Jump to content
IGNORED

Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf


NM Golf

Recommended Posts

3 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Oy, again with this one.  On the video I see him mark and lift his ball, and set it to the side.  I did NOT see him wandering around probing for random depressions, poking in tees at random to mislead the official who appeared to arrive just a few moments matter being summoned.

The deep hole the ball jumped out of was only about a foot away.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

The deep hole the ball jumped out of was only about a foot away.  

What you keep saying is not supported by the video at all. Please, show us when he moves the tees from the ones he puts right by his ball to the one "only about a foot away," and then explain how he knew that there would be another impression in that thick rough since he didn't see it bounce.

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Oy, again with this one.  On the video I see him mark and lift his ball, and set it to the side.  I did NOT see him wandering around probing for random depressions, poking in tees at random to mislead the official who appeared to arrive just a few moments matter being summoned.

Did you see how they delayed the showing of anything to do with this? 5 minutes after his shot from the sand they had some rules guy come on the broadcast. 5 minutes after that they showed Reed arriving at his ball. Another 3 minutes before RO gets there. 

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Did you see how they delayed the showing of anything to do with this? 5 minutes after his shot from the sand they had some rules guy come on the broadcast. 5 minutes after that they showed Reed arriving at his ball. Another 3 minutes before RO gets there. 

Dude, they showed the entire clip of him getting up there through to him finishing his drop.

I don't think it was three minutes until the RO got there.

Hell, this whole video is only 3:54:

 

The RO is on the scene a few feet from the ball at 1:50 in that video.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Just now, Bonvivant said:

Did you see how they delayed the showing of anything to do with this? 5 minutes after his shot from the sand they had some rules guy come on the broadcast. 5 minutes after that they showed Reed arriving at his ball. Another 3 minutes before RO gets there. 

Actually, the video that shows the whole process is a bit under 4 minutes long, no breaks.  Walking up, marking, calling for the official, official examining the spot, one take. 

image.jpg

Patrick Reed discusses with rules officials as he takes relief for an embedded ball on No. 10 during Round 3 at the 2021 Farmers Insurance Open.

If you think he marked some extra locations while the camera was pointed away, compare the location of the ball with the seams in the cart path.  The official evaluated the proper spot.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, iacas said:

What you keep saying is not supported by the video at all. Please, show us when he moves the tees from the ones he puts right by his ball to the one "only about a foot away," and then explain how he knew that there would be another impression in that thick rough since he didn't see it bounce.

I don't think the camera was on him 100% of the time. I'll have to go back and review the footage.  I simply don't believe the ball came to rest in that deep hole he had the RO probing.  In front of my own eyes I am becoming a conspiracy theorist.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
1 minute ago, Double Mocha Man said:

I don't think the camera was on him 100% of the time. I'll have to go back and review the footage.  I simply don't believe the ball came to rest in that deep hole he had the RO probing.  In front of my own eyes I am becoming a conspiracy theorist.

FFS:

 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
6 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

  In front of my own eyes I am becoming a conspiracy theorist.

Agreed, a retrospective objective analysis of the footage lead the RO’s to the conclusion that he didn’t violate any rules and didn’t do anything you are claiming. You are choosing to believe what fits your preconceived notions rather than taking the objective look at the facts and letting them take you to the most reasonable conclusion. 

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

Driver: :callaway: Rogue ST  /  Woods: :tmade: Stealth 5W / Hybrid: :tmade: Stealth 25* / Irons: :ping: i500’s /  Wedges: :edel: 54*, 58*; Putter: :scotty_cameron: Futura 5  Ball: image.png Vero X1

 

 -Jonny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
1 minute ago, The Flush said:

I now understand how Q-Anon exists.

Please, thats getting kind of close to politics.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yea, they are delving into the land of conspiracy theorist. No matter what, even with full video evidence, they still deny the facts. 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So why are so many people saying there's a controversy???  Can't simply be because he tossed his ball aside.  There has to be more.  This is a serious question.

I could be wavering... I don't want to incriminate a guy when he did nothing wrong or devious... wouldn't be fair.  Doesn't matter what he did in the past. 

I watched the 4 minute video and can't honestly say if he stuck a tee in the ground... I see his right hand moving around the ball but when he gets up I see no tee sticking there... no visual evidence.  Granted, the grass is long so any tee he inserted could be below the grass level.

Anyone see the movie "Blow Up"?  We need super close up shots of Mr. Reed's hand hovering around the ball.

