Jump to content
IGNORED

Hensby Receives Ten Penalty Strokes


iacas
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

32 minutes ago, iacas said:

Damn that’s a tough break. I wish they would’ve posted a pic comparing the two balls. 

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Stuart M.
 

I am a "SCRATCH GOLFER".  I hit ball, Ball hits Tree, I scratch my head. 😜

Driver: Ping G410 Plus 10.5* +1* / 3 Hybrid: Cleveland HIBORE XLS / 4,5 & 6 Hybrids: Mizuno JP FLI-HI / Irons/Wedges 7-8-9-P-G: Mizuno JPX800 HD / Sand Wedge: Mizuno JPX 800 / Lob Wedge: Cleveland CBX 60* / Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S / Balls: Srixon Soft / Beer: Labatt Blue (or anything nice & cold) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

But this issue was playing a different type of ball. Not just changing balls.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

44 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. 

In certain circumstances you can now.

45 minutes ago, StuM said:

Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Primarily on the Tours and in some competitions where the organisers want people to think it's a 'big boys' event.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator

Good on him for his honesty - with that being only his 2nd tourn in 3 years, I’m sure he could’ve used the money

  • Thumbs Up 1

Driver: :callaway: Rogue  /  Woods: :tmade: M2 3&5W’s / Hybrid: :tarmour: 25* / Irons: :ping: i500’s /  Wedges: :edel: 54*, 58*

Putter: :scotty_cameron: Futura 5W  Ball: :titleist: AVX optic yellow 

 -Jonny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

43 minutes ago, woodzie264 said:

Good on him for his honesty - with that being only his 2nd tourn in 3 years, I’m sure he could’ve used the money

Yep.  That would’ve been very easy to ignore, had he been of a mind to.

Good for him!

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For a 10 stroke penalty, my mind went to an equipment issue like too many clubs or something. 

"A good conversation is not designed to win the argument. It is designed to enjoy the exchange."

Matt "Dough", P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver: :callaway: GBB Epic,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: :srixon: (4-PW)
Wedges:
:edel: Trapper (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :bushnell: Tour V2

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
6 hours ago, saevel25 said:

For a 10 stroke penalty, my mind went to an equipment issue like too many clubs or something. 

Well, the golf ball is part of the equipment, you were right on target.

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For me, this highlights the 2019 rule change that no longer limits this type of penalty to 4 strokes (or the error/mistake being active for 2 holes), but instead carries on, per hole, until the problem is corrected.  That is something I just learned now, so thanks, I guess?

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

Philippe

:callaway: Maverick Driver, 3W, 5W Big Bertha 
:mizuno: JPX 900 Forged 4-GW
:mizuno:  T7 55-09 and 60-10 forged wedges,
:odyssey: #7 putter (Slim 3.0 grip)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/12/2021 at 3:34 PM, sjduffers said:

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, reidsou said:

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

Indeed. I stand corrected. Thanks.

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

Philippe

:callaway: Maverick Driver, 3W, 5W Big Bertha 
:mizuno: JPX 900 Forged 4-GW
:mizuno:  T7 55-09 and 60-10 forged wedges,
:odyssey: #7 putter (Slim 3.0 grip)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, sjduffers said:

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 hours ago, reidsou said:

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Thanks for that. But why a 2 strokes penalty per hole for unintentionally playing the wrong type of ball, until the mistake is discovered and rectified, while at the same time the penalty for unintentionally playing with too many clubs is capped at 2 strokes penalty for 2 holes maximum (only). What is different between those two, and how does that make any sense?

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Philippe

:callaway: Maverick Driver, 3W, 5W Big Bertha 
:mizuno: JPX 900 Forged 4-GW
:mizuno:  T7 55-09 and 60-10 forged wedges,
:odyssey: #7 putter (Slim 3.0 grip)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Because playing with a different ball may not be consecutive. Maybe someone plays a higher spin ball on par threes. Or a lower spin ball on par fives.

15 clubs is consecutive.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

—Adam

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
43 minutes ago, imsys0042 said:

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

They're different models of the ball. So they're two separate entries on the conforming ball list.

So you've technically "changed balls." That's all.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, sjduffers said:

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Yes

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Rory McIlory Jon Rahm Scottie Scheffler Collin Morikawa Justin Thomas Cameron Smith Max Homa Patrick Cantlay Matthew Fitzpatrick Dustin Johnson Xander Schauffele Tony Finau
    • Wordle 593 3/6* ⬜⬜🟩⬜⬜ ⬜🟨🟩⬜🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩   Today was awesome - for me, get it in three..
    • I am not sure it always happens but players usually show each other their ball identification marks before the beginning of the round.  From my perspective if one of his playing partners confirm that the arrow mark is kosher then in my mind I am going to move on having discharged Reed honorably. There are greater co-incidences than another ball in another tree with the same arrow marking and really nothing more than an honest mistake in the ball identification.  P.S. Sorry, just read this.  If so, I guess it is entirely possible to follow the ROG to the T with no integrity at all.
    • Welcome aboard from a fellow NBer
    • Then, when you do the work that would've cost $1k if you hired a contractor, you're taking $500 out of your personal share of the account, and $500 out of the business's share of the account. As a side note, have you considered seeking out enterprise consulting services to help streamline your business finances and ensure everything is running smoothly? Just a thought.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...