Jump to content
IGNORED

Questions For My Rules Seminar (2019)


iacas
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

So on March 16-19, @GolfLug and I will be attending another USGA/PGA Rules seminar. I currently have a list of three things to ask about, but I'm curious if there are others:

  1. Prolonged use of music on the course. Etiquette? If not to aid you in playing, why?
  2. Balls "embedded" in sand-filled divots.
  3. Agreeing to leave a ball in place "to help a player."

 

I might feel I know how they'll be answered, but I've told people I'd ask, and share the generalized response…

Any others? If they're clear, I may just say "no, that's clear" and shoot the idea down pretty quickly.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • iacas pinned this topic

Did we ever get an answer about ballmarkers with lines potentially being a violation (could be used to mark line of play on the green)--rule 10.2b?

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
16 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Did we ever get an answer about ballmarkers with lines potentially being a violation (could be used to mark line of play on the green)--rule 10.2b?

No, I don't want them to look at me like I'm stupid.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Erik

Try this please:

Can a ball to be moved be marked with the toe of a club and a ball-marker be placed at the heel. Then, when the ball is to be replaced,  the heel placed next to the ball-marker and the ball replaced at the toe.
 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
2 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Can a ball to be moved be marked with the toe of a club and a ball-marker be placed at the heel. Then, when the ball is to be replaced,  the heel placed next to the ball-marker and the ball replaced at the toe.

Why would I ask that? Genuinely asking. Seems fine to me - the player made a reasonable effort to put the ball back in the same place.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

The embedded ball rule change allows a player to drop through the course now including rough. It really helped JB Holmes last week when his bunker shot was driven deep into the grass lip of the green. Was this kind of situation the intention of the rule change? It seems rather lenient in Holmes’ situation.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

19 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

Did we ever get an answer about ballmarkers with lines potentially being a violation (could be used to mark line of play on the green)--rule 10.2b?

I emailed that to USGA and got the answer to a different question. They assured me that it was okay to use a line on the ball , , , like who didn't know that was permitted?

I put it down to January workload.

Erik, ask about ball-markers with lines. I cannot imagine they're treated any differently than balls with lines.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 hours ago, Asheville said:

Erik, ask about ball-markers with lines.

 

On 2/22/2019 at 6:34 PM, iacas said:

No, I don't want them to look at me like I'm stupid.

 

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
On 2/23/2019 at 7:10 AM, boogielicious said:

The embedded ball rule change allows a player to drop through the course now including rough. It really helped JB Holmes last week when his bunker shot was driven deep into the grass lip of the green. Was this kind of situation the intention of the rule change? It seems rather lenient in Holmes’ situation.

I don't understand the question, or I'm not sure what I'd ask.

If the ball was embedded in its own pitch mark in the general area, then yah, that's what the Rule is intended to cover. If JB drove the ball into the grass lip of the bunker or something and got relief… then that's what the rule covers.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
11 hours ago, iacas said:

I don't understand the question, or I'm not sure what I'd ask.

If the ball was embedded in its own pitch mark in the general area, then yah, that's what the Rule is intended to cover. If JB drove the ball into the grass lip of the bunker or something and got relief… then that's what the rule covers.

It really wasn't just embedded in a pitch mark as I think of it. It was driven 4 inches into the ground, completely covered. It took him a minute or two to find it a dig it out. It would have been unplayable last year and cost him a stroke. Maybe I am misunderstanding the intent of the rule, but JB clearly used it to his advantage.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, boogielicious said:

It really wasn't just embedded in a pitch mark as I think of it. It was driven 4 inches into the ground, completely covered. It took him a minute or two to find it a dig it out. It would have been unplayable last year and cost him a stroke. Maybe I am misunderstanding the intent of the rule, but JB clearly used it to his advantage.

If the ball is driven 4 inches into the ground, its clearly in its own pitchmark.  Yes, it was a lucky break that it didn't embed into the face of the sand, but I'd say the rule worked as intended.

After the Thailand backstopping issue, I'd say that would be a worthwhile topic to explore.  There seems to be a gap between what @iacas has indicated is the appropriate interpretation of the rule, as opposed to the actual wording of the rule.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
15 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Why would it not have been embedded last year?

Before, the embedded ball rule applied to closely mown areas. Now it is everywhere.

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/relief-for-an-embedded-ball.html

 

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, boogielicious said:

Before, the embedded ball rule applied to closely mown areas. Now it is everywhere.

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/relief-for-an-embedded-ball.html

The PGA Tour extended it via the Local Rule on their hard card.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
  • Administrator

I'm adding the Harold Varner III situation and Interpretation 4.1b(4)/1. Though I think the HVIII situation was ruled correctly, because the shaft was being carried around for him by the walking scorer (and the caddie knew), but 4.1b(4)/1 strikes me as odd:

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=interp&section=rule&rulenum=4&subrulenum=10

4.1b(4)/1 – Club Components May Be Assembled When Not Carried By or For Player

Rule 4.1b(4) restricts a player from building a club from parts that he or she is carrying or parts that any other person is carrying for him or her. It does not restrict the player from retrieving parts to build a club or having parts brought to him or her.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
11 hours ago, iacas said:

I'm adding the Harold Varner III situation and Interpretation 4.1b(4)/1. Though I think the HVIII situation was ruled correctly, because the shaft was being carried around for him by the walking scorer (and the caddie knew), but 4.1b(4)/1 strikes me as odd:

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=interp&section=rule&rulenum=4&subrulenum=10

4.1b(4)/1 – Club Components May Be Assembled When Not Carried By or For Player

Rule 4.1b(4) restricts a player from building a club from parts that he or she is carrying or parts that any other person is carrying for him or her. It does not restrict the player from retrieving parts to build a club or having parts brought to him or her.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

So they want the player to run to the clubhouse and retrieve the part then?

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • iacas unpinned this topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...