Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3545 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I posted on this elsewhere.  If one saw the original post, maybe let everyone else have a crack at this first.  Perhaps this is easy but frankly I would have said one never gets to select which of 2 balls one wants to play.

 

Describe a situation where a player gets to select either of two balls as the ball in play and picks up the other.  Note that neither ball is OB.  Neither ball is in a bunker or other hazard.  This is not on the tee where you select a ball to tee and hit.  This is not part of a "Best Ball" or other team format.  This scenario is totally within the USGA/R&A Rules.

 

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A two man scramble?

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

A two man scramble?

Good thought but I would consider that a team format and thus not eligible.

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

One's ball is in a questionable spot where rule 3-3 comes into effect. "Is it a GUR where one gets a drop? Or not?" Take a photo of the situation and proceed.

So one would proceed by dropping a ball at the NPR and playing that ball and playing the original ball through the green. The player holes out with the ball played from the original position in 4, and has an up and down with the one played from the NPR. The player picks up the second ball.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Decision 27/11 -  4

A player entitled to play a provisional ball from the tee plays it into the same area as his original ball. The balls have identical markings and the player cannot distinguish between them.

Situation 4:Both balls are found in bounds, whether in a playable or an unplayable lie, and (1) one ball is in a water hazard and the other is not or (2) both balls lie through the green or in a bunker.

Solution 4:One could argue that both balls are lost. However, it would be inequitable to require the player to return to the tee, playing 5, when the player has found both balls but does not know which is the original and which the provisional. Accordingly, the player must select one of the balls, treat it as his provisional ball and abandon the other.

  • Upvote 2

Posted
1 hour ago, DrvFrShow said:

Not the situation I had in mind but not incorrect.

1 hour ago, Rulesman said:

Decision 27/11 -  4

A player entitled to play a provisional ball from the tee plays it into the same area as his original ball. The balls have identical markings and the player cannot distinguish between them.

Situation 4:Both balls are found in bounds, whether in a playable or an unplayable lie, and (1) one ball is in a water hazard and the other is not or (2) both balls lie through the green or in a bunker.

Solution 4:One could argue that both balls are lost. However, it would be inequitable to require the player to return to the tee, playing 5, when the player has found both balls but does not know which is the original and which the provisional. Accordingly, the player must select one of the balls, treat it as his provisional ball and abandon the other.

Spot on. The exact Decision I had in mind in my scenario.  Sort of amazing that one gets to pick the ball that one wants to play but other than that, it seems perfectly equitable.

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
14 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Spot on. The exact Decision I had in mind in my scenario.  Sort of amazing that one gets to pick the ball that one wants to play but other than that, it seems perfectly equitable.

Yes you get to pick the ball to play, but since it is costing you 2 strokes (stroke and distance), it's considered to be sufficient to negate any possible advantage gained from the choice. 

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

What if..

On a par 3 hole (say about 165 yards), your first shot goes way left and looks like it is lost in the woods, but actually hits a tree and kicks out and is hiding just long on the back side of the green (just a chip and putt away).  No one in your group can see this so you announce a provisional ball.  It flies straight and lands on the green just inches away from the hole.  Another player then accidentally hits your provisional ball into the hole.  Does that action count as a provisional ball played under rule 27b?  Or, assuming someone finds the first ball, do you play the first ball?


Posted
51 minutes ago, Howling Coyote said:

What if..

On a par 3 hole (say about 165 yards), your first shot goes way left and looks like it is lost in the woods, but actually hits a tree and kicks out and is hiding just long on the back side of the green (just a chip and putt away).  No one in your group can see this so you announce a provisional ball.  It flies straight and lands on the green just inches away from the hole.  Another player then accidentally hits your provisional ball into the hole.  Does that action count as a provisional ball played under rule 27b?  Or, assuming someone finds the first ball, do you play the first ball?

If you find it you have to play it.

