refuses to move it this can be cause for DQ. Usually when the player finds that out all of a sudden he is willing to move it. Not moving a ball mark could fall into that argument.


Posted

Could i move my ball marker, on the green, without the request of the nearby competitor, who may or may not care?


Posted

You are allowed to mark you ball on the green however you would like. If you want to measure a full putter club length from the ball location and place the mark there, it is your choice. Just insure you place it back in the same place. This refers to 'on the putting green.'  Off the green lifting your ball and marking it  just because you would like to is not allowed. The putting green has it's own set of rules.

Gary


Posted

If a player's ball is truly in the way of another competitor's stroke and he absolutely refuses to move it this can be cause for DQ. Usually when the player finds that out all of a sudden he is willing to move it. Not moving a ball mark could fall into that argument.

I've had old timers refuse to move them. "That's the whole point of the marker"

I agree with you. I'm always on it with my own one.


If another player refused to move his ball marker, you could move it out of the way yourself.  It's a movable obstruction.


Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulzguy

If a player's ball is truly in the way of another competitor's stroke and he absolutely refuses to move it this can be cause for DQ. Usually when the player finds that out all of a sudden he is willing to move it. Not moving a ball mark could fall into that argument.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dkolo

I've had old timers refuse to move them. "That's the whole point of the marker"

I agree with you. I'm always on it with my own one.

If another player refused to move his ball marker, you could move it out of the way yourself.  It's a movable obstruction.

That would be rich ... here, catch!

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

If another player refused to move his ball marker, you could move it out of the way yourself.  It's a movable obstruction.

I do not believe you are correct in that it is defined as an movable obstruction. I couldn't find a specific rule for an opponent moving a ball marker. A note says the ball should be moved. It doesn't say shall be moved.

Note: The position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin or other similar object immediately behind the ball. If the ball-marker interferes with the play, stance or stroke of another player, it should be placed one or more clubhead-lengths to one side.

Then I found this rule. Highlights is what I think is relevant.

20-1/3

Ball Marked and Lifted by Opponent Without Player's Authority; Player Lifts Ball-Marker, Claims Hole and Opponent Disputes Claim

Q.In a match, B marks the position of A's ball and lifts it without A's authority. B holes out. A picks up the ball-marker with which B had marked the position of his (A's) ball and claims the hole. B disputes the claim. What is the ruling?

A.B incurs a penalty stroke (Rule 18-3b) for lifting A's ball without authority. A incurs a penalty stroke for lifting the ball-marker (Rule 20-1). A must replace his ball and hole out; otherwise, A loses the hole.

Basically it is a penalty to lift another person's ball marker.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It is actually not a movable obstruction but equipment. In match play if the opponent refuses to move mark on green, just claim hole and move on. In stroke play the competitor  would receive a penalty and you could move it like you might move the flag if it had been removed. Who are you guys playing with that don't want to show a little courtesy and etiquette on the golf course? I might look for other people to play with!


Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColinL

If another player refused to move his ball marker, you could move it out of the way yourself.  It's a movable obstruction.

I do not believe you are correct in that it is defined as an movable obstruction. I couldn't find a specific rule for an opponent moving a ball marker. A note says the ball should be moved. It doesn't say shall be moved.

Quote:

Note: The position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin or other similar object immediately behind the ball. If the ball-marker interferes with the play, stance or stroke of another player, it should be placed one or more clubhead-lengths to one side.

Then I found this rule. Highlights is what I think is relevant.

Quote:

20-1/3

Ball Marked and Lifted by Opponent Without Player's Authority; Player Lifts Ball-Marker, Claims Hole and Opponent Disputes Claim

Q.In a match, B marks the position of A's ball and lifts it without A's authority. B holes out. A picks up the ball-marker with which B had marked the position of his (A's) ball and claims the hole. B disputes the claim. What is the ruling?

A.B incurs a penalty stroke (Rule 18-3b) for lifting A's ball without authority. A incurs a penalty stroke for lifting the ball-marker (Rule 20-1). A must replace his ball and hole out; otherwise, A loses the hole.

Basically it is a penalty to lift another person's ball marker.

But that is match play, and since the ball marker represents the ball, the penalty is the same as if the opponent had lifted the ball.  In stroke play there is no penalty for a fellow competitor moving either the ball or the ball marker.  However, he has no business moving it without the player's authorization.  If the player refuses, then you have a situation.

If asked to lift a ball that is interfering with another player's line of putt, a player is required to lift his ball to eliminate the interference .  This may mean more than just marking and lifting the ball, as that may not be sufficient to remove all interference.  If the marker lies on or near the line of putt, then it too may interfere with the roll of the ball, and that continuing interference must also be dealt with.

To answer this question you just have to delve into the reason for lifting the ball in the first place.  If the interfering ball lies on or near the line of putt, then it stands to reason that the marker will too.   If the ball is marked and lifted to remove it as an obstacle in the player's line, then logic says that the marker will also need to be moved away from the line to give the player complete relief on his line of putt.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If another player refused to move his ball marker, you could move it out of the way yourself.  It's a movable obstruction.

Maybe, but seeing as these weren't in tournaments, I didn't want to make a bad thing worse and ruin the rest of the round by having a pissed off stranger in my group.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3903 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.