• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
spinroyd

Tiger Woods violated USGA rule 13-2 15th hole TPC Sunday final round 2013

18 posts in this topic

Tiger's second shot on hole 15 final round, went into a grass pothole next to the green in deep rough.  When he walked past his ball he pressed the wedge down right behind his ball which is the line of play. this appears to have broken rule 13-2, "Pressing a club on the ground".  He was not addressing the ball.  I can't find the video on the web so I can't post it on youtube for others to see.  Maybe someone who has the video can look at it and comment and explain why its not a violation. By pressing his club down behind the ball he created a better lie.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

yada, yada, yada yawn.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

People, this is golf. Accusing someone of cheating in golf IS A HUGE DEAL. It's not like baseball, where Clay Buchholz has some goopy stuff on his forearm and the opposing manager bitches a bit. Calling someone a deliberate cheat is not something to take lightly, and frankly, "well, I couldn't find a video anywhere buy dammit I saw it!!!" isn't good enough.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

turd boy

Not a bad comeback. Welcome to the sandtrap. Try to excuse Mr. Desmond. There has been quite a few threads lately about "all" of Tigers rules violations.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinroyd View Post

Tiger's second shot on hole 15 final round, went into a grass pothole next to the green in deep rough.  When he walked past his ball he pressed the wedge down right behind his ball which is the line of play. this appears to have broken rule 13-2, "Pressing a club on the ground".  He was not addressing the ball.  I can't find the video on the web so I can't post it on youtube for others to see.  Maybe someone who has the video can look at it and comment and explain why its not a violation. By pressing his club down behind the ball he created a better lie.

First of all, nothing behind the ball is "line of play".  Line of play extends from the ball to the hole.  The player is allowed to ground the club behind the ball.  Grounding the club in grass is defined as resting the entire weight of the club on the grass, which will naturally press down some of the grass.  As long as the ball doesn't move, there is no breach of any rule.

Quote:

Line Of Play

The “ line of play ’’ is the direction that the player wishes his ball to take after a stroke , plus a reasonable distance on either side of the intended direction. The line of play extends vertically upwards from the ground, but does not extend beyond the hole .

You can crawl back under your rock now.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by spinroyd

another turd strike

You need to quit insulting yourself.

Bad for your self-esteem.

Try another topic ... one that is somewhat interesting, but not this drivel.


Welcome aboard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by spinroyd

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

Right... and you're the one who found it.

Now go away, troll.


Can we delete this thread and save the bandwidth?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

When Erik get on tomorrow this tiny dick will be gone.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by spinroyd

Nah, done posting here, but after reading other posts on this rule, he cheated. It was a very sneaky smooth move.  Take a look at the video if you can find it.

Most, if not all, players usually first put their club behind the ball in the rough. Then they move to make few practice strokes. Bigger issue I have with that than improving the lie is the possibility to accidentally move the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what looks odd to me is where tiger took releif from the hasard on 14 !!!

from the tee the ball seams to have found nothing but water on the left, this giving him a drop about 30 yards upwards from the tee box at best.

he probable would have double boggied from there as well anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AWESOME THREAD.........no, not really...
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Good grief.

Where DO these people come from?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Good grief. Where DO these people come from?

Lol, and why do they only want to "discuss" one thing? Is their only interest in golf attacking Tiger? Are they even golf fans or are they just single minded Tiger haters? If Tiger retired tomorrow would they lose all interest in the sport?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Ernest Jones

Quote:

Originally Posted by David in FL

Good grief.

Where DO these people come from?

Lol, and why do they only want to "discuss" one thing?

Is their only interest in golf attacking Tiger? Are they even golf fans or are they just single minded Tiger haters? If Tiger retired tomorrow would they lose all interest in the sport?

To be fair, Bubble may be an honest poster.  His profile puts him in France, so he may have chosen not to wade through the tedium of page upon page in the other threads where it's been discussed.  But that other character who just showed up last night to start this "thread" and bash Tiger is clearly just a jerk with an ax to grind.  His best post is his last one where he says he's done here.... certainly hope he sticks with that commitment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Money says he is just a previously banned nitwit that got back in.

Fourputt,

I must say that I have really enjoyed your posts over the last week.  They have been informative and damn funny at times.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0