:callaway: Big Bertha Alpha 815 DBD  :bridgestone: TD-03 Putter   
:tmade: 300 Tour 3W                 :true_linkswear: Motion Shoes
:titleist: 585H Hybrid                       
:tmade: TP MC irons                 
:ping: Glide 54             
:ping: Glide 58
:cleveland: 588 RTX 62

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Here's a situation I actually ran into. My buddy hit into a greenside bunker on a par 3, I hit my tee shot on the green. After marking my ball I look at my friend and see him staring into the bunker with a horrified expression on his face. He says, "Man, come here and look at this." I cross the green and look down in the bunker to see his ball lying up against the maggot riddled carcass of a dead squirrel with a cloud of blowflies buzzing around it!

Don't bother, I'll save you the effort. EEEEEYAAAUGHHUGGUGGUGUGUGGG!

My buddy asked what he should do, and of course, I couldn't resist skulling him a little. "Play the ball as it lies!" You can imagine the not safe for TV reply I got! Then I told him to just drop another ball, there was no way in Hell he was touching the original, in the bunker within 2 club lengths, and play from there.

I have no way of knowing what the Rules of Golf, or the Decisions might have to say about a situation like this, or if they even do. But as long as golf has been around, I can't imagine we're the first to encounter it. I thought about writing the USGA about it, but never got around to it. What say you?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Spot on. The exact Decision I had in mind in my scenario.

You did not indicate the player would receive a penalty in the OP?

 

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
13 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

You did not indicate the player would receive a penalty in the OP?

He didn't say there wasn't one, either.

There are also (IIRC) three things my rules workshop guy called a "Choosie." You get to choose between a provisional and the original ball.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 minutes ago, iacas said:

You get to choose between a provisional and the original ball.

Aren't players required to be able to identify their ball at all times, regardless if  multi provisional are hit?

I'm assuming a "Choosie." is when a player can not identify between which is the original and provisional?

5 hours ago, Rulesman said:

Solution 4:One could argue that both balls are lost. However, it would be inequitable to require the player to return to the tee, playing 5,

Good point.

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
15 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Here's a situation I actually ran into. My buddy hit into a greenside bunker on a par 3, I hit my tee shot on the green. After marking my ball I look at my friend and see him staring into the bunker with a horrified expression on his face. He says, "Man, come here and look at this." I cross the green and look down in the bunker to see his ball lying up against the maggot riddled carcass of a dead squirrel with a cloud of blowflies buzzing around it!

Don't bother, I'll save you the effort. EEEEEYAAAUGHHUGGUGGUGUGUGGG!

My buddy asked what he should do, and of course, I couldn't resist skulling him a little. "Play the ball as it lies!" You can imagine the not safe for TV reply I got! Then I told him to just drop another ball, there was no way in Hell he was touching the original, in the bunker within 2 club lengths, and play from there.

I have no way of knowing what the Rules of Golf, or the Decisions might have to say about a situation like this, or if they even do. But as long as golf has been around, I can't imagine we're the first to encounter it. I thought about writing the USGA about it, but never got around to it. What say you?

The squirrel is a Loose Impediment and therefore may not be moved. Dropping a ball within 2cl in the bunker, he proceeded under 28 (unplayable) correctly, incurring one PS. Rule 28 does allow a player to substitute a ball so there is no issue with not using the original ball.


  • Administrator
Posted
On April 9, 2016 at 11:36 PM, Club Rat said:

Aren't players required to be able to identify their ball at all times, regardless if  multi provisional are hit?

That doesn't have anything to do with my post.

On April 9, 2016 at 11:36 PM, Club Rat said:

I'm assuming a "Choosie." is when a player can not identify between which is the original and provisional?

No. 27-2c/1.5 is one of the examples of a "Choosie."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Erik what is the third "Choosie?" (We have D27/11 and the above, D27-2c/1.5.)

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

If the Local Rule, 5. Water Hazards - Playing Ball Provisionally Under Rule 26-1, is in effect, the player is allowed to choose between the provisional and the ball in the hazard, if playable.

 

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Perhaps there are five Choosies?

1) bkuehn's good find above,

2) the previous D27/11 of Erik's, and these three from R27-2b:

Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball, that has not been found, has been moved by an outside agency (Rule 18-1), or is in an obstruction (Rule 24-3) or an abnormal ground condition(Rule 25-1c), the player may proceed under the applicable Rule.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Note: This thread is 3545 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.