This whole episode sure eclipses the tournament.  I was at Pebble Beach two weeks after Tiger holed out from the fairway on #15 to lock up the tournament.  I asked my caddie to show me that spot.  Now I want to go to Torrey Pines and check out the pitch mark in the left rough on #10.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
3 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

I watched the 4 minute video and can't honestly say if he stuck a tee in the ground... I see his right hand moving around the ball but when he gets up I see no tee sticking there... no visual evidence.  Granted, the grass is long so any tee he inserted could be below the grass level.

I didn't see him put a tee in, but I saw him remove the tee after the official had examined the lie.  I think it was a camera angle thing, with the camera behind Reed when he first arrived at the ball.  The cam had moved around to the front by the time he pulled the tee out.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
9 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

I could be wavering... I don't want to incriminate a guy when he did nothing wrong or devious... wouldn't be fair.  Doesn't matter what he did in the past.

That's the entirety of the controversy. Or at least 95% of it, with the other 5% being that the ball did in fact bounce. But so did Rory's.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have been quiet waiting to examine myself.  Much of what I am going to say has been said by others so sorry for a like duplication.

1) if you are going to be critical of Patrick you need to make the same criticism towards Rory.  It is either OKfor all of none regardless of past track record.  Nobody double checked Rory’s, so why should Patrick be required to have someone else confirm it?

2) Dottie does not know the rules.  She says you never touch the ball before calling the official.  The rules and ROs say otherwise.

3) I see no evidence he cheated.  Since there is no camera footage showing the lie all we can do is speculate.  Remember, he did not have the benefit of the replay showing if bounced and we can not be certain it was not imbedded even after the bounce.

 

Stuart M.
 

I am a "SCRATCH GOLFER".  I hit ball, Ball hits Tree, I scratch my head. 😜

Driver: Ping G410 Plus 10.5* +1* / 3 Hybrid: Cleveland HIBORE XLS / 4,5 & 6 Hybrids: Mizuno JP FLI-HI / Irons/Wedges 7-8-9-P-G: Mizuno JPX800 HD / Sand Wedge: Mizuno JPX 800 / Lob Wedge: Cleveland CBX 60* / Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S / Balls: Srixon Soft / Beer: Labatt Blue (or anything nice & cold) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
19 minutes ago, StuM said:

Dottie does not know the rules.  She says you never touch the ball before calling the official.  The rules and ROs say otherwise

Many many players, and ex-players, have very limited knowledge of the rules.  For them, the only safe thing to do is call an official whenever there's any question.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
21 minutes ago, StuM said:

2) Dottie does not know the rules.  She says you never touch the ball before calling the official.  The rules and ROs say otherwise.

Yes.

Plus what Dave just said.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Day 87- Slow, short practice swings with short practice club incorporating foot work. 
    • I'll tell you what has helped me.  Get something like Shotscope and be diligent about entering your putts and the flag locations.  You more likely to improve in an area you are measuring.  Lots of people (myself included) think they are good or bad at something but find out things are different when they start measuring it.  Develop a standard putt. This can be done indoors, even if it rolls too far for your putting mat. Just stick a pillow there. Don't worry about the distance on your mat. Just develop a standard putt. The most comfortable and repeatable putt you can possibly hit.  When you get to a course hit your standard putt a few times. Don't aim at a hole, just hit your standard putt and pace off how far it goes. Ideally on a flat spot, then an uphill spot and a downhill spot if you have time. Pace those off. My standard putt is often around 12 paces on many greens.  Then when I'm playing if I have to hit a 12 paces putt on a flat green I know what to do. Plus its not too hard to adjust up a bit or down a bit for 10 to 15 paces and what not.  If you want to take it further, develop a mini-standard putt. I have one that's usually a 6 footer. Then when I have a 6 footer I know what to do. Again, it's not too hard to adjust a bit for 4 footers and 8 footers.  So, develop a standard putt. The most comfortable, repeatable putt possible. When you get to the course see how far that standard putt rolls. You can make adjustments from there. (Just think how confident you'll be if you end up faced with "your standard putt" on the course. Then if you'd like, develop a 6 footer stroke. Those two will get you through most situations that are at all makable. Remember to measure and/or chart your improvement.  PS > Shot scope tells me I improved about 3 stokes using the above method. 👍😁👍
    • Day 230: played a putting game in the living room with my son. 
    • Day 2: 2/24/2024 I did backswing work without a club, with a piece of pvc and with a club in front of the 2 corner mirrors in the basement for 10 minutes today. I also putted with the putting mirror and perfect putt today. 
    • Day 482, February 24, 2024 45 minutes on slower downswings after JEP and a lesson. I can't let the grip get too slack or the results aren't quite as good, even though I'm going slower. The shaft tends to stand up a little bit in my pseudo-transition.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...