IGNORED

"Winter rules" and HCP

woodzie264
Note: This thread is 2731 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is my first year carrying an official HCP and with the fall here (leaves covering areas of fairways) and winter on the way, how do we handle "lost" balls due to leaves in fairway and in rough and other seasonal hazards? Do we score those rounds? Before I carried a legit HCP, I would play the "leaf rule" giving myself a free drop in cases where I knew my ball was not truly lost from a poor shot, but just hidden. But now that I'm official, I want to do it correctly

Driver: :callaway: Rogue ST  /  Woods: :tmade: Stealth 5W / Hybrid: :tmade: Stealth 25* / Irons: :ping: i500’s /  Wedges: :edel: 54*, 58*; Putter: :scotty_cameron: Futura 5  Ball: image.png Vero X1

-Jonny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Don't know about VA, but handicapping season is over here in Ohio as of today. Dayton's muni courses stay open for casual play all year if the weather is ok, but they do shut down the restaurants, pick up the tee box and yardage markers and drop prices.

Generally, I don't even bother posting much after September due to the leaf issues. Even if I have company on a particular round, there's almost no way to post a clean round. I'm losing multiple balls.

19 minutes ago, woodzie264 said:

and other seasonal hazards?

Course conditions change throughout the golf season, sometimes in a matter of moments.
There is no such condition as "seasonal hazards" and certainly no rulings.
Local rules cover winter play in many areas and most regions close score posting.

Golfer's handicaps do not reflect a single round above their 10 lowest scores, but it would when it's a lower score.
Granted it would suck to have a great round, possible a best round ever, loss due to losing a ball in leaf areas.